We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fine dining at an excellent price”
Review of Opus One - CLOSED

Opus One
Price range: US$18 - US$35
Cuisines: British, Mediterranean, European, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Opus One offers the finest ingredients from Perthshire's larder, creatively prepared and executed with meticulous precision and flair. The restaurant, located in the New County Hotel, Perth is furnished in contemporary style; comfortable and elegant. Our knowledgeable waiting staff ensure friendly yet polished service."...we'd just enjoyed an absolutely superb meal in the hotel's much lauded Opus One restaurant (two AA Rosettes no less) and a couple of drinks in the comfortable hotel bar… helpful and friendly staff and a location that couldn't be more central. All in all, a very pleasant hotel with absolutely outstanding food and a great base for a night out in the Fair City. "Shaun McLaren - Scotland on Sunday"(Opus One) has won several prestigious awards. There’s a wealth of choice on the menu offering a perfect end to the day and evening.…I can still taste as I think about it." - Elaine Maslin, Press & Journal, May 2012 "A complimentary amuse bouche of celeriac and thyme veloute with a haggis ball cemented the Auld Alliance from the start. The Arran elephant garlic soup with Granny smith apple was delicate, subtle and unctuous. My locally-foraged plum tarte tatin … promised much – and delivered; while the green tea pannacotta with vanilla sorbet and dark chocolate sauce was scrumptious." "In our chic surroundings the waiting staff proved the most pleasant of fleeting company." - Steve Donn, Daily Mail, November 2011 ("Fair City is flair city when it comes to dining")At Opus One we left satisfied and impressed with the food…. Wow! Even now, my mouth waters at the thought.\\"- Chris Mooney, Daily Record, November 2011
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fine dining at an excellent price”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

varied menu, delicious fine dining 3 course meal, lovely restaurant and romantic ambiance, attentive staff.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank KKQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    27
    8
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The restaurant was lovely decorated. The service and food excellent. What was nice and very welcoming was the prices of wines . Been to many restaurants who rip you off for bottles of wine , starting price £14.95 which considering the quality of the restaurant I felt was very good.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chicoEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The quality of the food here is very high indeed. Very well cooked and presented. The restaurent was very busy for a cold night in January with people making the most of their good special offers. They had to apologise to us for the delay in starting our meal as they seemed to be busier than they'd expected. It gave us a lovely relaxed evening to really enjoy the good food, but we did overhear others complaining about slow service but it wasn't a problem at all.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very plesant surprise”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights and decided to dine in on a first night as we read a few very good reviews about the restaurant. Still, food, service, ambiance and value for money exceeded all our expectations. Good and very reasonably priced wine list. We decided to dine in on the second night as we were very intrigued to try the rest of the menu. We were not disappointed! True 5 stars experience!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zorica v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fine dining experience in Perth!”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I didn't realise this restaurant was here which I feel bad about as it was very good! There aren't many fine dining experiences in Perth so was great to discover this one. Located in the new county hotel, they also have a more pub like restaurant called Gavin's bistro.
The 3 of us all had 3 courses - all very tasty and portions perfect size.
Great wine list.
Manager Jalal was a perfect host.
Some other waitresses could do with further training to tighten up service I.e fill up empty wine glasses, remove bread plates with main plates.
Would be great to visit again for a special occasion as it has the extra something. Will be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Opus One also viewed

Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing