We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great History, grounds and wildlife friendly”

Huntingtower Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
US$40.18*
and up
Historic Scotland Explorer Pass
Ranked #6 of 64 things to do in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A tale of two families - Huntingtower Castle was a lordly residence for 300 years, from the 15th to the 18th century. It is associated with two noble families: the Ruthvens (later earls of Gowrie) and, following their downfall in 1600, the Murrays (earls of Tullibardine and later dukes of Atholl). Prior to 1600, Huntingtower was known as the Place of Ruthven.Huntingtower has hosted some famous visitors, and been associated with some dramatic events. Mary Queen of Scots stayed here in 1565, during her honeymoon with Lord Darnley. In 1582, Mary’s son, James VI, was held here against his will by the 1st Earl of Gowrie, in a famous episode known as the ‘Ruthven Raid’. With the downfall of the 3rd Earl in 1600, in an equally bizarre episode called the ‘Gowrie Conspiracy’, the Ruthvens were disinherited and their forfeited castle was renamed Huntingtower.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great History, grounds and wildlife friendly”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

we loved this little gem- very intact, nice garden, dog friendly, and great info about its resident wildlife too- bats are brilliant!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank eamhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    66
    15
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful castle”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Beautiful castle and definitely worth visiting. We've been there with family and everybody had a great time. We liked the most Dorothea's story - very romantic. :) Friendly staff, nice wee shop and another great use of Historic Scotland Membership Card. Place highly recommended.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Thathanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great castle! Worth a visit”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We visited the castle today and had a fantastic time! Lovely girl in the shop - full of information and told my daughter a few ghostly tales after - thank you. A lot of stairs but a great view if you can manage up. Very informative boards full of stories and facts placed around castle. Was great! We will be back in the summer to enjoy the picnic area and another splendid walk around a charming castle.

Helpful?
1 Thank Samnbob73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great little side trip.”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Full of history and a ghost! I love places like this,at one point I was in there all alone and you could fill the eyes on you! Haha
Well worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DENCFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A low cost, crowd-free way to experience a true Scotland castle.”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Scotland is full of castles - loads of them, in fact. From medieval ruin to posh estates, there's no shortage of castles to see, but Huntingtower is one of my favorites. Located near Perth, Huntingtower is a smaller, quieter 15th century castle that's well preserved and gives visitors a great sense of what castle life really felt like. The staff in the visitors shop is quite helpful and the castle is a manageable size for self-guided tours. Unlike other attractions, you pretty much have full access to the entire building, including the rooftop, from which you'll experience lovely views of the countryside. With no elevators and lots of stairs, this castle is not ideal for someone with walking limitations, but my young children had no trouble navigating the steep tower stairs or the roof access.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LishoChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Huntingtower Castle also viewed

Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Huntingtower Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing