We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four Star ?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This is a four star rated hotel , but I don,t know why. It is big, bright and comfortable but lacking in character. One peculiar feature is that they have a number of bedrooms that have their windows onto a dark, disused swimming pool. Therefore, no natural light and no air conditioning. These rooms are excellently furnished if you can live with the conditions. Food quality is very average for the coach tour customers. Service is not the best, a bit more staff training in the breakfast room would help.Just a minor point is that the grand piano in the lounge needs tuning.

Room Tip: Do not accept one of the rooms that face the old swimming pool, unless you can stand the conditions.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brimar3942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (921)
There are newer reviews for Hallmark Hotel Irvine
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

597 - 603 of 922 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

hotel good value for money some of the bar staff and restruant a bit miserable but this is compensated by reception staff had a few issues waiting between courses wine a bit pricey have been going there for years so we no what to expect gary i normally go to if any problems he normally good at sorting them out rooms r a bit tired need doing up overall good value for money they never used to charge for dogs started charging now i think not a good move as probably wont go back there now

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tania s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The staff were very polite and helpful throughout our stay. The food at breakfast was superb and the waiting staff were all too keen to help out despite it being very busy. The decor and furnishings are to a good standard and spotless throughout. This is obviously a very popular and busy hotel but to it's credit the service remains very high.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel last weekend as we were visiting family and we could not have asked for a better stay. Its a great location for access to the Isle of Rothesay, Troon and the surrounding areas. We had dinner and breakfast included in our stay and we were a little dubious, as one suspects that when dinner and breakfast is included that it might be substandard. We couldnt have been more wrong. The fish and chips was the best my partner had ever tasted and he has travelled substanially, the steak was incredible and cooked to perfection (no mean feat). The only slight critisism was there was a little too much coulis on the pudding which I fed back to the manager and he subsequnelty fed back to the kitchen.

The rooms were large and comfortable with a good choice of sky channels

Very impressed with this hotel for its service, value and overall experience

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TanyaDavies74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I would like to say a great big thank you to Paul, Gary and staff at the Menzies Hotel Irvine. We celebrated my parents 55th wedding anniversary there last week, there was a group of 25 family members ages ranging from 9 to 79 and a great time was had by all. Some of us were booked in for 2 nights and others 1 night and the staff made us so welcome adding wee extra touches to make our stay more special. The rooms were large and beds so comfy, the food was lovely and the hotel just had a lovely atmosphere, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed on the two night bb deal including dinner on the first night.
The staff in the restaurant were fantastic and went above and beyond helping entertain our 14 month old daughter during dinner and breakfast. Morgan in particular was wonderful.
The staff overall were so helpful and friendly and the food was very good. The only down side to this hotel was the heat of the room. With no heating on and it not even being warm (we stayed at the end of June when it was cool and raining) it was extremely hot. The window only opened a couple of inches and even with a fan it was still far too hot. I used a shoe to wedge the door open to let in some cooler air when we were in the room but obviously had to close the door at night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolyne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We booked 2nights bed and breakfast with one evening meal included. This was done through Booking.com and the total cost was £99 for the stay. We expected to receive an average type meal considering the very reasonable price we paid. The dinner we got was excellent and in no way budget based. Drinks were not included but again these were very reasonable considering we were in an upmarket hotel.
Breakfast good with wide selection on offer.
Staff very helpful and friendly and hotel was in a nice location although a little way out of town.
Only downside, no air conditioning in the room (Unusually very hot weather at the time) but the hotel did provide a fan. Bathroom a little dated but clean and adequate.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking golf course.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvine
1.7 mi away
Kidron House Hotel
Kidron House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Irvine
309 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,093 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Annfield House Hotel
Annfield House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Irvine
102 reviews
9.8 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,536 reviews
10.1 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Irvine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Irvine

Address: 46 Annick Road, Irvine KA11 4LD, Scotland (Formerly Menzies Irvine)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Price Range: £40 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Irvine 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside Irvine, in Ayrshire, one of Scotland's most beautiful areas and only seven miles from Prestwick Airport, the Hallmark Hotel Irvine is perfectly placed for both business and leisure. The hotel facilities include 128 en-suite bedrooms including family rooms, a contemporary Brasserie restaurant, relaxing lounge bar and a 9 hole junior golf course. Whether you are wanting to explore the beautiful Ayrshire countryside or simply have a relaxing weekend break, the Hallmark Hotel Irvine is the ideal choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Irvine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Irvine Hotel Irvine
Menzies Hotel Irvine
Irvine Menzies Hotel
Hallmark Hotel Irvine Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing