We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent - Went out of their way to accommodate us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knight's Rest Guest House
Ranked #1 of 9 Airdrie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent - Went out of their way to accommodate us”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed at the Knight's Rest whilst we were attending the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow. The guest house is but a short walk from the train station, which is a 20 minute ride into the centre of Glasgow. John and Cean went out of their way to accommodate us and the other guests who were attending events at the Games and, unlike many other B&Bs and large hotel chains, had not increased their prices at this time. They were organised, the facilities were excellent and breakfast was always on time and exactly as ordered.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Valerie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john u, Owner at Knight's Rest Guest House, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay,and would love to see you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    22
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
90
28
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Ruislip, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at this guest house for the duration of the Commonwealth Games fortnight. It is ideally located for travelling into central Glasgow which was useful as I was a volunteer at the Games. Room was lovely, clean and newly decorated. We received a very warm welcome from John and Cean and we quickly came to regard it as our home away from home. The facilities of the guest house are excellent, free car park, free and fast wifi, tea and coffee facilities in the room. Breakfasts were wonderful, always freshly cooked with plenty of choice. We were spoilt with John's fresh fruit salad and Cean's freshly-baked cheese scones. The owners also had some really good recommendations for places to visit and eat which was really handy on my days off. Overall, fantastic, friendly and have no hesitation in strongly recommending.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraAndSteve2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john u, Owner at Knight's Rest Guest House, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
so glad to have met you both.....you were like one of the family,hope to see you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at this Guest House in order to be able to get to Hampden Park for the Games. It was the best b and b we have experienced , not only for its customer service ,location , cleanliness, free car parking and wifi and food , but in the integrity of the owners who did not increase their prices during this demanding period, when all others did! Convenient for landmarks such as Falkirk and Loch Lomond as well as Glasgow itself , a quick walk to the station and 30 mins is all it takes. You could not wish for a friendlier and caring management , they went out of their way to accommodate extra days for us too. Cannot recommend it more highly and wish them good luck in the future for their business. C and T Australia

Room Tip: Back of the house is quieter .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsCarolD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john u, Owner at Knight's Rest Guest House, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
we are so pleased carol that we were able help you enjoy the games,we enjoyed having you both look forward to seeing you again cean n john
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

"Traditional" welcome from John & Cean. Keeping to their usual tariff was a great bonus during this very busy time and was really appreciated, as was the extra mile they went to supplying Fresh Fruit Salad, Greek Yoghurt & Pastries, in addition to cooked breakfasts. Then off to the games with the Cean' s Cheese Scones!
Rooms very clean; thank you both for making our stay at "KR" so comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete_Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john u, Owner at Knight's Rest Guest House, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and i must say since we bought the guest house july 2013 the time of the commonwealth games in our house with all the guests was fantastic....so ill take your review to say a big THANK YOU to everyone who stayed with us..you were all GREAT!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had a lovely stay with John and Cean. The room was clean and had all the amenities one would expect. Breakfast was very good and was served in a friendly atmosphere where guests could chat. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P_W_Nelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john u, Owner at Knight's Rest Guest House, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
we are pleased you both enjoyed your stay and enjoyed your trip around scotland..thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great welcome from John and Cean. Having a food intolerance can be a problem but was made to feel like a "normal" person. Nothing was too much trouble. Room spotless and a very comfortable sleep. Will definitely stay again if I'm ever in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aileen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john u, Owner at Knight's Rest Guest House, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
so happy you enjoyed your stay and the games...hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We could not fault our stay. Very reasonably priced when everywhere else were charging a fortune during the Commonwealth Games. A very warm welcome, immaculately clean rooms, bedding and bathrooms. Fresh towels and toiletries provided. The breakfast was excellent, having a choice of absolutely anything we wanted as well as a been able to chose the time. Nothing was too much trouble, their hospitality was beyond reproach and I would recommend the Knights Rest to anyone. £3 taxi fare to the nearest station and straight into Glasgow, an excellent location.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the lower rate of room cost .. This does not detract from the quality and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john u, Owner at Knight's Rest Guest House, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
well what can we say....wow thanks for a great review,glad you enjoyed your stay john n cean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airdrie
3.7 mi away
Mondo Hotel
Mondo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coatbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Bellshill) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Cumbernauld) Hotel
1.7 mi away
Shawlee Cottage
Shawlee Cottage
#1 of 2 in Chapelhall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knight's Rest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knight's Rest Guest House

Property: Knight's Rest Guest House
Address: 150 Clark Street, Airdrie ML6 6DZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Airdrie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Airdrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Knight's Rest Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian villa built in 1886, the Knight's Rest is the closest Bed & Breakfast or Guesthouse accommodation to Airdrie town centre, putting dining facilities, local shops, bars and transport links, all within strolling distance.About ten minutes walk to the train station allows convenient access to Edinburgh, or to friendly Glasgow to enjoy its superb shopping, free museums and many other cultural delights. With the M8 and other major roads close by, Stirling and Perth are also readily accessible. The not-to-be-missed Falkirk Wheel, Strathclyde Country Park and Summerlee Heritage Centre are but a few of the nearby tourist attractions within easy reach.Demonstrating our long tradition of Scottish hospitality, guests receive a warm, informative welcome in the tartan-carpeted hall and are given their own keys, allowing free access at all times. Each cosy, centrally heated room in this immaculately presented guesthouse enjoys internet access, an en-suite shower room, complimentary hospitality tray, radio alarm and colour TV. Ironing facilities and a hairdryer are available on request. Parking is off-street, free, plentiful and private, secure lockup garage for motorcycles / bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Knight's Rest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knight's Rest Guest House Airdrie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing