We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pines Guest House
Ranked #7 of 23 Elgin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Wow on arrival we were greeted by a stunning piece of Victorian architecture and a warm welcome from the owners. We were shown to our fabulous rooms which were exquisitely furnished and had a lovely hospitality tray. The attention to detail was lovely for example cotton wool, ear buds, shampoo/conditioner and body wash all being provided in the bathroom. The bedding looked beautiful and it definitely made me have a wonderful night’s sleep. The breakfast was also delicious and the black pudding was scrumptious. We will definitely be returning to The Pines.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chas-helen, Owner at The Pines Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

Thank you for your comments.
Regards
Charles & Helen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2011

When we arrived we received a warm welcome from both Charles and Helen. They both provided excellent suggestions for places to eat and things to do in Elgin and the surrounding area. The room we were shown to was beautiful and spotlessly clean with high quality linen and towels. The breakfast was first-class and you could tell it was high quality produce. Our stay at The Pines was wonderful and will definitely be making a return visit.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SarahJane678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We were a party of 6 in three rooms, and did not receive the usual B&B welcome,almost felt we were arriving at an inconvenient time. Very little help given when asked about somewhere for dinner,and little interest in our party.However the following day the owner was more friendly.The rooms we had needed the carpets sorting out they were very uneven and it was easy to catch your feet and trip.The showers were barely more than a trickle but the rest of the room was fine.Breakfast was ok but not a very big choice, the table was set with nice cutlery and crockery.
All in all not as good as usual 4* B&B

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chas-helen, Owner at The Pines Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

Gave several suggestions where to eat, these were either not to her liking or too expensive.
Carpet exagerated.
Myra shower top of the range, built in safety feature, must depress red button to get full power, works perfectly.
Breakfast menu- 25 items on menu. Quality rather than quantity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

This delightful old Guest House is well presented and had a welcoming feel. Our room was large and light with beautiful furniture and a pleasant outlook. The owners and staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was beautifully cooked. The Pines is an easy walk to the centre of Elgin. Good value for money. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobnfamily16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Arrived in Elgin in the rush our, but did as a start find very good parking on the ground and were warm welcomed by Charles. Very comfetabel and large rooms with all facilities. Well informed about the options for dinner in the evening, we did find the recomendid Qismat Tandori after just a short and pleasent walk down town. We did have a fantastic buffet meal at a very good price ! After a very good nigth sleep we did have a large breakfirst with all we could think of and there was plenty of every thing, in the lovely and very large breakfirst room. We did enjoy the stay and did feal very welcome and did leave in full sunshine.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danes55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chas-helen, Owner at The Pines Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

Thank you for your comments.
Regards
Charles & Helen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We are very disappointed with the Service from the manager of the guest house. I called to book a 2 night stay for a nearby wedding, 6 weeks prior to our required stay; at which stage my credit card details were taken and I was told to call back 3 days before my stay to confirm our reservation. When I called back the manager, as requested, he had a 'vague recollection' of my initial phone call but had never recorded my booking, having booked someone else in the room and had no further availability. When I asked him where my credit card details were, he did not know! Although very apologetic, telling me he was '65 years old and a bit forgetful' - I feel this service is not good enough.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank annelindsay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chas-helen, Owner at The Pines Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

Guest house owners work 15 hours per day 7 days a week. We did ask this guest to confirm her booking in in the afternoon, but she did not confirm until late in the evening. We are only human and can on occasion make a mistake, especially at the end of a long day.
We apologised for any inconvenience caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Nice rooms, great breakfasts, kind hosts. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank callmecordelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chas-helen, Owner at The Pines Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

Thank you for your comments.
Regards
Charles & Helen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elgin hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
0.9 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
449 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ardgye House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
B&B Innisfail Hopeman
B&B Innisfail Hopeman
#11 of 23 in Elgin
12 reviews
0.9 mi away
West End Guest House
West End Guest House
#3 of 23 in Elgin
99 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southbank Guest House
Southbank Guest House
#8 of 23 in Elgin
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Guest House

Address: The Pines East Road, Elgin IV30 1XG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Elgin
Price Range: £67 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pines Guest House is a small family run B&B in an impressive Victorian mansion in historic Elgin. We pride ourselves on our attention to detail, be it in the comfortable, spacious ensuite rooms to the hearty breakfast with locally sourced produce and home baked bread. Private parking. WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Pines Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pines Guest House Elgin, Moray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing