We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves a Michelin star!”

The Roost Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 204 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$63
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Tim & Anna Dover work together at the restaurant, Anna is in charge of table service and Tim exercises his skills as Head Chef in the kitchen, and in his words..."My wife and I opened the Roost Restaurant in the village of Kintillo near Bridge of Earn, just outside Perth, in the summer of 2008. Five years on the restaurant is firmly established in the area and we are known for our extensive use of Scottish ingredients, which I prepare in the classical French style that I have learnt in kitchens at home and abroad throughout my career.We are proud of the strong relationships we have developed with Scottish food and drink suppliers and always produce a locally sourced, sustainable and seasonal menu.Our dedication doesn't end in the kitchen as we enjoy fishing and foraging for our own ingredients - including wild garlic, alexanders and chanterelles - many of which appear on the menus throughout the year.But nothing is more sustainable than our new kitchen garden that features vegetables and herbs used in the restaurant. Throughout the summer months we are able to use our own supply of herbs, salads and vegetables such as potatoes, chard, baby carrots, beetroots, leeks, broad beans and purple sprouting broccoli while flowers are also grown for the restaurant."
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Deserves a Michelin star!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Amazing food at a sweet little restaurant on the outskirts of Perth. As soon as we walked through the door we could tell we were in for a special evening. Very friendly and welcoming staff and outstanding service from all. The food was exquisite and beautifully presented by the two chefs at this remarkable bijoux restaurant. They absolutely out did themselves and without a doubt deserves a Michelin star!
If you want fantastic food and a warm friendly atmosphere go to the roost for a truly special evening.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LeahDawns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    27
    11
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice little restaurant”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This little restuarant is a little hidden. Great food. Very friendly and attentive stuff.
They only have a few tables and often they are booked.
The food is very tasty. They also have a midday menue. Which was an excellent choice.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bernd_Wand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Destination for foodies”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Enjoyed a lovely drive to this restaurant through beautiful countryside, and the food was well worth it. Charming small restaurant with high standards and fine dining. Great choices of tasty food, pleasant attentive service, and nice wines. A convivial atmosphere make this a "must" to return to. A great addition in Perthshire!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank iris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A joy off the beaten track”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

It is a small restaurant at Kintillo by Bridge of Earn. Seats about 24, and has a great atmosphere.
Welcome is friendly and genuine.It is a short menu, but what you get is excellent . The wine list is more extensive, but I would have liked to have seen a few wines around the £19.00 mark, that were drinkable. Tim in the kitchen produces an excellent meal, at the end of which you feel content, and not "over eaten" Iced water is served, and bottled water is not "pushed". However I do find it strange that in Scotland, where the streams and rivers run with such freshness, that the sparkling bottled water is Italian. It is certainly best to book, and having warned them in advance of some food allergies, nothing was too much trouble, and that was also excellent. Thank you Anna and Tim.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VikingScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Brilliant Family Lunch.”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had a beautiful family(Birthday) lunch here with my sister-in law and family,the meal was excellent as was the service by very friendly and helpful staff,would highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 57quine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Roost Restaurant also viewed

Perth, Perth and Kinross
 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Roost Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing