We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“getting even better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Knight's Rest Guest House
Ranked #1 of 9 Airdrie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

If there is a case of an already good thing getting even better this surely must be Knight’s Rest B&B in Airdrie. I had stayed there in February for three weeks and was very happy. This Autumn it was as many as six weeks(business trip) so I can safely say it was my home for a while. The difference is that the B&B changed ownership and is now run by John and Cean, who are much more flexible with regards to the time of breakfast, which is nevertheless just as delicious as before. If you are good Cean may even treat you to homemade cheese cones or ginger bread from time to time. Admittedly they charge 5 pounds per nights more but it seems a small price to pay for a newly installed large flat screen TV and free, perfect broad band wifi (both unavailable before). Besides, there is a kettle, tea/coffee making facilities, packet of biscuits every day, electric alarm clock and a very, very comfortable bed . There is also a spacious car park at the rear for the convenience of occupants of the five en suite(shower) spotlessly clean rooms. Cards are accepted but cash is preferred. As I stated in my previous review Airdrie is not the hottest place in Scotland but it is conveniently situated only some 20 min. away from Glasgow by rail or maybe 40 min from Edinburgh in the opposite direction. Driving is also very easy. If you are the kind who sleeps poorly like myself I would suggest the rooms facing the rear as the traffic can sometimes be a bit noisy in the front rooms. Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: rear rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwiewiorowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john u, Owner at Knight's Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

we thank you for your lovely comments and would welcome you back anytime .......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

I work away from home all the time & finding a B&B like the Knights Rest is a result lovely clean spacious comfortable warm rooms i needed to get away early sean was only to willing to get up and have a spot on breakfast it has secure parking a brisk 10 minute walk takes you into the town centre and a visit to one of the cheapest Wetherspoons I highly recommend the Knights Rest and whats more being a true Welsh man it is very good value for money

Room Tip: I have had Rooms 5 & 4 cannot fault either
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UsherWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john u, Owner at Knight's Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

thank you for your lovely review,we are always there for our guests....breakfast early !! if we can we will....you are always welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed at Knights Rest for 2 nights as I was attending a party nearby. My room was spacious, very comfortable bed,wide screen tv and tea /coffee making facilities, The place is immaculately clean. Breakfast is really nice also.Although my room was facing the road , the double glazing ensured there was no noise

Customer care is five star -the two hosts clearly care about ensuring guests have a pleasant experience . If they were on Four In a Bed , they'd win hands down! Highly recommended

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john u, Owner at Knight's Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

we thank you for your kind words and are so pleased you enjoyed your weekend break,its lovely when our guests take the time to talk to us.......four in a bed ,television program....we will see.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I recently had a stay at this B&B And found it a pleasant and unexpected experience. I have stayed at many B&B's in the past but found THe KNight!s Rest To be both welcoming and comfortable. The en-suite room was immaculate and had everything I needed for a very pleasant stay. The breakfasts were wonderful and served at very sensible times. Would thoroughly recommend it and would definitely stay again in that area.

Room Tip: You will not be disappointed if you choose to stay even if on motorcycle you can lock it in there ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dilligaf123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john u, Owner at Knight's Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and ceans breakfasts,we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Thank you to John and Cean for a making our weekend so lovely, room lovely with special small touches which made you feel welcome (home from home) cosy and your supply of coffee and biscutes topped up every day. The tarten carpet from entrance to landing is a Lovely touch. Food was excellent and of a very high standard, an excellent start of your day. Booked again for march next year but staying longer this time as there is so much to do and see

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyandCraig2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john u, Owner at Knight's Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

we are so happy that you both enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to seeing you both next year.it is our 5th month since we bought the guest house and we have had some lovely guests staying with us,so you are welcome anytime thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed here 29th and 30th Oct /13. I was born in the area and had a lot of suggestions for accomodation. I am so glad that we chose here. Comfortable, warm,friendly and an excellent Breakfast. If only other B and B owners would come here to stay and see how good it can be. Hosts coped with all minor problems with grace and good humour.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john u, Owner at Knight's Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

thank you for your lovely review we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you both again....ps shower door sorted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I would like to thank Cean for the hospitality shown when I stayed in September, the breakfast was to die for. When I hit the bed I was out like a light as the bed was so comfortable.
I will be staying again and cannot wait to try one of his home made scones.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john u, Owner at Knight's Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

we look forward to seeing you again,thank you for your kind words.....cean will make scones when
you come next.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airdrie hotels
1.7 mi away
No photo provided
Harty's The Guest House
#2 of 2 in Chapelhall
7 reviews
1.8 mi away
Shawlee Cottage
Shawlee Cottage
#1 of 2 in Chapelhall
164 reviews
2.9 mi away
Craigpark House
Craigpark House
#1 of 1 in Caldercruix
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Riggend Farm B&B
Riggend Farm B&B
#5 of 9 in Airdrie
14 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lochinvar Guest House
Lochinvar Guest House
#4 of 9 in Airdrie
44 reviews
0 mi away
Easter Glentore Farm
Easter Glentore Farm
#6 of 9 in Airdrie
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knight's Rest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knight's Rest Guest House

Address: 150 Clark Street, Airdrie ML6 6DZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Airdrie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Airdrie
Price Range: £30 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Knight's Rest Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian villa built in 1886, the Knight's Rest is the closest Bed & Breakfast or Guesthouse accommodation to Airdrie town centre, putting dining facilities, local shops, bars and transport links, all within strolling distance.About ten minutes walk to the train station allows convenient access to Edinburgh, or to friendly Glasgow to enjoy its superb shopping, free museums and many other cultural delights. With the M8 and other major roads close by, Stirling and Perth are also readily accessible. The not-to-be-missed Falkirk Wheel, Strathclyde Country Park and Summerlee Heritage Centre are but a few of the nearby tourist attractions within easy reach.Demonstrating our long tradition of Scottish hospitality, guests receive a warm, informative welcome in the tartan-carpeted hall and are given their own keys, allowing free access at all times. Each cosy, centrally heated room in this immaculately presented guesthouse enjoys internet access, an en-suite shower room, complimentary hospitality tray, radio alarm and colour TV. Ironing facilities and a hairdryer are available on request. Parking is off-street, free, plentiful and private, secure lockup garage for motorcycles / bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Knight's Rest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knight's Rest Guest House Airdrie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing