We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Certificate of Excellence
Ripon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed here for the Commonwealth Games for 2 nights. Had 2 rooms, very nicely decorated and clean. Big beds! Staff were very friendly and helpful...even printed out our park and ride tickets for us etc. breakfast was lovely, great selection of hot and cold food. We had to leave very early on the last morning and the night porter let us into the breakfast room at 6am to take what we liked. It's a drive away from anywhere but would highly recommend.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Emcart99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    133
    48
    22
    7
See reviews for
100
147
9
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We chose this hotel because of its location and convenience to Western Gailes Golf club. By the way this is one of the best golf courses I have ever played! Make sure you play if you love golf. It is very tough so you have to be pretty good to enjoy to. The hotel was very nice. Our room for three was a good size and the bathroom was nice. Not huge but nice. The restaurant was very good for both dinner and breakfast. Service was really good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJK12342014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed here for one night on the way over to Arran. The hotel was excellent, just what you would expect. Easy to find, big car park, friendly staff, good sized comfortable rooms with ensuite bathroom etc. There is a bar and restaurant that looked good. We had breakfast and that was very good. This area is big for golfers with all the courses nearby.
I would stay here again. My only recommendation would be try and get a room at the back of the hotel in order to avoid noise from the road outside and there was a wedding party on which, understandably, was a little bit noisy.

Room Tip: Try the back overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

excellent location and extremely well organized. Of course the Bride and Groom were outstanding.
The meal was superb and the rooms up to a very high standard.
The staff were effecient and very friendly but not intrusive.
Only two downsides forgot my golf clubs and unfortunately nearby is a landfill site and the wind was blowing in the wrong direction alas towards the hotel. The smell was not pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill101bt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed the one night. The reception staff were friendly & the room, overlooking the car park & main road was both large & clean with a comfortable huge bed. The bathroom was equally large & clean with soap, moisturiser & shower gel provided.
Only downside was the room was very hot & with no fan so made it slightly uncomfortable, we slept with the window open but the noise from the car park & main road was significant ...feedback we did give to the reception staff who accepted it graciously.
During the evening we went to search for something to eat locally but had to travel miles for average food. We wished we had eaten in the restaurant as the food we saw coming from the kitchen when we were having a drink in the bar looked delicious.
The bar area & restaurant was relaxed & inviting & service was very good.
Breakfast in the morning was tasty, lots of choice & served by friendly & efficient staff, will definitely stay here again if in the area.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Frogsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent value for money Hotel, amazing staff and great location. During the night on Saturday I had to call an ambulance and go to the hospital, the staff were excellent, very attentive and genuinely concerned for me, in addition they arranged a late checkout for my husband and I the following day.
Thank you to all.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank L0u65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Popped in for a Sunday roast having phone ahead to check if this was on the menu I was really looking forward to it. We were seated by the waitress who clearly didnt want to be there who didn't tell us the soup or anything about the Sunday roast. We asked another staff member who told us what they were but didn't understand what she meant as she said it was on the deal but if we wanted a main portain it would be more expensive. (bit of training needed) We ordered our starters which were ok, the roast was nothing special,lacked flavour and the meat was really tough. no one checked on us so I could tell them so we just ate it. when it came to pay the bill the waitress asked if everything was ok,I said the meat was tough and no one checked on his she just said "oh sorry bout that".it was 50 pounds I would of rather not spent. A real shame as your venue looks great.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank makemesmile88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvine
1.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
4.2 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,005 reviews
3.1 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
10.3 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kidron House Hotel
Kidron House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Irvine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gailes Restaurant and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gailes Restaurant and Hotel

Property: Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
Address: Marine Drive | Strathclyde, Irvine KA11 5AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gailes Restaurant and Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star hotel, bar and restaurant in the heart of Ayrshire. Distinctive modern accommodation with full mod cons and king size beds. Stunning Penthouse Apartment with private sauna, spa and Jacuzzi plus rooftop garden and conservatory. Excellent dining options in our relaxed and friendly bar and restaurant areas. Part of the award winning SimpsInns group. Adjacent to a number of championship golf courses and just minutes from the busy towns of Irvine and Troon. Prestwick Airport and Troon P&O Ferry terminal are less than 10 minutes away, while Glasgow International is 40 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gailes Restaurant and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gailes Restaurant Hotel Irvine
Gailes Hotel Irvine
Gailes Restaurant And Hotel Irvine, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing