We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm”
Review of The Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Station Hotel
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Sydney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Old world charm”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight at this hotel and found it to be in the heart of Perth. We were within working distance of the major attractions and right across the road from the train station. This links Perth with all parts of the UK.
The hotel itself is 127 years old and has had visitors like Queen Victoria, Queen Elizabeth 11 and Margaret Thatcher. It has recently been used in the film The Railway Man staring Colin Firth and Nicole Kidman.
The entrance is huge with revolving doors and there is a ballroom down the main corridor. The dining area is also on a grand scale and the staff are very friendly. There are some areas of the hotel that still need repairing i.e. hall floor boards creek badly. Our room was spacious and our bathroom was the size of a normal bedroom. Heating was excellent and the main stair cases are very grand. The carpark was out the back of the hotel and although it was marked with limited parking we were able to park there free of charge. We then used the back entrance into the hotel. Wi -fi is only available downstairs in the dining, bar area but we were happy to go down there for free useage.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room overlooking the carpark at the back of the building but it has obviously been re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wandererSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    210
    152
    94
    82
See reviews for
91
257
63
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

we stayed here while on a trip around Scotland, on entry to the hotel the reception staff ignored us, on speaking to her she was quite rude and very unhelpful. we were told there was no rooms. even after we checked their website were we were able to book rooms with no problems. we asked for the manager who was able to get us rooms with no problems and couldn't of being more helpful. For the price of the rooms, they were quite basic, the carpet in the halls was lifting and needs replacing.
overall the hotel needs a make over and new reception staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The reception staff were friendly and helpful and the room was large and clean, However, the wi-fi kept failing which was a major problem for us. The hotel seems old but attempts have been made to update the furnishings etc. The breakfast selection was plentiful but as we only ever choose a continental style breakfast I am unable to comment on the quality of cooked items. Alas, our evening meal in the same restaurant was not to our expectations and as we were the only guests there we felt a bit uncomfortable sitting in such a huge space. (We chose a French restaurant elsewhere in Perth for our next evening meal which was delicious).

Room Tip: Room was quiet. Located at rear. No air- con but I don't imagine this is ever a problem in Scotl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed two nights and found this hotel very comfortable. My room faced the station but did not hear any noise even with the windows open. Reasonably large with everything I needed for a single room, bed very comfortable. Shower tiny- didn't even try it- claustrophobic, nowhere to put toiletries or make-up, or hook on bathroom door and could have done with a table and chair by the window, plenty space there for that. Receptionists very friendly, Daniel, Aga and Antoinette but must admit, on occasions there was nobody on reception at all. One difficult thing for me was that there wasn't a telephone in the room. If I wanted room service, I had to get dressed again and go to reception and ask. My mobile had not been charged, so couldn't make a phone call, and on returning home, I found that a business caller had been told I wasn't in (I was) He left a message for me which I did not receive. That could have been very important. I truly did enjoy the squishy couches and the latties, but attention to the above points should be addressed.
Lady Carole McLean-Smith.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroledolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The Station Hotel is right beside the station. No surprise there then. We heard the trains at times and traffic but what do you expect! Also very handy. It's a short walk into the City, maybe 5-7 minutes; I didn't check.

There's a free car park at the rear but it's a long walk through the hotel if you have a lot of heavy luggage. Best unload at the front in the BR car park then drive round the block. It's pay and display but ignore that. The hotel have an arrangement. The reception is bright, not particularly modern but I wasn't sleeping in reception.

Our bright room (65) was accessible by lift or stairs. It had high ceilings and looked recently renovated. It was also massive with a corner turret and very comfortable. The king size bed was firm.

Breakfast was good, well cooked and tasty. There was a good supply of extras too.

Staff were friendly though one receptionist should be trained to look up and acknowledge guests booking in, even if she is on the phone taking a booking. Small point but important.

Room Tip: I'd ask for room 65 again if I returned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The Station hotel has had a make over. I was there many years ago and it was terrible.
This time round the foyer was lovely and fresh, The person at reception was very cheerful and helpful..The room was very clean, modern, firm bed and a good size, The en suite was clean and spacious .Quiet and slept like a log.
The breakfast in the morning was great although the plates could have been wormer.

Room Tip: I think all would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marc d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S-E England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

As you exit Perth Station, you see this lovely red sandstone building sitting in beautiful grounds. And it's a few minutes' walk from the beautiful River Tay and the historic centre of Perth. Wow, we thought, what a great start to our holiday.

We went inside to register and found a small queue of fellow-guests at the reception desk - but no member of staff there. Various guests went hunting, unsuccessfully, for a receptionist and it was about 15 minutes before one appeared (this at about 1pm).

The hotel lobby was shabby and poorly decorated. However, when we got to our room (86) we found it even more shabby with cheap inadequate furnishings.

Our shower room was tiny: you have to lean over the WC to use the very small washbasin. There was nowhere to put toiletries or clothes - not even a hook on the door. The shower unit was good but there was nowhere to put the soap.

Continental breakfast was good, apart from the poor coffee. The staff were pleasant.

What a great pity that this lovely building, with splendid staircase and great location, has been allowed to decay slowly.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LordClyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.5 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
New County Hotel
New County Hotel
#13 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#11 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Hotel

Property: The Station Hotel
Address: Leonard Street, Perth PH2 8HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Station Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a grand Victorian mansion, the Station Hotel is situated in Perth centre, next to Perth Railway Station. The impressive hotel offers spacious rooms and Scottish breakfasts. Traditional cooked breakfasts are served daily in the bright and airy dining room. Light continental options are also available, including freshly squeezed juices and gourmet coffees. The elegant rooms are individually decorated, and free Wi-Fi is accessible throughout. Some rooms have scenic views across the landscaped grounds, and all feature a private bathroom. Just a 5-minute walk from Perth centre, the Station Hotel is a 10-minute walk from the Perth Theatre and Concert Hall. There is free on-site parking, and the River Tay is half a mile away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Station Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing