We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had an overnight stay here after an all day wedding and were impressed by the service offered. Rooms were lovely and spacious with tea and coffee making facilities available and some apples offered as well, the staff were extremely helpful and the breakfast offered was first class with a buffet service for cereals etc then table service for the excellent cooked breakfast. The hotel is set in lovely grounds with views of the attached golf course. Plenty of parking available and free wi-fi too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed for one night in this hotel and rooms were spacious and clean. Every member of staff we had dealings with were extremely pleasant and helpful. We also ate in the restaurant where there was awide variety of dishes on offer and again the service was good. Only negative is that bottles of wine are overly expensive. Pretty much everything you might want for breakfast was avaiable on the buffet, or to order, so overall a very pleasant stay. We didn't use the leisure facilities or the golf so my review does not cover these areas.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

8 Enthusiastic Golfers stayed at the Gailes Hotel for 3 nights on our 20th Annual Golf Trip early June.The first night the bar ran out of Guinness but went beyond the call to obtain some from a "Sister" venue.Fantastic Service.

The Staff were all warm and welcoming and the selections for breakfast were really good and again served with a smile.

The rooms we found comfortable with all usual amenities and plenty of hot water always available for shower or bath.

Water and fresh apples with sufficient tea,coffee and biscuits were made available every day and fresh towels provided daily.

Situated ideally for the many golf courses in the area and with ample parking,wi-fi etc.

An enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the par 3 course at the rear were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ping12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gill_campbell, Manager at Gailes Restaurant and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

The Gailes Hotel is situated next to championship golf courses, and therefore very popular with groups of golfers. Thank you for your fantastic comments I will pass these to our team at the Gailes, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Visited the gailes yesterday with 3 of my family .
We had 2 course lunch which was fantastic and service from the waitress was 1st class .
Service was fast and very attentive .looking forward to a return .

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank pesking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The facilities were really cramped.
The catering / meals were dismal.
Meals were sent back. The food was dry and obviously pre cooked and reheated -looked like packet, processed meals. Same veg served for three days and garnish was totally inappropriate - green leafy herbs on top of a steak pie!!!
I managed to salvage a piece of plastic out of my mouth before I swallowed it (think it has chipped my tooth) - god knows the impact on me if I had swallowed it- identified to waitress but not addressed by restaurant manager.
Very poor service for an established hotel which is supposed to be highly rated.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TRACEY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had taken a deal through itison as it looked like a good deal. my partner and I had went with this one due to Leisure facilities and we thought we could leave our little one and have one hour each to relax. Day before we were due to arrive we were phoned to say the leisure facilities would not be available could we change our holiday to later in the week - no I work I have to get holidays authorised. Therefore no relaxation for us.

Not one word of apology.

Ended up at a hotel with nothing to do - it sits next to a landfill site so wasnt even pleasant to walk about outside.

At dinner had a couple of issues and the waitress had no customer service when we tried to rectify was quite unpleasant.

On the plus side the staff for breakfast were vetry helpful. Our lunch we paid for was lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

the rating does not include the brilliant young staff at the hotel they were great very helpful and polite.the poor rating is for a few things .first the layout is very bad the leisure area is outside the hotel area so you need to walk outside to get there not exactly handy if its raining .the sauna area could do with a refurb as it looks dated .the changing area is ok but again a gallon of paint new carpet ect would help .the food was good and drink the usual over priced at these places .but the worst is the hotel walls they must be made of kitchen roll .the room itself was great a huge bed good tv and very clean .but you can hear someone picking their nose next door. I woke up with people talking note talking not shouting then about 2am I thought a buffalo was next door snoring no real this went on all night not the buffalos fault the walls are crap you would have to take your ears off to get a sleep .overall its a nice place but the layout and design give it a bad rating ...

Room Tip: a tent in the garden for a sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billybunter95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gill_campbell, Manager at Gailes Restaurant and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback, the leisure club – Gailes Golf and Leisure was taken over by SimpsInns eight weeks ago; we are currently in the process of extensive refurbishment of the building together with the golf driving range.
I am surprised that you had problems sleeping in the hotel, as we do not normally receive any feedback about noise from other rooms. We have a large number of guests who regularly stay with us and have never made any comment about noise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvine
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
9.5 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#2 of 2 in West Kilbride
315 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
521 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kidron House Hotel
Kidron House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Irvine
316 reviews
10.3 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gailes Restaurant and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gailes Restaurant and Hotel

Address: Marine Drive | Strathclyde, Irvine KA11 5AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Price Range: £74 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gailes Restaurant and Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star hotel, bar and restaurant in the heart of Ayrshire. Distinctive modern accommodation with full mod cons and king size beds. Stunning Penthouse Apartment with private sauna, spa and Jacuzzi plus rooftop garden and conservatory. Excellent dining options in our relaxed and friendly bar and restaurant areas. Part of the award winning SimpsInns group. Adjacent to a number of championship golf courses and just minutes from the busy towns of Irvine and Troon. Prestwick Airport and Troon P&O Ferry terminal are less than 10 minutes away, while Glasgow International is 40 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gailes Restaurant and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gailes Restaurant Hotel Irvine
Gailes Hotel Irvine
Gailes Restaurant And Hotel Irvine, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing