We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bothy

The Bothy
Ranked #23 of 196 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$23
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcoming Scottish restaurant in PerthLocated on Kinnoull Street, The Bothy Perth is a relaxed restaurant serving traditional cuisine made with Scottish produce. The warm and homely atmosphere is the perfect place to relax with friends or family and to enjoy home-cooked comfort food. Child-friendly and wheelchair accessible, The Bothy Perth is ideally situated for visitors to the Perth Playhouse as well as Perth Theatre.Traditional dishes & hearty foodThe restaurant chefs use the best Scottish produce to offer a varied menu with classic items like Marshall’s macaroni glazed with strong cheddar cheese; freshly battered haddock with tartare sauce, crushed peas and a ‘poke’ (‘portion’, to you non-Scots!) of chips; or pub lunch favourite, the 100% Scottish beef burger with hand cut chips, tomato salsa and pickle.Perth town centre accessibility & transport linksThe Bothy is on Kinnoull Street in the centre of Perth and a brisk 10 minute walk from Perth train station. Paid parking is available in the multi-storey car park along from the restaurant and several bus stops can also be found nearby.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you’ve got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Expensive but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Liked: The food, the décor, the bathrooms.
Disliked: The prices, the slow service.

If money is not an issue, go ahead and have a great meal!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AparnaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie F, General Manager at The Bothy, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Good morning and thank you for your feedback. We apreciate both postive and constructive feedback from our guests. Thank you for recognising our wonderful food and beautiful venue.

We hope to see you again soon!

Many thanks,

Jackie Fergus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    630
    375
    152
    94
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Wee Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We visited "The Bothy" when passing through Perth for a bite and a few drinks. The service was great. All the staff were very attentive and friendly. The food was fab too, we were served quickly and the meals didn't take long to arrive at our table!
The decor was lovely with a nice mix of contemporary style and Scottish tradition. The place had a nice homely feel, but the atmosphere was still lively.
I would definitely recommend this place, and will be sure to return for another visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SuzeScrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
755 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Good English Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was a very busy restaurant which had a cozy feeling to,it
The food was good.Had my first steak pie and it was hot and very tasty.
The server was very nice and answered our questions in a professional
Manner

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bradyboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie F, General Manager at The Bothy, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. The Bothy is a very special venue with a wonderful ambience for our guests to sit back and enjoy. I am delighted to hear that our very popular steak pie met your expectations. I shall pass on your postive feedback to our team.

Thanks again,

Jackie Fergus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

we visited here for lunch recently this was our second time at the restaraunt and on both occasions we have found the staff and the food to be very good the seating is very comfortable and the menu has a good choice and it is reasonably priced the atmosphere is buzzing and we would definately try again when in town

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank norman a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie F, General Manager at The Bothy, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Good aftenoon and thank you for this wonderful review!
We do pride ourselves in creating a great ambience for our guests to enjoy. The menu has great variety of delicious dishes and as you mentioned, we are very reasonably priced too! It's always a great compliment when hearing of our returning guests having a wonderful time.

We look forward to your next visit.

Many thanks,

Jackie Fergus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great cocktail making class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I organised a friend's hen party and as part of the weekend booked a cocktail master class at The Bothy. Jacquie was really helpful from the offset and helped organise evertything. On the night Sean ran the masterclass. Lovely guy, really good fun and patient!!! We also had a buffet and the food and service were excellent. In summary, if you are in Perth go vist The Bothy

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nettywebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie F, General Manager at The Bothy, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Good morning and thank you for the wonderful 5 star review!! What a fantastic evening you all had!

Shaun certainly enjoyed showing you his cocktail making talents, I hope you all manged to learn a few tips for the perfect cocktail!
We love hosting hen parties here at The Bothy and offer great packages for both food and cocktails! Thanks again for this super feedback, I shall share your kind words with our team.

We look forward to your next visit.

Many thanks,

Jackie Fergus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bothy also viewed

Perth, Perth and Kinross
 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Bothy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing