We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After a shaky start”
Review of Kidron House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kidron House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Certificate of Excellence
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“After a shaky start”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Not pleased to be told on our arrival that one couple would have to move rooms for the second night when we were leaving early the next day and expected to get back late.As it happened,the member of staff booking us in had not realised that there had been a cancellation and so the change of room was avoided.We were treated very well aand to be upgraded to the executive room was a real bonus.Impressed by the cleanliness and quality of the food.Would stay there again if back in that area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geoffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Geoffrey,many thanks for your comments.I am so pleased we managed to turn the situation around for you and offer a free upgrade.We do try our best to get it right for all our guests.We look forward to having you with us again.Best wishes from all at Kidron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    74
    31
    16
    10
See reviews for
74
97
23
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The reviews and website for this hotel may have heightened my expectations, but I was rather disappointed by the hotel when I arrived. The staff were reasonably friendly but my room was tiny and the bathroom miniscule! I was here for three nights on a business trip but there was no desk or table on which I could work and the WIFI was tempramental to say the least, dropping in and out all evening. I tipped hot chocolate on the duvet cover on night 2 and I was expecting it to be changed, but the chocolate stains were still there when I returned that evening. Otherwise cleanliness was OK.
I also thought that it was ridiculously expensive for what I was getting. I know that I was here during the Commonweath Games, but the room rate in no way reflected the size or quality of the room.
Won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear guest,thank you for taking time out to review us.I am very sorry to hear you did nor fully enjoy your stay with us.I would like to address a couple of the concerns you have raised.
As you have mentioned we are fully booked at the moment with customers for the Commonwealth games.I have checked the room you were allocated and I agree it was a smaller single room.Generally we like to upgrade our singles but being so busy at this time that was not possible.
I must apologize your bed sheet was not changed.The issue will be raised at our weekly staff meeting and I shall get back to you with my findings..Regarding WiFi. I am uncertain what the problem could have been.We had no reports of any problems and we do use it ourselves for bookings and could not find a problem.
As I am sure you are aware hotel prices were more expensive than usual in all hotels in the area during The Games.Our rates were very favorable compared with many of our competitors.
All said we are very sorry your stay was not all you wished for.We trust you will give us another opportunity to remedy the situation.I would be pleased to upgrade your room and to offer a 25% discount on your next stay with us.I trust this meets with your approval and am available at the hotel to assist you in any way possible.Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Really pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food, staff went out of their way to be helpful and the room was light and very clean. Real plus points were the free view TV in the bedroom and excellent speed of the free Wi-Fi... I stay in hotels a lot and for a small hotel this venue punches well above it's weight... Thank you

Room Tip: Room 12 was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ECAB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words.We are delighted you enjoyed staying with us so much.We are very pleased you sampled our new restaurant area and gave us such positive feed back.I have passed on your comments to our staff.Many thanks and we trust we will see you again soon-John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Unfortunately we did not get to stay at Kildron House due to having to cancel at last minute but my communication with the staff prior to our intended visit left such a good taste in my mouth that i felt compelled to write this review.

I was being an awkward guest and made a request on booking.com to have a room with a ensuite that had a bath, the owner wrote back to me to inform me there was not a double room with a bath but he could arrange for us to stay in the family room which did have a bath for no extra cost so as to accommodate our needs and fulfil my request.

We are gutted not to have stayed here after 2 of our friends had recommended the hotel as being clean, the staff being excellent, breakfast great and the beds supposedly very comfortable.

Sorry we had to cancel but we will be certain to visit and experience this for ourselves soon!
Thank you
Les and Emma

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hi Emma,many thanks for your review.We appreciate you taking time out to do it.We are pleased you found our customer service to your satisfaction and hope to see you again in the future.Best wishes from all at Kidron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

For me, the delight of Kidron House Hotel was its warm and friendly staff. Not plastic-friendly but canny. I am always pleased when my foibles are detected and reflected. I had a good night's sleep - the ultimate test of a room. I really needed a master class in space-age toasters, but perseverance paid off. The toast was excellent. Should I pass that way again, I shall return.
Thanks Kidron.

Room Tip: Only tried one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aydnehu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Aydne,thank you for your review.We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff so attentive.We hope to see you again in the future.Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We needed a reasonably priced room which would fit our family of five for just one night. I'm delighted to have chosen the Kidron Hotel in Irvine. From the moment we arrived we were made feel very welcome by the manager. The room was very clean and comfortable, as was the rest of the hotel. It's a small and personal place in a nice area and close to the main route from Glasgow to Cairnryan. The food was good, but it really was the friendliness of the staff which sold the hotel to our family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMLFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review.We really appreciate your positive feed back and hope to see again soon.Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forgandenny, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We have stayed several times at Kildron House, usually just overnight, and have found it to be excellent value for money. We have stayed in various rooms, usually with our dog. The rooms vary quite a bit in size and style but all rooms that we have stayed in have been warm, comfortable, well equipped and very clean. Wifi connectivity is pretty good too, and free! We like being able to order our breakfast the night before as to means breakfast is served very promptly and is freshly cooked. I would recommend Kildron House to anyone who wishes to stay in Irvine in a small hotel that has some individuality.

Room Tip: We like the rooms in the old house because they suit us with our dog. The courtyard rooms are also g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi Alison,many thanks for your comments.It was great to have you with us again and we look forward to your next visit here at Kidron.Our court yard rooms are always popular with pet owners and we are happy to accommodate in any way we can.All the best from The Kidron Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvine
1.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
2.6 mi away
Annfield House Hotel
Annfield House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Irvine
98 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,045 reviews
10.1 mi away
Western House Hotel
5.3 mi away
Travelodge Kilmarnock
Travelodge Kilmarnock
#3 of 4 in Kilmarnock
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kidron House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kidron House Hotel

Property: Kidron House Hotel
Address: 122 Main Street | Dreghorn, Irvine KA11 4EE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kidron House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted number 1 Irvine hotel- Kidron House Hotel is ideally situated for Prestwick Airport only 10 minutes away. Troon and Kilmarnock are also extremely close to hand. We are a 14 bed room family run hotel which has just been fully upgraded. We love to give our guests that “personal touch”!Golfing enthusiasts need no look further. Kidron House has 18 golf courses ranging in difficulty and prices all with in “a short drive” of our doorstep. Enjoy a meal in our restaurant with fully licensed bar or why not treat yourself to our Executive Room with private sauna and jacuzzi for a little extra luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Kidron House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kidron House Hotel Irvine, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing