We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel but ....” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Station Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Station Hotel
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Perth
S-E England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel but ....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

As you exit Perth Station, you see this lovely red sandstone building sitting in beautiful grounds. And it's a few minutes' walk from the beautiful River Tay and the historic centre of Perth. Wow, we thought, what a great start to our holiday.

We went inside to register and found a small queue of fellow-guests at the reception desk - but no member of staff there. Various guests went hunting, unsuccessfully, for a receptionist and it was about 15 minutes before one appeared (this at about 1pm).

The hotel lobby was shabby and poorly decorated. However, when we got to our room (86) we found it even more shabby with cheap inadequate furnishings.

Our shower room was tiny: you have to lean over the WC to use the very small washbasin. There was nowhere to put toiletries or clothes - not even a hook on the door. The shower unit was good but there was nowhere to put the soap.

Continental breakfast was good, apart from the poor coffee. The staff were pleasant.

What a great pity that this lovely building, with splendid staircase and great location, has been allowed to decay slowly.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LordClyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    204
    149
    91
    80
See reviews for
87
247
60
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is a review solely of my attempts to get two cups of coffee in the Garden Bar of The Station Hotel, Perth, Scotland. I did not stay in the hotel nor eat there.

I was dropping a friend off at Perth station after a week's walking holiday in Aviemore. We were early and so decided to have a coffee in The Station Hotel and ended up in its Garden Bar at 11.15 am. There was man behind the bar, busy sorting out some money in a cashbox. "Give me two minutes, please" he said as we approached the bar. We sat down, feeling a trifle unwelcome. After a couple of minutes, the man finished his work and asked what we would like. "Two coffees, please." "Yes, I can get those for you," he replied and left the bar. Five minutes later, there was a rattle of crockery and he was back - with two empty cups, a jug of milk and some sugar, but no coffee. He disappeared again. After another couple of minutes, he reappeared carrying a couple of salt and pepper dispensers, which he put behind the bar. He then said something to us that I didn't quite catch; it may have been "Coffee is coming, the percolator is heating." He disappeared yet again, this time forever (from our perspective). We waited and waited. My friend's train was at 12.02 pm and at 11.40 am we decided just to leave the premises.

Make of this little story what you will.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheProfessor34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

I'm 21yrs old and have stayed in Perth my entire life but never been here before. Myself, my mother and my six month old son were going to Edinburgh for the day but missed the train, so rather than pay extortionate prices in the train station cafe for poor quality meals, we chose to go across to the hotel instead!

Upon arriving we were greeted by the most sour faced receptionist I've ever witnessed. We asked her if we could go in to the bar area to eat...to which she sort of mumbled to herself, said no and then ushered us to the couches in the foyer to eat!

She then just vanished and eventually when she returned my mum complained and we moved in to the bar area.

After some confusion that she had no lemonade (odd that reception staff were also acting as bar staff) I asked for water. Clearly there was lemonade on draft as we could see it! We both ordered 'two poached eggs on toast' for £5.99 - assuming it was going to be two eggs, one of each bit of toast...what appeared (after TWENTY minutes) was two of the smallest eggs I've ever seen on ONE slice of toast.

As I'd this hadnt annoyed us enough, the bread was soggy and the eggs tasted of vinegar from the way they had been cooked.


Most certainly need to fire the receptionist and chef and reconsider the decor!

First and last time we will ever be there.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StacyCoopsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

This has to be one of the worse places I have stayed in a long time. The restaurant staff was rude and weren’t very nice to deal with, we sent our food back and had to order something else which was also very bad. What restaurant kitchen can’t cook a burger and chips or egg and chips? I don’t hold much confidence in them. The burger was burnt to a crisp; the eggs were returned but with the same chips as was with the burger so they were cold. And worse of all we were the only people in the restaurant so wasn’t like they were busy with orders. The guy in the bar at the back was more interested in checking his phone then serving customers. He hasn’t got a clue what drinks are and went to serve my aunt a run when she asked for a brandy, it took another customer to point it out to him. The manager (or what we think was the manager) was rude and was always making jokes at the customers expense but to the customer themselves. The staff seemed terrified of him. The place needs a serious overhaul, a clean-up and redecoration. The corridors smelt quite bad, the carpet in all the corridors was bunched up from age and the floors were badly uneven which made it difficult to walk along. The room we were in was obviously a twin room with a third bed shoved into it. The room was too small to accommodate three adults and I think it would have been too small to accommodate two adults and a child. Also the room was freezing all the time. I will not stay here EVER again.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itsmeocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed due to it's location to the train station, as we were travelling to Glasgow for the Commonwealth games and wanted to avoid the exorbitant charges in Glasgow. The Hotel is an old 'Victorian' style building. We booked an executive room (extra £10) and it was well worth the money. The room was very large with massively high ceilings. The only slight downside was that the shower was not the most powerful but a basic 'over the bath' type. We found the staff to be very helpful and attentive. The breakfast selection was good and fresh as the 'full scottish' was freshly cooked and served to you.
We experienced no noise from the nearby train station. We would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coxapaua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We originally booked in this for hotel for 2 nights and booked dinner at its restaurant for both nights. We had picked this hotel as its location was convenient for the train station. Once we had arrived at the hotel only one of our three rooms was ready and we were given a key for our hotel room (which is a worrying sign). The first room stank like smoke and all the decor was out dated and when other two rooms were finally ready they both stank of air freshener. So, we complain that we would not stay in the hotel and the manager was apologetic and did not charged us for our rooms. In summary, do not stay at this hotel and just go to the travelodge nearby which is much cheaper and also much better than this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fergus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ystad, Sverige
Level Contributor
157 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We had no great expectations after reading some of the previous reviews. We didn't meet any tired lady in the reception, we only met very nice and friendly staff in the reception. The room was good with wardrobe, coffee/tea and cookies. The beds were good. It was nice to stay at an old hotel with charm. It was good to be able to choice between continental and scottisch breakfast. We had continental breakfast and it was very god for the price. There is also a nice garden to have a drink in after a day sightseeing. The hotel is perfect located if you travel by train and just a short walk to city centre.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HansYstad_Sverige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.5 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
New County Hotel
New County Hotel
#12 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
0.1 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#11 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Hotel

Property: The Station Hotel
Address: Leonard Street, Perth PH2 8HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Station Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a grand Victorian mansion, the Station Hotel is situated in Perth centre, next to Perth Railway Station. The impressive hotel offers spacious rooms and Scottish breakfasts. Traditional cooked breakfasts are served daily in the bright and airy dining room. Light continental options are also available, including freshly squeezed juices and gourmet coffees. The elegant rooms are individually decorated, and free Wi-Fi is accessible throughout. Some rooms have scenic views across the landscaped grounds, and all feature a private bathroom. Just a 5-minute walk from Perth centre, the Station Hotel is a 10-minute walk from the Perth Theatre and Concert Hall. There is free on-site parking, and the River Tay is half a mile away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your The Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Station Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing