We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always happy - the special evenings are just great”
Review of Cafe Tabou

Cafe Tabou
Ranked #14 of 204 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Cafe Tabou is an established, award-winning French brasserie located in Perth city centre’s vibrant Cafe Quarter. A fine dining restaurant, it is one of Scotland's most acclaimed restaurants of its type and undoubtedly a place where fine food, great service and a wonderful atmosphere blend to create a unique day or evening venue. Marek Michalak, the Executive Chef and co-owner was awarded a prestigious Master Chef of Great Britain accreditation in 2015 and the loyal customer base appreciates the efficient service, delicious seasonal menus and wonderful selection of fine wines.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Always happy - the special evenings are just great”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Over the years we have enjoyed many meals at Cafe Tabou but never managed to make one their special dining evenings. Recently however we have been to the champagne dinner and the chocolate dinner. Both were just great, lovely food, friendly, attentive and generous staff and a buzzing atmosphere make this one of our favourite places for a night out.

Our only slight disappointment on our last visit was that were charged for coffee when this was clearly included in the dinner package.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Basilbig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    144
    34
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and great ambience”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We went at luchtime and selected from the set menu. It was excellent value and the portion size is more than ample. If you can, try the blue cheese creme brûlée ....it is gorgeous. Good wine selections too and not over priced. Staff very friendly and there is a lovely relaxed French feel about the place
I can't wait to go back!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great dining experience”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I recently visited this small French Restaurant during a trip to Perth. We had a great meal which was extremely tasty, presented well by very courteous and accommodating staff. I would highly recommend this eatery to everyone who enjoys good food and conviviality.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Having had a number of really positive experiences here in recent years, this restaurant is a shadow of it's former self. The food was average at best - my wife had to return the duck as not cooked properly and the service was also pretty poor.

We took friends from Plymouth here and felt let down by the experience and wish we had chosen somewhere else.

Would not recommend Cafe Tabou if you are looking for a good meal in Perth. There are much better options.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunkeld, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Birthday let down!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Visited as a treat for my son's birthday. The starter of mussels was served in some kind of gloop curry sauce, hardly French? The main courses arrived 5 mins after the starter was cleared. Mine has the salmon special which was served again with the same sauce, very heavy returned 3/4 uneaten. My son had the bass served in a watery tomato sauce again returned uneaten. We both felt sick afterwards and had to make the expense of taxi home as we were feeling unwell. I complained about the main courses and the fact they were served far too soon after the starter but hardly received an acknowledgement. Will not return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank chrissieq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Tabou also viewed

Perth, Perth and Kinross
 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Cafe Tabou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing