We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overbooked, no refund”
Review of Harbourside Hotel

Harbourside Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harbourside Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I booked through bookassist and received a confirmation email. The day before we were due to arrive I received a call to say there was no room at the inn. They offered me a room at another hotel that they owned, which didn't have the double bed or breakfast that I booked for. And they've refused to refund my deposit and booking fee, which is nice.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Harbourside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2011

Stayed at hotel Aug 8-9, 2011, on solo golf trip. Room was simple, clean and basic, not fancy. Breakfast was good, full Scottish. Walkable from Irvine train station. Short cab ride to local golf. Owner, Andrew, is very friendly and happy to help you get to/from courses. Be sure to have a meal at the Ship Inn, walkable from the hotel.

Room Tip: Stayed in room on main floor. DIdn't see other rooms in higher floors.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

My work booked me into this hotel for 2 weeks as it was close to the area I was working. Firstly I appreciate the rates that this hotel charges but some standards dont cost anything!!! The other reviews basically pick up on everything that is wrong with this place eg shabby pillows mattresses, covers and a very odd smell off cheap cleaning products which mask the overwelming stink of dirty cooking fat. What I feel is the worst and worrying fact is that I doubt this hotel has any type of certificates to prove this hotel is up to standard and safe to house customers. The lights in the bathroom were not enclosed as per legal requirements. Also the electrical test stickers were out of date. Even if these were dealt with they would still have to look into there washing and basic housekeeping. The bedding and towels made me itch constantly to the put where I thought they had fleas! During the 2 week stay I had my towels changed once and my room was cleaned NEVER! If you are thinking why didnt I complain, well quite simply you never saw anyone! Cheap and basic for a few nights but a longer stay is not advised.

Room Tip: ask for room 9 or 10 (private granny flat style rooms at back)
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

> On the 13th July, my friend and I stayed at the Harbourside Hotel,
> prior to joining our cruise ship which was sailing from Greenock on
> the following day.
> The best part of the experience was meeting the helpful young
> Roumanian girl who showed us to our room, made and served our
> breakfast, before starting on her cleaning duties. She truly is a gem,
> which is more than can be said for your hotel.
>
> Calling at the Harbourside was a chance that we took on getting a room
> for the night. Had I read the comments about the hotel, posted on
> Trip Advisor, I would not have set foot inside. Many of the adverse
> comments go back as far as 2008 and apparently, nothing much has
> changed since then, although my friend did appreciate the flat screen
> TV. We also appreciated the tea making facilities although the mish
> mash of crockery and spoons once again indicated a lack of care and
> presentation
>
> Superficially, the room looked OK but once installed we realised there
> were many aspects that were totally unacceptable.
>
> I have attached photos to draw some of these to your attention.
>
> The electrics left a great deal to be desired with out of date testing
> stickers and sockets that appeared to be precarious. The fridge was
> rusty and propped up with a wedge of folded paper. In the cupboard we
> found a pot scrubber of unknown vintage which was totally distasteful.
> Thankfully we did not have occasion to use it.
> The bedding was of very poor quality and the duvets appeared to be
> torn, revealing their inner wadding. There were not5 even any cvers on
> the mattresses and the pattern of the mattress could easily bee seen
> through the sheets.The pillows were so flat that even 2 together gave
> little support.
> The towels were grey and threadbare in parts. In fact, I have sent
> better bedding and towels to charity collections than we found in your hotel.
>
> The bed that my friend slept in had springs poking through the
> mattress which resulted in a most uncomfortable night.
>
> Breakfast was adequate, spoiled by the background odour of old and
> stale fat, but brightened by the smile of your Roumanian cook/waitress/cleaner.
>
> I intend to post a review on Trip Advisor but felt it only fair to
> contact you first. I appreciate that we paid a relatively modest price
> for the room but feel that even for this amount, we should have had a
> better standard of facilities.

Andy's reply
> On the 13th July, my friend and I stayed at the Harbourside Hotel,
> prior to joining our cruise ship which was sailing from Greenock on
> the following day.
>
> The best part of the experience was meeting the helpful young
> Roumanian girl who showed us to our room, made and served our
> breakfast, before starting on her cleaning duties. She truly is a gem,
> which is more than can be said for your hotel.
>
> Calling at the Harbourside was a chance that we took on getting a room
> for the night. Had I read the comments about the hotel, posted on
> Trip Advisor, I would not have set foot inside. Many of the adverse
> comments go back as far as 2008 and apparently, nothing much has
> changed since then, although my friend did appreciate the flat screen
> TV. We also appreciated the tea making facilities although the mish
> mash of crockery and spoons once again indicated a lack of care and
> presentation
>
> Superficially, the room looked OK but once installed we realised there
> were many aspects that were totally unacceptable.
>
> I have attached photos to draw some of these to your attention.
>
> The electrics left a great deal to be desired with out of date testing
> stickers and sockets that appeared to be precarious. The fridge was
> rusty and propped up with a wedge of folded paper. In the cupboard we
> found a pot scrubber of unknown vintage which was totally distasteful.
> Thankfully we did not have occasion to use it.
> The bedding was of very poor quality and the duvets appeared to be
> torn, revealing their inner wadding. There were not5 even any cvers on
> the mattresses and the pattern of the mattress could easily bee seen
> through the sheets.The pillows were so flat that even 2 together gave
> little support.
> The towels were grey and threadbare in parts. In fact, I have sent
> better bedding and towels to charity collections than we found in your hotel.
>
> The bed that my friend slept in had springs poking through the
> mattress which resulted in a most uncomfortable night.
>
> Breakfast was adequate, spoiled by the background odour of old and
> stale fat, but brightened by the smile of your Roumanian cook/waitress/cleaner.
>
> I intend to post a review on Trip Advisor but felt it only fair to
> contact you first. I appreciate that we paid a relatively modest price
> for the room but feel that even for this amount, we should have had a
> better standard of facilities.> On the 13th July, my friend and I stayed at the Harbourside Hotel,
> prior to joining our cruise ship which was sailing from Greenock on
> the following day.
>
> The best part of the experience was meeting the helpful young
> Roumanian girl who showed us to our room, made and served our
> breakfast, before starting on her cleaning duties. She truly is a gem,
> which is more than can be said for your hotel.
>
> Calling at the Harbourside was a chance that we took on getting a room
> for the night. Had I read the comments about the hotel, posted on
> Trip Advisor, I would not have set foot inside. Many of the adverse
> comments go back as far as 2008 and apparently, nothing much has
> changed since then, although my friend did appreciate the flat screen
> TV. We also appreciated the tea making facilities although the mish
> mash of crockery and spoons once again indicated a lack of care and
> presentation
>
> Superficially, the room looked OK but once installed we realised there
> were many aspects that were totally unacceptable.
>
> I have attached photos to draw some of these to your attention.
>
> The electrics left a great deal to be desired with out of date testing
> stickers and sockets that appeared to be precarious. The fridge was
> rusty and propped up with a wedge of folded paper. In the cupboard we
> found a pot scrubber of unknown vintage which was totally distasteful.
> Thankfully we did not have occasion to use it.
> The bedding was of very poor quality and the duvets appeared to be
> torn, revealing their inner wadding. There were not5 even any cvers on
> the mattresses and the pattern of the mattress could easily bee seen
> through the sheets.The pillows were so flat that even 2 together gave
> little support.
> The towels were grey and threadbare in parts. In fact, I have sent
> better bedding and towels to charity collections than we found in your hotel.
>
> The bed that my friend slept in had springs poking through the
> mattress which resulted in a most uncomfortable night.
>
> Breakfast was adequate, spoiled by the background odour of old and
> stale fat, but brightened by the smile of your Roumanian cook/waitress/cleaner.
>
> I intend to post a review on Trip Advisor but felt it only fair to
> contact you first. I appreciate that we paid a relatively modest price
> for the room but feel that even for this amount, we should have had a
> better standard of facilities.

Andy's reply

Thank you for your comments, the hotel is undergoing refurbishment at the moment, you were in room 9, which is due a makeover in August.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CumbriaHappysnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We booked this Hotel for a family wedding in Irvine. I had an email sent to me that if I was checking in after 7pm, the Hotel would be unattended.
The Hotel boasts "off Road parking", but no intructions or signs to get to it.
The Hotal smelt of fried food, throughout the building and up to our room (Room 2). Our room smelt of fried food. A poor attempt had been made to get rid of the smell, by wedging a glass cup to keep the window open.
We firstly noted the pillows, that were stained with god knows what!!!, the Duvet cover also had stains as well as the bed sheets. The complementory towels were meant to be white, but were grey!!
The final straw was when i sat on the bed i dissappeared as the springs on the matteress had long worn out!!!
I wrote Andy an email and, in fairness, he contacted me straight back apologising, saying that he will look into it, however reading the reviews it sounds like these comments have been mentioned for years and still nothing has been done about it!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a10bdking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

Greeted in a very uncaring way, only interested it seemed in getting my payment processed. Found the room to be reeking of cigarettes, so bad the linen was that I had to turn the duvet around so that I could not smell residue. Not nice. Room did have a very large flat screen TV whish was a point scorer, but found the whole experience pretty depressing. Breakfast was nothing very inspiring, but ok given was a budget option. Went to Ship Inn for a meal, sadly found also a disappointment; overpriced, poor service and bad beer. Won't be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chippytravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Having read the other reviews on trip advisor, I find it hard to believe that anyone could see this Hotel as anything but awful. I think Mrs Pennington's review in June 2008 is the most accurate and one that two years on is still unfortunately relevant as not much has changed.

At £18.50 per person I wasn't expecting the Ritz but in the future I wouldn't actually pay to stay at the Harbourside Hotel. Problems included:

* Rooms changed from those originally booked. So lost money.
*Rooms dirty, damp and smelt of urine.
*Breakfast was poor quality
*Lady in Breakfast room rude and unhelpful.
*Area hotel was in was rough, depressing and not really harbourside, more like inner city.
*Drunk resident tried to open one of our doors at 1.30am.

The only positive is that Andrew the owner seems a nice bloke, so it is a shame that this hotel is so bad and unappealing and I hope he makes some desperatley needed changes to improve it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HolidayEvaluator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvine
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
2.7 mi away
Kidron House Hotel
Kidron House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Irvine
309 reviews
0.5 mi away
Annfield House Hotel
Annfield House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Irvine
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
8.0 mi away
Travelodge Kilmarnock
Travelodge Kilmarnock
#3 of 4 in Kilmarnock
135 reviews
8.5 mi away
Burnhouse Manor Hotel
Burnhouse Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnhouse
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourside Hotel

Address: 86 Montgomery Street, Irvine KA12 8PW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Irvine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Price Range: £37 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbourside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Harbourside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourside Hotel Irvine, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing