We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills / basic”
Review of Marina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marina Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Irvine B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed at the Marina Inn for 6 nights with the family in Room 8. It's budget, no frills / basic so you pay for what you get. No harbour views from this room either, just a view of the back of the property. I imagine that room is one of the converted downstairs rooms that once used to form the bar area.

It can be noisy with the comings and goings of the evening but I read up on this before so it was no surprise and I remembered to pack my earplugs.

Rooms are serviced every morning with fresh towels and toilet rolls etc.

The room itself was on the small side for 2 adults and 2 young children despite us keeping things to a minimum. Sadly this will be a major factor in us returning again as a family, but perhaps one day further down the line we will return as a couple.

The free bike hire was a let-down as the tandem broke down, but on the upside we went swimming at the nearby Magnum Leisure Centre instead and I also got to go out running (instead of cycling) on the Ayr National Route 7 (Sustrans), so all was not lost.

It's a shame we were not around for the forthcoming Marymass festival, but what we did find was that it was a good base to visit nearby attractions as well as the beach and 'Shona' the dragon (check out the children's book Darkisle by D. A. Nelson).

We also visited (and I hope this helps someone plan ahead like we did):

1. Irvine itself, Old and New town for shopping / site seeing. Great to see some of the Glasgow 2014 events on the big screen in the town centre and there are shops galore in the numerous shopping centres.

2. Vikingar in Largs

3. Seacoats - Eglinton Diner & Fish Fry - great food and service!

4. Magnum Centre - great for swimming but ice rink closed so went to nearby Auchenharvie for ice skating

5. Good to run / cycle on Sustrans route 7 starting behind the Magnum Centre

6. Eglinton Country Park (free)

7. Dean Castle Country Park (free)

8. HAC, next door for a meal and drink with a totally relaxed 'arty' atmosphere (and that's with kids!)

9. Puffers Cafe for decent grub and great views across the harbour

10. Jungle Madness Kids Soft Play, Kilmarnock

Plus numerous other places along the way!

Hope the funding is available soon to maintain both the Harbour Masters House and the Tower building, but also not forgetting the maintenance of 'Shona' the dragon and the surrounding beach park.

Thanks for reading, there's a lot to be said for the area and I hope it gets the funding it deserves to improve it even more.

Room Tip: Family room 8 is on the ground floor and is noisy at night with no views over the harbour. It was cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mcsbelper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here for the commonwealth games. Station a 5 minute walk from the Inn and only 30 -45 minutes to Glasgow central. Room was basic but comfortable and the fridge in the room an added bonus. Road noise was a minimum even with the window open as cars are infrequent on the harbourside.Was a stale smokey smell on arrival the only negative point but your nose soon adjusted. Free wifi was fast!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Although we never located the reception, we followed instructions and got into the room, We had a comfortable stay. We appreciated the Tunnocks' snowballs and shortbread on our tea tray. Bathroom sink plumbing was a bit iffy but it was only a loose tap and a spanner would sort that out if we'd packed one. We were in a good position to get into Glasgow for the Commonwealth Games but I wished we'd been there longer so we could have done some walking along the coast and visited the islands.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We found this place through booking.com and were a bit surprised when there was no reception. Our name was on the door, with an indication which room we were booked in, but we had not idea how to get in. But, we phoned the number on the door, and within 4 minutes the manager was there to let us in. We had room 10 on the ground floor - and unfortunately this meant that we were right next to the front door, with the noises of others coming in and going out. BUT, it was great to have a fridge, a microwave, coffee/tea, two bottles of water! - and everything was clean. The bedding was definitely not ironed, but clean! The view of the harbour provided a special atmoshpere, and because we only stayed one night - this was a good low cost and basic option. For longer periods it may have been not so good.

Room Tip: Room 10 has a view of the harbour, but downstairs and a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Logymurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

From the outside the building looks like it could do with some paint but nothing else seems wrong with it.The road that it is located on is very quiet and unless you love walking or have your car, it is not easy to find much to do or get a nice meal apart from the pub two doors away.
The staircase round the back of the building leads to the rooms, it is not the best staircase especially when it is raining and slippery.
The rooms have heavy doors with gaps at the bottom of them and so every time some one leaves or enters the rooms, the door slams really loudly and the whole building shakes.
The room I was in had mould at the top of the shower, it was a small bathroom and the whole room smelt of smoke. There was a fridge in the room which sounded like it was about to take off every half an hour.
The good point was that the bed was very comfortable and warm but that is if you can sleep from the noise of the fridge and the door slamming all night long.
I was grateful for my short time here but would not recommend or return, as the saying goes, you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Abigail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Midden worst place I have ever been in. Smell damp dirty shower area no tea /coffee facilities smell the dirtiness on pillows no drawers for clothing just a giant wardrobe carpet with iron burn mark we stayed up stairs and entrance is a disgrace . Embarrassment to Scotland .

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SadieM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is a funny but quaint little place that gets the job done for a reasonable price. It was clean and comfortable and provided us with an inexpensive hotel option not too far from Glasgow. The room was cozy and had nice views of the Irvine harbour. Everything seemed clean but the ensuite was a little bit strange and the toilet made weird noises all through the night. We had some trouble getting into the room as we booked it late in the afternoon and the manager didn’t receive our booking. We managed to find our way to the pub next door and called the manager who quickly took action to get the inn opened up for us.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adizokanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvine
1.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
0.5 mi away
Harbourside Hotel
Harbourside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Irvine
62 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kidron House Hotel
Kidron House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Irvine
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Harbour Guest House
5.2 mi away
Edenmore Guest House
Edenmore Guest House
#2 of 5 in Ardrossan
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn

Address: 110 Harbour Street, Irvine KA12 8PZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Irvine
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Irvine
Price Range: £28 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Inn Irvine, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing