We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of history and warmth”
Review of The Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Station Hotel
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The hotel was as expected; a little tired in places but warm, welcoming, plenty of space and great value when compared to a Travel Lodge, which has no space or attentive staff. My grown up children and partners were welcomed when they visited with games and fun in the foyer - table football and a quiz, which was not frowned upon. They were made welcome in the perfectly decorated dining room - elegant and warm. Breakfast was a delight every morning, and although travelling alone, I did not feel uncomfortable - always daily papers to read at breakfast, with such friendly attentive staff. The room was comfortable, but no view which I guess I could have asked to change but I was only there to sleep and relax so it wasn't a problem. My son was getting married and my daughter in law got dressed and left from the hotel with me on the morning of the wedding which again the staff were happy to accommodate. I would stay there again as great value for money and plenty of character and history

Room Tip: Ask for a nice view of the grounds - I will if I go there again
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (690)
There are newer reviews for The Station Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed at the station hotel as we were going to something in the concert hall so Good location about 10 mins walk. Hotel itself is huge built in 1888 with the old fashioned wood revolving front door and plenty of charm . Yes it is an old hotel and as previous reviews have said there are parts ( mainly corridor skirting) that could do with a lick of paint , but I think this adds to the charm of the place. The main reception and bar is modern but in keeping with the style . All staff we met were friendly and helpful. We had a massive bedroom and bathroom which was spotless but if your looking for a bog standard chain hotel this is certainly not it . Nice touch with bottled water in our room to. We did have dinner at the hotel which although nice , i would say was not up to restaurant standard, and although we got the special price was not really a saving and limited choice. only thing that let this hotel down and would make such a difference , so would like to see that improved , we never made it for breakfast so can't comment on that. We also sat on the comfy couches after we returned from concert hall and had a drink , played a few of the games they had and you can even play musical instruments, (if you have any with you ) and no one minded at all , very chilled and relaxed . I would stay here again as thoroughly enjoyed our experience .

Room Tip: We had an executive room , bathroom gorgeous
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kathdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

A nice clean welcoming room (number 32). I thought the extras gave a nice touch, for example the chocolates and bottle of water. There were lots of spaces to relax around the hotel. We found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast offered a good range for all tastes. Thank you for a lovely stay, the hotel had everything we needed during our weekend in Scotland. Very handy location just outside the railway station when travelling around Scotland. It may be tired in places, but effort hand been made to make all areas pleasant and welcoming.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 701WendyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Hotel is old and a bit tired but so would I if I had been around for as long, room was very clean and spacious and not a lot of noise considering it is next to station, for the cost I cant fault in any way.

Room Tip: Ask for room at front of hotel for a better outlook
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank iscott1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed here for one night in April 2014.

The hotel is large and has a car park to the rear which is free if you are resident.

It can do with an overall freshening up, but fundamentally its a nice building with a lovely large wide staircase in the centre.

We stayed in room 74, it didn't have much of a view but the room was extremely spacious and had a lovely large modern bathroom. Nice sized tv and a digital radio were handy.

Cant comment on food as we didnt eat in the hotel but we did use the bar which is well furnished and reasonably priced.

Overall this is an old fashioned hotel with plenty character, yes the paintwork in hallways could be better, yes the sofas are getting on a bit, but overall it was more interesting than the typical modern size minimalist hotels that we normally stay in.

Bonus was we only paid £42 thru laterooms for a double room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saki69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Well checked in An was offered room 58. This smelt of smoking and was untidy and the bathroom ceiling was pot marked. This room should be avoided like the plague. Colleague was in another room and as a result of complaining we both changed rooms.

There must be better hotels to stay at in Perth.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Booked here as stayed some years ago and loved it. Grossly overpriced, the smallest shower and hand basin ever. Dinner in a cold empty dining room slow and one of party returned theirs. Unusual not to have breakfast included in room price which was very high. Skylight above my head woke me at 6 with sun streaming in! Staff appear to be overworked but try hard. Breakfast well cooked but poor choice of breads.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank 186534James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.5 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
1,108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
957 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
0.1 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#9 of 18 in Perth
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
New County Hotel
New County Hotel
#16 of 18 in Perth
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Hotel

Address: Leonard Street, Perth PH2 8HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Price Range: £55 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Station Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a grand Victorian mansion, the Station Hotel is situated in Perth centre, next to Perth Railway Station. The impressive hotel offers spacious rooms and Scottish breakfasts. Traditional cooked breakfasts are served daily in the bright and airy dining room. Light continental options are also available, including freshly squeezed juices and gourmet coffees. The elegant rooms are individually decorated, and free Wi-Fi is accessible throughout. Some rooms have scenic views across the landscaped grounds, and all feature a private bathroom. Just a 5-minute walk from Perth centre, the Station Hotel is a 10-minute walk from the Perth Theatre and Concert Hall. There is free on-site parking, and the River Tay is half a mile away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Station Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing