We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

8 Enthusiastic Golfers stayed at the Gailes Hotel for 3 nights on our 20th Annual Golf Trip early June.The first night the bar ran out of Guinness but went beyond the call to obtain some from a "Sister" venue.Fantastic Service.

The Staff were all warm and welcoming and the selections for breakfast were really good and again served with a smile.

The rooms we found comfortable with all usual amenities and plenty of hot water always available for shower or bath.

Water and fresh apples with sufficient tea,coffee and biscuits were made available every day and fresh towels provided daily.

Situated ideally for the many golf courses in the area and with ample parking,wi-fi etc.

An enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the par 3 course at the rear were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ping12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gill_campbell, Manager at Gailes Restaurant and Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
The Gailes Hotel is situated next to championship golf courses, and therefore very popular with groups of golfers. Thank you for your fantastic comments I will pass these to our team at the Gailes, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    133
    48
    22
    7
See reviews for
100
147
9
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Visited the gailes yesterday with 3 of my family .
We had 2 course lunch which was fantastic and service from the waitress was 1st class .
Service was fast and very attentive .looking forward to a return .

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank pesking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The facilities were really cramped.
The catering / meals were dismal.
Meals were sent back. The food was dry and obviously pre cooked and reheated -looked like packet, processed meals. Same veg served for three days and garnish was totally inappropriate - green leafy herbs on top of a steak pie!!!
I managed to salvage a piece of plastic out of my mouth before I swallowed it (think it has chipped my tooth) - god knows the impact on me if I had swallowed it- identified to waitress but not addressed by restaurant manager.
Very poor service for an established hotel which is supposed to be highly rated.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRACEY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had taken a deal through itison as it looked like a good deal. my partner and I had went with this one due to Leisure facilities and we thought we could leave our little one and have one hour each to relax. Day before we were due to arrive we were phoned to say the leisure facilities would not be available could we change our holiday to later in the week - no I work I have to get holidays authorised. Therefore no relaxation for us.

Not one word of apology.

Ended up at a hotel with nothing to do - it sits next to a landfill site so wasnt even pleasant to walk about outside.

At dinner had a couple of issues and the waitress had no customer service when we tried to rectify was quite unpleasant.

On the plus side the staff for breakfast were vetry helpful. Our lunch we paid for was lovely.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

the rating does not include the brilliant young staff at the hotel they were great very helpful and polite.the poor rating is for a few things .first the layout is very bad the leisure area is outside the hotel area so you need to walk outside to get there not exactly handy if its raining .the sauna area could do with a refurb as it looks dated .the changing area is ok but again a gallon of paint new carpet ect would help .the food was good and drink the usual over priced at these places .but the worst is the hotel walls they must be made of kitchen roll .the room itself was great a huge bed good tv and very clean .but you can hear someone picking their nose next door. I woke up with people talking note talking not shouting then about 2am I thought a buffalo was next door snoring no real this went on all night not the buffalos fault the walls are crap you would have to take your ears off to get a sleep .overall its a nice place but the layout and design give it a bad rating ...

Room Tip: a tent in the garden for a sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billybunter95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gill_campbell, Manager at Gailes Restaurant and Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback, the leisure club – Gailes Golf and Leisure was taken over by SimpsInns eight weeks ago; we are currently in the process of extensive refurbishment of the building together with the golf driving range.
I am surprised that you had problems sleeping in the hotel, as we do not normally receive any feedback about noise from other rooms. We have a large number of guests who regularly stay with us and have never made any comment about noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
85 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

First and foremost with this hotel are the staff. Very friendly and helpful. Our room was nice but plugs do not accomodate charges neither laptop or tablet fit. Problem is the sockets are too close to the dressing table so not enough height to fit. Menu very restricted specially for us Itison folk! So we ordered steak with a surcharge. As someone below mentioned we too where also charged for food on our bill. Have had much better menu choices at other voucher deals we have used. Very nice hotel great if you are a golfer not much around it. Not sure if I would return on a deal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisrhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Slightly disapointed with our stay here. Took advantage of the Itison promotion which included a two course menu. We were seated right across from the bar at a table right in the middle (on display it seemed), where other patrons were just having social drinks so we were the only diners. Expected a restriction on the menu but were given a completely different menu altogether. No complaints about the food however when we got the bill, we were charged for our food. Had the embarassment of having to explain to the bartender we already paid as we were part of the deal etc. Was sorted easy enough but it shouldnt have happened anyway! Overall, room was nice enough, spa area was reasonable, staff pleasant but the experience in the restaurant made me and my husband feel like second class citizens. Driving range closed at 7pm so not much else to do in the grounds. Ended up going back to the room and watched tv. Sorry to say I wouldnt be planning on coming back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pugglesworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvine
1.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
4.2 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,004 reviews
3.1 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
10.3 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,431 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kidron House Hotel
Kidron House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Irvine
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gailes Restaurant and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gailes Restaurant and Hotel

Property: Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
Address: Marine Drive | Strathclyde, Irvine KA11 5AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gailes Restaurant and Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star hotel, bar and restaurant in the heart of Ayrshire. Distinctive modern accommodation with full mod cons and king size beds. Stunning Penthouse Apartment with private sauna, spa and Jacuzzi plus rooftop garden and conservatory. Excellent dining options in our relaxed and friendly bar and restaurant areas. Part of the award winning SimpsInns group. Adjacent to a number of championship golf courses and just minutes from the busy towns of Irvine and Troon. Prestwick Airport and Troon P&O Ferry terminal are less than 10 minutes away, while Glasgow International is 40 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gailes Restaurant and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gailes Restaurant Hotel Irvine
Gailes Hotel Irvine
Gailes Restaurant And Hotel Irvine, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing