We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint and inexpensive”
Review of Marina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marina Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Irvine B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quaint and inexpensive”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is a funny but quaint little place that gets the job done for a reasonable price. It was clean and comfortable and provided us with an inexpensive hotel option not too far from Glasgow. The room was cozy and had nice views of the Irvine harbour. Everything seemed clean but the ensuite was a little bit strange and the toilet made weird noises all through the night. We had some trouble getting into the room as we booked it late in the afternoon and the manager didn’t receive our booking. We managed to find our way to the pub next door and called the manager who quickly took action to get the inn opened up for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adizokanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    14
    16
    0
    7
See reviews for
8
22
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I am writing this review from room 10 during my 1 night stay in the Marina Inn. I found this through Booking.com and from the photos I thought I had booked into a pub with rooms. Not so. It is basically no frills budget accommodation without a .reception and a keypad security entry system. BUT having said that, we have a fridge, microwave, freeview television, tea, coffee (Nescafe) bottled water and a spotless en suite with great shower cubicle. Ok...stud walls are not the best for noise control but that was only as other guests returned home after evening out.

All rooms have recently been refurbished and have free WiFi!

Overall? Good basic accommodation, clean and a good base for touring. Stay 3 nights and get free bike hire. Now what is wrong with that? Nothing!!

Room Tip: Room 10 is on the ground floor with harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Dann1k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed at the Marina Inn while attending a wedding reception at the fully-booked Gailes Hotel. It sits in a nice location beside the harbour, one in a row of handsome and well-maintained old buildings on that road. There was plenty of on-street parking available. We chose this place as it seemed very cheap and basically we were just looking for a bed for the night, no luxuries.

The building did not have any staff present - entry is gained by entering a keycode into the access doors, which was emailed to us on booking. This seemed a somewhat strange arrangement, and it would be interesting to know how often the codes are changed and how often staff are actually in attendance at the inn. There were phone numbers and instructions on how to contact staff if required.

We were given a room upstairs, accessed wia a winding outdoor staircase at the rear of the building. The corridor floor groaned a lot, I was worried about annoying other guests while walking on it. There was a selection of DVDs and books on a shelf at the end of the corridor.

The room itself was basic but acceptable. The bed linen was clean. The bathroom was clean, however only separated from the main room by a thin sliding door with gaps at the sides. The beds themselves had squeaky wooden frames, affecting sleep slightly. We didn't use the microwave, the fridge did keep our drinks kind of cool. We had a 'view' out onto a couple of ropy-looking sheds and the side of the Magnum Centre. The DVD player in the television did not work. A small folder contained information about local services and attractions, although some of the information did seem a bit dated.

All in all we got exactly what we wanted when we booked - a bed for the night at an acceptable price in a clean room.

One warning: the stud walls are very thin and you can therefore hear some noise from other rooms. When leaving our room on one occasion, we heard one of our fellow guests watching a 'romantic' movie.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThunderStruck82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limavady, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2013

we had a wonderful time at the marina inn just had what we needed rooms where very clean and tidy would definatly use again we ate in and we ate out having fridge and microwave was a great asset was nice and quiet just what we needed and had a great view of the harbour shops just down the road an plenty to choose from well worth the money

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mo19606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

On arrival we discovered there was no reception and couldn't get in as were never given a code for the secure entry pad on the main door. We tried phoning one of the mobile numbers on the notice but this went into voicemail. We eventually went along to a sister hotel and were given the pin code, room number and informed that our key was in the room door. The room was not of the standard we expected. The bed linen was unironed but hopefully clean, there was no complimentary tray as described but worst of all there was no carpet only what appeared to be a dirty, water-stained underlay. The room was only £35 but we have managed to stay in better quality surroundings for the same price and cheaper. The only good thing about our stay was our visit to the Ship Inn where we had a lovely meal and enjoyable evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackdansgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Irvine hotels

Clydebank, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

1st floor twin room with nice harbour view. Have stayed in this hotel quite a few times, clean and well positioned for eating out but fridge and microwave provided in rooms so can easily eat in. Not a five star establishment but not five star prices either at £35
most definitely cannot complain and will definitely be back

Room Tip: Rooms with harbour view on first floor advised
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10Campbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Visited for an overnight stay before travelling to Arran. Room was clean, good variety of amenities with the microwave and fridge. Bathroom clean too, the town itself is a little bit bare but there's a good pub near by so for a passing visit I would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvine
1.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
0.4 mi away
Harbourside Hotel
Harbourside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Irvine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.9 mi away
Annfield House Hotel
Annfield House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Irvine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,025 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kidron House Hotel
Kidron House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Irvine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
5.0 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardrossan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn

Property: Marina Inn
Address: 110 Harbour Street, Irvine KA12 8PZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Irvine
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Inn Irvine, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing