We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value friendly staff central location”
Review of Salutation Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Salutation Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great value friendly staff central location”
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Fantastic hotel !! Central location great staff and value for money !!! Great Breakfast .... And plenty of car parking around the corner .. As a rep on the road all the time I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clinky123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Thank you for your very kind words, I really appreciate this and do look forward to seeing you back at the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    427
    148
    47
    30
See reviews for
154
422
98
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Paintwork of the facade is a bit crumbly. Inside is traditional and cosy. Staff were helpful. The dining room has lovely classical architectural features and the breakfast was second to none. Overlooking a traditional family department store close to trendy bars and restaurants. Perth was pristine, the buildings by the river are beautiful. Easy to navigate raround. we were blessed with a fine evening and would definately visit again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathrynNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review with such compliments. We really appreciate the feedback and on this occassion the pleasant remarks about the staff and hotel. We are looking at ways to paint the front of the hotel - with such an old building we have to look carefully on how to proceed on this.
Once again many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The place was historical and very cute. The hostess and staff were very helpful. It was neat staying in such a historical building but I defiantly wish they had updated the mattress from when they first opened. Most uncomfortable and creaky bed i have ever slept on. I believe there is a more updated side to the building and an older. I think we were in the older part, so the beds might be better in the other part. With a bed like that it was'nt worth the 100€ +. Breakfast was ok, the room they have the breakfast in is really neat! Great location.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cunninglittlehams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
Thank you for remarks about the bed. We are constantly changing the beds and mattress in the hotel and it appears that we have missed out a mattress in this room. However as a result of your point we have now made a thourgh check of all beds and mattress in the hotel.
I am pleased to note you found the hostess and staff friendly and helpful and that you liked the Adam Restaurant.
Once again many thanks and do hope next time you will have a really comy sleep.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Have stayed here twice for business. Location is OK, free parking is available around the corner after 6pm.

Rooms and decor couldn't be described as modern but are clean and functional.

Breakfast was excellent, good buffet selection. Major gripe was the incredibly squeaky floors ruining what would otherwise have been a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NornIronOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to put a review on. We are over the year replacing the carpet in the corridors which should make a big difference to the "creaky floor boards" . While the carpet is up we can have a good look at the floorboards at the same time. I am glad you found the rooms clean and enjoyed our breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We had to stay here when we were evacuated from our other hotel, and it was worth the midnight trip. We will stay here again.
Staff were lovely and friendly. The only thing I would say is that the dinner was a little bizarre, the chef has some very odd combinations on the menu, grapes (whole and chucked on the plate) with a main course. But hey, if that is all I can complain about you can see that the hotel was super.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mouserstrousers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Had a great weekend here. Bar meal in the evening was fantastic and was followed by a an even better breakfast with a huge selection. The service was very attentive and all staff were pleasent.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

stayed here in august 2011 with 20 of my friends for a stag do.. the hotel is an old style hotel, rooms are very comfortable and pleasant, the facilities are very good.. all in all a good hotel

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davielyons01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Thank you for your kind words, we really appreciate the time taken to post a review. I am glad all your party enjoyed their weekend and do hope anyone else in your stag party may wish to bring another group back.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
643 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
936 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#2 of 18 in Perth
933 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
676 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#9 of 18 in Perth
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salutation Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salutation Hotel

Property: Salutation Hotel
Address: 34 South Street, Perth PH2 8PH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Perth
#6 Family Hotel in Perth
#6 Business Hotel in Perth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Salutation Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the oldest hotels in Scotland, the deceptively large Salutation Hotel has been operating since 1699, with its decorative front windows and grand entry. There are 84 rooms at the hotel from which guests can select a variety of sizes and configurations from Classic Rooms, Superior Rooms and Four Poster Rooms. All rooms come with an en-suite bathroom, TV, hairdryer, phone and tea and coffee making facilities. There is Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, and in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The hotel’s conference centre is available for booking functions such as banquets, weddings and meetings with the team to service requests. The hotel’s Adam Restaurant serves a hot Scottish breakfast in a buffet style. In the evenings the hotel serves a carvery-style menu as well as an a la carte menu. Reid’s Bar is a cosy lounge serving drinks of various types including local Scottish malt. The hotel is 10 minutes’ walk from the bus and train station. One of Perth’s key tourist sites is Scone Palace with other castles and attractions nearby. Public parking is only a one minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Salutation Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salutation Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing