We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last minute break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knight's Rest Guest House
Ranked #1 of 9 Airdrie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Last minute break”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Just spend the last 3 nights here and also stayed in January.I was very surprised to see that all the rooms have been newly decorated and they all look extremely nice. I found John and Cian very pleasant and would like to thank them for there hospitality and making me feel so welcome Will be back

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W1320GGMikec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john u, Owner at Knight's Rest Guest House, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
thank you for spending the time to write the review we are pleased you enjoyed your stay see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    22
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
90
27
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This is our second stay at the guest house since John and Cean took over. They have decorated the bedrooms and now it had the "wow" factor. The bedrooms of immaculate,cosy and warm, hospitality outstanding and you are always greeted with a friendly smile. The guest house is central for everything you wish to do when staying there. 2 hour trip took us to Glenshee to see the lovely scenery and snow covered mountains. On return to a fantastic day we were greeted with a cup of coffee and one of Cean's famous cheese scones. We found breakfast cooked to perfection to the customers requirements and it was a lovely start to the day. There is plenty off street parting and looking forward to staying there again with family.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyandCraig2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john u, Owner at Knight's Rest Guest House, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
thank you so much for your review,we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My husband and I spent the weekend, Friday to Sunday, at the "Knights Rest" in Aidrie, as he had stayed there in the past, on his own, whilst visiting Glasgow and was very impressed with it. We were welcomed by John and Cean, who both go out of their way to ensure you have everything you need - nothing is a bother. Cean even makes his speciality cheese scones for his guests as a welcome treat ... Ummmm .... I can still smell them. The rooms are immaculate with En Suite facilities, large screen LCD TV, tea and coffee facilities and Wifi. Beds and wonderfully comfortable. The breakfasts are delicious, full Scottish, plus cereals, toast, teas and coffees and all cooked fresh. Just put your order in the night before and let Cean or John know what time you would like it served.

There was free parking at the back of the building and only a five minute walk to the train station. We left the car at the "Knights Rest" and took the train into Glasgow. Wonderful day out. On returning to Aidrie there is every take-away you can think of only minutes away from the guest house.

Had a wonderful weekend, definitely "home from home". Very reasonable, warm and friendly. Thank you John and Cean for making our weekend so special. Will definitely visit again and would thoroughly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john u, Owner at Knight's Rest Guest House, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
thank you for your lovely review we hope to see you soon...john,cean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Ask the question ? What do you want from a B&B?

Hospitality: A lovely welcome which stays with you for the duration of your stay.
An suite Warm Clean comfortable room with tea/coffee making facilities , large screen TV and Wi.Fi.
Good wholesome well cooked breakfast
Free off road parking
All for a reasonable price
This may read like an advert but it is my personal needs for a good B&B and although I wasn’t the one who made the booking I was delighted that it ticked all my boxes and would definitely go back if in the area.
You may have other boxes to tick but I’m sure it would fit your needs as
the proprietors go out of their way to accommodate their guests.
John and Cean (engage in conversation give all of the local information you might need and can take a good laugh even if it is at themselves.!!
They, John and Cean only took this business over in June of last year and in that short time have obviously made it their goal to make a success of it
which they are very obviously achieving and I wish them the same success for many years to come.
You’ll leave here feeling you have made some new friends.
So in short if you are looking for B&B in the Airdrie area I strongly recommend you look here first.
A message to John and Cean. keep up doing what you obviously do best

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetcello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john u, Owner at Knight's Rest Guest House, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
well what can we say...wow what a review we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay,and would welcome you back with open arms...thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Had a fantastic stay at "Knights Rest" and can highly recommend it. Spotless clean, warm and cosy, lovely decor with all the home comforts you could desire. Plenty off street parking spaces, which made for an easy life. Breakfast was delicious as were Cean's homemade cheese scones, and he even gave us some home with us too. John and Cean seem to be cut out for the B&B business (which is a rare treat these days). They were very helpful with directions etc and are full of fun. Actually, they are the type of people you would like to have as good friends. We all had a fab. fun time and will return if we're ever in this area again. We would like to wish you good luck in your new business venture, boys.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cali77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john u, Owner at Knight's Rest Guest House, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
we thank you for your lovely review and really enjoyed having you all.glad you enjoyed ceans scones and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Fantastic time.. Cean made us cheese scones.. Yummy.. I travelled with my partner 10 yr old son and my mum.. We did not want to leave . Breakfast was lovely as much as I wanted but not warmed up buffet .. Cereal toast full english.. Great value overall .. We will return, definitely this year.. Cheers cean and John x

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jep23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john u, Owner at Knight's Rest Guest House, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
we both thank you for your lovely review and are happy you enjoyed your stay and ceans cheese scones, looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I have stayed here a couple of times now and wouldn't hesitate to stay again should i be working in this area in the future. The en-suite rooms are decorated to a very high standard, spotlessly clean with tea/coffee making facilities and the beds are extremely comfy (perfect for a great nights kip). There is a varied choice of cereal or fruit for breakfast and the cooked breakfast is done to perfection no matter how you like it. John and Cean are the most accommodating and friendly hosts and are able to offer advice, if needed, on places to visit and the best way to get there. Good luck on getting your 3* gold award, I'm sure it won't be too long, you deserve it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dezzydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john u, Owner at Knight's Rest Guest House, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
thank you for your lovely review,we try our best and we really enjoy guests like yourself coming back,look forward to the next time ......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airdrie
3.7 mi away
Mondo Hotel
Mondo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coatbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Bellshill) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Cumbernauld) Hotel
1.7 mi away
Shawlee Cottage
Shawlee Cottage
#1 of 2 in Chapelhall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knight's Rest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knight's Rest Guest House

Property: Knight's Rest Guest House
Address: 150 Clark Street, Airdrie ML6 6DZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Airdrie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Airdrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Knight's Rest Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian villa built in 1886, the Knight's Rest is the closest Bed & Breakfast or Guesthouse accommodation to Airdrie town centre, putting dining facilities, local shops, bars and transport links, all within strolling distance.About ten minutes walk to the train station allows convenient access to Edinburgh, or to friendly Glasgow to enjoy its superb shopping, free museums and many other cultural delights. With the M8 and other major roads close by, Stirling and Perth are also readily accessible. The not-to-be-missed Falkirk Wheel, Strathclyde Country Park and Summerlee Heritage Centre are but a few of the nearby tourist attractions within easy reach.Demonstrating our long tradition of Scottish hospitality, guests receive a warm, informative welcome in the tartan-carpeted hall and are given their own keys, allowing free access at all times. Each cosy, centrally heated room in this immaculately presented guesthouse enjoys internet access, an en-suite shower room, complimentary hospitality tray, radio alarm and colour TV. Ironing facilities and a hairdryer are available on request. Parking is off-street, free, plentiful and private, secure lockup garage for motorcycles / bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Knight's Rest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knight's Rest Guest House Airdrie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing