We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bothy is Awfy good!”
Review of The Bothy

The Bothy
Ranked #20 of 204 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcoming Scottish restaurant in PerthLocated on Kinnoull Street, The Bothy Perth is a relaxed restaurant serving traditional cuisine made with Scottish produce. The warm and homely atmosphere is the perfect place to relax with friends or family and to enjoy home-cooked comfort food. Child-friendly and wheelchair accessible, The Bothy Perth is ideally situated for visitors to the Perth Playhouse as well as Perth Theatre.Traditional dishes & hearty foodThe restaurant chefs use the best Scottish produce to offer a varied menu with classic items like Marshall’s macaroni glazed with strong cheddar cheese; freshly battered haddock with tartare sauce, crushed peas and a ‘poke’ (‘portion’, to you non-Scots!) of chips; or pub lunch favourite, the 100% Scottish beef burger with hand cut chips, tomato salsa and pickle.Perth town centre accessibility & transport linksThe Bothy is on Kinnoull Street in the centre of Perth and a brisk 10 minute walk from Perth train station. Paid parking is available in the multi-storey car park along from the restaurant and several bus stops can also be found nearby.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you’ve got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

With local lagers on tap from the Inveralmond Brewery, The Bothy mixes, local traditional Scottish with a mix of the modern.
Having frequented here for lunches, snacks, drinks, dinners and christmas lunches, I cannot fault The Bothy and the staff.
With meats from local supplier Simon Howie, the food is a good quality.
Having eaten lunches here-soup and a sandwich deal, afternoon snacks like king prawns / Stornaway black pudding and chorizo bake or having a sit down meal at christmas time with work colleagues. The food has always been high quality and reasonably priced too.
Local beers and spirits are also reasonably priced for a restaurant/bar which is tastefully decorated in leathers and woods.
The only downfall, is the function suite downstairs. Originally small and intamit, the room was redecorated in floor to ceiling mirrors a few years back. It's not to my taste and a bit eccentric to say the least!
The staff are helpful, giving advice on menu choices and drinks, without being overly attentive.
One of the most homely places in Perth to eat!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kat5383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie F, General Manager at The Bothy, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Good afternoon and thank you for this fabulous 5 * review.

I can see from your feedback that you're a very loyal guest and have tried a bit of everything we offer here at The Bothy!

Both the food and drinks menus have been created very carefully to ensure we give our guests the best locally produced products daily. With Perth being the gateway to the highlands, we are rather spoilt!
Thank you once again for this indepth review of our beautiful venue.

We're currently filling up quickly for Christmas 2014!! Get in touch and I will send you our brochure - 01738 449 792


Jackie Fergus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,394)
There are newer reviews for The Bothy
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

675 - 679 of 1,394 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

8 of us walked past on route to another restaurant and saw this place packed at 9 on a Monday night ? Despite hAving not booked we were welcomed a table set up and drinks served quickly ... All enjoyed the starters and mains service from Vicki was excellent and we ll definitely be back on next visit to Perth ... Try the muscles .. Sorry mussels

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shorts2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie F, General Manager at The Bothy, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Good morning and thank you for this wonderful 5* review, Vikki will be thrilled to hear your feedback!

We are delighted you stumbled across us and had a great time. The Bothy is a fabulous venue and the place to be in Perth. We serve food from 10am -10pm 7 days.

We are very lucky to have both old and new guests filling our restaurant both day and night.

Come back soon!
Jackie Fergus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Its in an Historic building near the centre of Perth but not easy to find if you don't know Perth .
The legend above the door says it was where the famous Grouse was once distilled!
The Meal was good but not excellent as was the service .
I enjoyed it and I thought the bill was reasonable till I saw they charged £4.95 for a litre of Spring water ! I find that ridiculous, somewhat insulting and it would stop me going back.
We all know what the supermarkets charge and a mark up of that magnitude is not acceptable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Moonlighter88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie F, General Manager at The Bothy, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

We take all feedback onboard and discuss the outcomes at our weekly manager's meeting. We are great believers in taking onboard our guest's points and making changes where required.

Thanks again,

Jackie Fergus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Stopped in for some lunch having walked past and liked the look of the place. Lovely atmosphere of leather sofas and book shelves but done in a contemporary fashion. The staff were lovely (I had no cash and was paying with credit card. They were not able to add a tip and they were so nice about it, it was very impressive) and the food was good. Thoroughly recommend this place for summer or winter, lunch or dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank andrew d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie F, General Manager at The Bothy, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Good afternoon and thank you for this wonderful review of The Bothy.

We are very lucky to have such a fabulous team who work hard everyday to give our guests a fantastic experience. The venue itself is steeped in history and has a great atmosphere for guests to sit back and enjoy.

Thanks again,

Jackie Fergus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The bar/restaurant is large and spacious with wonderful leather seats - tables are widely spaced. Staff were excellent and although they got some of our order wrong (computer error), they were generous at fixing the mistake. Food was good and service was quick. A great atmosphere. I would recommend it as a good place to try.

1  Thank Josie084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie F, General Manager at The Bothy, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Good morning and thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at The Bothy.
We do pride ourselves in delivering wonderful food and service to our guests daily. As you mentioned , the venue itself is very special and a joy to work in everyday!

Thanks again for this wonderful feedback, I shall share your kind words with the team!

Kind regards,

Jackie Fergus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bothy also viewed

 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Bothy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing