We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Certificate of Excellence
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely stay!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed here on Friday after attending a wedding at the hotel. Everything was perfect, food, service and rooms were all lovely. Only downside was our shower wasn't working the next day so had to opt for a bath. Been here for 2 weddings now and cannot fault the hotel! Also we were on the ground floor and someone chapped our door at 2.30am so I couldn't get back to sleep for ages but otherwise I can't fault the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs and at the end of the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    139
    48
    22
    8
See reviews for
104
153
9
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Attended a friends wedding and from start to finish it was excellent. All the staff were happy friendly and eager to help. The Lagavalin suite was ideal and the standard of food was great. Can't thank the staff enough for making it such an amazing day.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CYBERJIMBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had an overnight stay here after an all day wedding and were impressed by the service offered. Rooms were lovely and spacious with tea and coffee making facilities available and some apples offered as well, the staff were extremely helpful and the breakfast offered was first class with a buffet service for cereals etc then table service for the excellent cooked breakfast. The hotel is set in lovely grounds with views of the attached golf course. Plenty of parking available and free wi-fi too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed for one night in this hotel and rooms were spacious and clean. Every member of staff we had dealings with were extremely pleasant and helpful. We also ate in the restaurant where there was awide variety of dishes on offer and again the service was good. Only negative is that bottles of wine are overly expensive. Pretty much everything you might want for breakfast was avaiable on the buffet, or to order, so overall a very pleasant stay. We didn't use the leisure facilities or the golf so my review does not cover these areas.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

8 Enthusiastic Golfers stayed at the Gailes Hotel for 3 nights on our 20th Annual Golf Trip early June.The first night the bar ran out of Guinness but went beyond the call to obtain some from a "Sister" venue.Fantastic Service.

The Staff were all warm and welcoming and the selections for breakfast were really good and again served with a smile.

The rooms we found comfortable with all usual amenities and plenty of hot water always available for shower or bath.

Water and fresh apples with sufficient tea,coffee and biscuits were made available every day and fresh towels provided daily.

Situated ideally for the many golf courses in the area and with ample parking,wi-fi etc.

An enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the par 3 course at the rear were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ping12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gill_campbell, Manager at Gailes Restaurant and Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
The Gailes Hotel is situated next to championship golf courses, and therefore very popular with groups of golfers. Thank you for your fantastic comments I will pass these to our team at the Gailes, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Visited the gailes yesterday with 3 of my family .
We had 2 course lunch which was fantastic and service from the waitress was 1st class .
Service was fast and very attentive .looking forward to a return .

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank pesking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The facilities were really cramped.
The catering / meals were dismal.
Meals were sent back. The food was dry and obviously pre cooked and reheated -looked like packet, processed meals. Same veg served for three days and garnish was totally inappropriate - green leafy herbs on top of a steak pie!!!
I managed to salvage a piece of plastic out of my mouth before I swallowed it (think it has chipped my tooth) - god knows the impact on me if I had swallowed it- identified to waitress but not addressed by restaurant manager.
Very poor service for an established hotel which is supposed to be highly rated.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRACEY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvine
1.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
4.2 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,046 reviews
3.1 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Kidron House Hotel
Kidron House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Irvine
302 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#2 of 2 in West Kilbride
253 reviews
10.3 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gailes Restaurant and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gailes Restaurant and Hotel

Property: Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
Address: Marine Drive | Strathclyde, Irvine KA11 5AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gailes Restaurant and Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star hotel, bar and restaurant in the heart of Ayrshire. Distinctive modern accommodation with full mod cons and king size beds. Stunning Penthouse Apartment with private sauna, spa and Jacuzzi plus rooftop garden and conservatory. Excellent dining options in our relaxed and friendly bar and restaurant areas. Part of the award winning SimpsInns group. Adjacent to a number of championship golf courses and just minutes from the busy towns of Irvine and Troon. Prestwick Airport and Troon P&O Ferry terminal are less than 10 minutes away, while Glasgow International is 40 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gailes Restaurant and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gailes Restaurant Hotel Irvine
Gailes Hotel Irvine
Gailes Restaurant And Hotel Irvine, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing