We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two nights on business trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kidron House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kidron House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Two nights on business trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Really pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food, staff went out of their way to be helpful and the room was light and very clean. Real plus points were the free view TV in the bedroom and excellent speed of the free Wi-Fi... I stay in hotels a lot and for a small hotel this venue punches well above it's weight... Thank you

Room Tip: Room 12 was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ECAB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words.We are delighted you enjoyed staying with us so much.We are very pleased you sampled our new restaurant area and gave us such positive feed back.I have passed on your comments to our staff.Many thanks and we trust we will see you again soon-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    68
    31
    16
    10
See reviews for
73
93
21
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Unfortunately we did not get to stay at Kildron House due to having to cancel at last minute but my communication with the staff prior to our intended visit left such a good taste in my mouth that i felt compelled to write this review.

I was being an awkward guest and made a request on booking.com to have a room with a ensuite that had a bath, the owner wrote back to me to inform me there was not a double room with a bath but he could arrange for us to stay in the family room which did have a bath for no extra cost so as to accommodate our needs and fulfil my request.

We are gutted not to have stayed here after 2 of our friends had recommended the hotel as being clean, the staff being excellent, breakfast great and the beds supposedly very comfortable.

Sorry we had to cancel but we will be certain to visit and experience this for ourselves soon!
Thank you
Les and Emma

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hi Emma,many thanks for your review.We appreciate you taking time out to do it.We are pleased you found our customer service to your satisfaction and hope to see you again in the future.Best wishes from all at Kidron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

For me, the delight of Kidron House Hotel was its warm and friendly staff. Not plastic-friendly but canny. I am always pleased when my foibles are detected and reflected. I had a good night's sleep - the ultimate test of a room. I really needed a master class in space-age toasters, but perseverance paid off. The toast was excellent. Should I pass that way again, I shall return.
Thanks Kidron.

Room Tip: Only tried one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aydnehu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Aydne,thank you for your review.We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff so attentive.We hope to see you again in the future.Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We needed a reasonably priced room which would fit our family of five for just one night. I'm delighted to have chosen the Kidron Hotel in Irvine. From the moment we arrived we were made feel very welcome by the manager. The room was very clean and comfortable, as was the rest of the hotel. It's a small and personal place in a nice area and close to the main route from Glasgow to Cairnryan. The food was good, but it really was the friendliness of the staff which sold the hotel to our family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMLFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review.We really appreciate your positive feed back and hope to see again soon.Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forgandenny, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We have stayed several times at Kildron House, usually just overnight, and have found it to be excellent value for money. We have stayed in various rooms, usually with our dog. The rooms vary quite a bit in size and style but all rooms that we have stayed in have been warm, comfortable, well equipped and very clean. Wifi connectivity is pretty good too, and free! We like being able to order our breakfast the night before as to means breakfast is served very promptly and is freshly cooked. I would recommend Kildron House to anyone who wishes to stay in Irvine in a small hotel that has some individuality.

Room Tip: We like the rooms in the old house because they suit us with our dog. The courtyard rooms are also g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi Alison,many thanks for your comments.It was great to have you with us again and we look forward to your next visit here at Kidron.Our court yard rooms are always popular with pet owners and we are happy to accommodate in any way we can.All the best from The Kidron Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Spotless room, lovely breakfast, friendly and courteous staff, parking on site. Our family room was a little cramped with a small en-suite shower but this did not detract from the stay. Recommended if you want a location close to the sea with easy access to Glasgow, 45 minutes. Thank you guys.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LordofManor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear,guest thank you very much for taking time out to review us.We do appreciate guest feed back.I have passed on your comments to our staff who were very happy with your comments.We hope to see you again soon.Best wishes from all at Kidron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel 13 th june untill the 14th June. Hotel from out side is lovely, we walked into the reception and a man came to the desk , my husband says hello,we have a booking. No hello or response and the VERY first thing he did was pick up a payment machine ans said " how are you paying ". Husband said card and paid. He then proceeded to take us to our room, we left the hotel (?) to a house over the road,climbed a curved stair case to the top of this house, which reminded me of a hostel,even tho the house ie lovely. The room was extremely small, and the smell was disgusting, a smell of sweaty bodies. I am usually quite accepting but I could not stay in there, my hubby went to spak to the staff,who, in all fairness said they would move us but not untill tomorrow to a family room. The hotel is lovely, clean. Small details should be seen to as they don't take a minute. On leaving this morning, not a word from the staff just took the keys off us, very rude, but would I stay there again, no. It was our wedding anniversary most unpleasant and To rude

Room Tip: Take a chance, they cook food in the kitchen,just behind the reception desk, door left open and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanajanet76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear guest,thank you for taking time out to review us.I would however like to comment on some of the issues you have raised.
1 The staff member you described as cold towards you is the same person you had hung up the phone on earlier that day.In fact 3 different staff members complained to me about the manner they were spoken to and treated by yourself.While we will en-devour to accommodate all our guests as much as we possibly can I would like to point out they are not there to be abused.I believe you were annoyed before even arriving at the hotel as you were looking for a discount on the room which was not possible.I also was contacted by the booking agent who also was very unhappy about the way he was spoken to.
2 i am very surprised you have described our traditional sand stone annex as like a hostel.I would have to totally disagree with you.It is a fine Victorian building which has just been fully refurbished.Other guests reviews concur with our own opinion.Our executive suite is located next to the room you had and this is the most popular area of the hotel.
3 I note you said that the smell in your room was disgusting.That seems strange in light of the fact you later say the hotel is lovely and clean and you have marked us 5 out of 5 on both rooms and cleanliness.I have been informed you brought an Indian carry out in with you.Perhaps this may have infused the room but that apart I am at a loss to address this point.
All said you did not enjoy your stay and for that we are truly sorry as we always want all guests to have a positive experience.We do wish you all the very best in your future.Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvine
1.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
2.6 mi away
Annfield House Hotel
Annfield House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Irvine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,005 reviews
2.7 mi away
Harbourside Hotel
Harbourside Hotel
#5 of 5 in Irvine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kilmarnock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kidron House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kidron House Hotel

Property: Kidron House Hotel
Address: 122 Main Street | Dreghorn, Irvine KA11 4EE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kidron House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted number 1 Irvine hotel- Kidron House Hotel is ideally situated for Prestwick Airport only 10 minutes away. Troon and Kilmarnock are also extremely close to hand. We are a 14 bed room family run hotel which has just been fully upgraded. We love to give our guests that “personal touch”!Golfing enthusiasts need no look further. Kidron House has 18 golf courses ranging in difficulty and prices all with in “a short drive” of our doorstep. Enjoy a meal in our restaurant with fully licensed bar or why not treat yourself to our Executive Room with private sauna and jacuzzi for a little extra luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Kidron House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kidron House Hotel Irvine, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing