We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,055)
Filter reviews
1,055 results
Traveller rating
378
357
188
79
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
378
357
188
79
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshallmark hotelbuffet breakfasttwo double bedscoach partiesno liftbit datedreception staffnight stayfamily roombar pricescourse mealboth nightsshort breakgreat weekendstayed here for one nighthaggisfirst class
Filter
Updating list...
475 - 480 of 1,055 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2015 via mobile

What a great place to stay clean rooms good breakfast. The hotel staff were friendly helpful nothing was touch trouble . We were there for a family wedding so there were quite s lot of us to keep happy but they did. Would recommend to anyone

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry R, General Manager at Riverside Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2015

Dear Michael C,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback from your recent stay with us here at Menzies Irvine.

I have shared your excellent comments with the team here at the hotel,

Best Regards,

Gerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2015 via mobile

Fabulous hotel, lovely clean room. Room spacious with comfortable bed, fluffy white towels and a great shower. great food in the restaurant for the evening meal. Buffet style breakfast which means you eat what you enjoy, staff very polite and friendly, make you feel most welcome, hotel ideal if you traveling to Glasgow for the day. would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry R, General Manager at Riverside Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2015

Dear Pauline S,

We are all delighted that you had a great stay with us here at Menzies Irvine.

As you correctly point out we are only a 25 minute drive into Glasgow and a 15 minute train ride - so in an ideal location if you do not like the hustle and bustle of the city but would still like to visit. We also have other attractions such as some of the countries best Golf courses, the Island of Arran and Burns cottage all within an easy travelling distance.

I hope to welcome you back in the near future,

Best Regards,

Gerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2015

Just had four nights at Menzies Hotel Irvine. The staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
We have had better rooms but it was adequate, at least we had plenty of towels in the bathroom but the complimentary tray of tea and coffee was sparse.

If you fancy an alcoholic drink I suggest you buy a bottle and drink it in your room as unless you are very, very rich drinks at the bar are expensive.

The meals were OK but the potatoes were horrible and UNPEALED and the other vegetables were always carrots and broccoli which were not properly cooked.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry R, General Manager at Riverside Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2015

Dear Roy133,

I appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us here at Menzies Hotel, Irvine.

I am delighted that you found the team here and friendly and welcoming: We are proud of the service standards that we offer.

Please accept my apologies for the few negative aspects that you have raised, I have shared these with the team here in order to review and improve our product,

Best Regards,

Gerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2015

We arrived in appalling weather (snow, hail and very cold) but we did receive a very warm welcome from very friendly staff.

Throughout our stay every member of staff we came into contact with was so friendly and helpful. A real joy to meet them.

Our room was big clean and well appointed, with lashings of hot water in the bathroom, where the shower was over the bath. Plenty of fluffy white towels were provided with an extra set in the wardrobe if required.

The bed was huge with six pillows and spotless bed linen.

Breakfast was a delight, self service with everything one could think of to choose from, even a bottle of scotch whisky next to the porridge for those brave enough to pour scotch over their porridge.

Dinner was also good but I personally was disappointed that carrots were on the menu every night, although there were two other vegetables as well. If you are a meat eater the portions are very generous.

Warning to anyone that likes a drink, the bar is well stocked but extremely expensive (a round of drinks was like paying ones mortage)

This place is worth considering if you are in this part of Scotland.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank margaret p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry R, General Manager at Riverside Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2015

Dear margaretp,

Thank you for your extremely positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Menzies Irvine.

I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay and we are looking forward to seeing you return in the near future,

Best Regards,

Gerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2015

Stayed at this hotel for the weekend, rooms were very big and very clean, staff very nice and pleasant to speak to, had dinner on 1st night which was lovely, breakfast was a great choice and plenty of it, lovely seating area with nice comfy seating to sit and enjoy a drink, will defo be back

Room Tip: Corridors are quite long, if you have any walking difficulties ask for room at front, I did and got second room from reception
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank biglSouthLanarkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry R, General Manager at Riverside Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2015

Dear biglSouthLanarshire,

We are all delighted that you had a great time during your recent stay with us here. I am in particular pleased in relation to your comments about the service team here at the hotel. We are all very proud of the service we offer.

Best Regards,

Gerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews