We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just called in for coffee and a wee dram !”
Review of Salutation Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salutation Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We have been popping in here for several years and have never ever written a review and I must.
We call in every Christmas time when we are staying in Perth, and visiting the salutation is almost a pilgrimage as we love the building so much.
It is absolutely terrific. architecturally splendid in every way. the outside is quirky and the statues of the soldiers wonderful, as is the huge window which is stunning.
the staff are so kind they often have taken us upstairs to look at the window from inside and some of the buildings features.
The front lounge is warm and cosy, and the coffee and cakes always good. As is the whiskey !!
This is a great old place, not many places left like this, and long may it last. Wonderful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Travel_Teddybears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking a few minutes to express your pleasant views of the Salutataion Hotel. I am so pleased you find our building so interesting and quirky - its certainly full of character and history even the Beatles stayed in 1963 ! I am pleased you found the staff to be great and the coffee and cakes good too, Hopefully we will see you back before Christmas 2014.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

797 - 803 of 1,149 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2013

I stay here regularly as i find the staff are excellent , the breakfast is the best in perth and the hotels location is perfect . The food on an evening here is also good but for a frequent business traveller you also have a choice of fantastic restaurants all within about 100m of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mallorywas1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thanks for taking the time to post a few lines about your recent stay, I am delighted to read that you found our breakfast to be the best in town and the location perfect. The hotel is indeed ideal for all the city centre atractions and restaurants.
Look forward to seeing you back at the hotel.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed here before and found the standards are consistant, the staff are 100% customer focused the quality of the food is excellent, if I have one downside comment that will be the car parking,there are parks nearby but over zealous meter maids make the watching of the car and time clocks, important, otherwise it could prove to be expensive.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Many thanks for your kind words about your recent stay and in particular how you found the staff and quality of food. Its great to hear. There are a few long term carparks within walking distance and a multi carpark round from the hotel which do allow for all day parking. Once again many thanks for taking the time to post a few words. We do look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We have just returned from a 5 day Turkey&Tinsel break at this hotel and we had a lovely time. The staff were all brilliant and so helpful.
The food was excellent, breakfast served everything you could want and the haggis was fabulous.
We liked the location of the hotel. However there was a problem with the lift not working for several days which was not good when there was quite a lot of elderly people at the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thanks for taking the time to note down a few remarks about your recent stay, I am so pleased to read that you found the staff brilliant and the food excellent especially the breakfasts and haggis. The hotel is indeed an ideal location so handy for all the city events. The lift was broken and required a specialist part, this has been rectified and now back working properly.
Once again many thanks and we look forward to seeing you back soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

had a fabulous breakfast experience a couple of weeks ago, blonde young waitress very friendly and helpful.. Full of smiles in the morning, exactly what we needed to set up our day of xmas shopping.. Evening waiting staff all great x

Room Tip: hotel excellent for centre shopping and sightseeing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsmcenroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

What a superb review, thanks so much for taking the time to express such pleasant remarks.I am so pleased to read you found the staff to be so friendly and smiley and the breakfast to be great. I do appreciate the comments.
Once again many thanks and I do hope we will see you back soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

An old worldly and frequently used hotel in the centre of Perth. It is popular locally. It is an okay place, clean, tidy, with courteous staff. I have enjoyed my visits and its meals and have no complaints. It is very convenient for the town's centre.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delparc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Thanks for taking the time to note a few lines about your recent stay, I am pleased to read that you found the hotel clean and tidy with friendly staff and meals. The hotel is indeed very convenient for all the town centre events.
Once again many thanks for the review.
Kind regards and look forward to seeing you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Have just returned from the Salutation Hotel where I had a most pleasant stay. Its location is bang in the middle of the town which is ideal. My room was very spacious and tastefully decorated. The hotel has a lovely warm and cosy feel to it. The meals were great, with a good choice of menu. I have been there three times and I will certainly go back again

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Many thanks for your kind words, I really appreciate the time you have taken to highlight the fact the room was tastefully decorated and that you found the food great with plenty of choice. We do look forward to welcoming you back for a forth time and many times after that.
Once again many thanks.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#11 of 18 in Perth
251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#7 of 18 in Perth
673 reviews
0.3 mi away
New County Hotel
New County Hotel
#16 of 18 in Perth
794 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lovat Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salutation Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salutation Hotel

Address: 34 South Street, Perth PH2 8PH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Perth
#5 Family Hotel in Perth
#6 Business Hotel in Perth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Perth
Price Range: £50 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salutation Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the oldest hotels in Scotland, the deceptively large Salutation Hotel has been operating since 1699, with its decorative front windows and grand entry. There are 84 rooms at the hotel from which guests can select a variety of sizes and configurations from Classic Rooms, Superior Rooms and Four Poster Rooms. All rooms come with an en-suite bathroom, TV, hairdryer, phone and tea and coffee making facilities. There is Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, and in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The hotel’s conference centre is available for booking functions such as banquets, weddings and meetings with the team to service requests. The hotel’s Adam Restaurant serves a hot Scottish breakfast in a buffet style. In the evenings the hotel serves a carvery-style menu as well as an a la carte menu. Reid’s Bar is a cosy lounge serving drinks of various types including local Scottish malt. The hotel is 10 minutes’ walk from the bus and train station. One of Perth’s key tourist sites is Scone Palace with other castles and attractions nearby. Public parking is only a one minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Salutation Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salutation Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing