We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Problem solved!”
Review of Salutation Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Salutation Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Problem solved!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed in the Salutation for two nights with a Trade union Delegation for a conference in Perth. I had contacted the hotel previously to ask for an easily accessible room. The installation of a new computerised booking system had meant that my original request was lost but on Friday I returned to a plate of fresh fruit in my room and my husband who stayed on Friday evening was not charged for breakfast. It's not the problem - it's going out of your way to solve it.

Room Tip: Ask for an easily accessible room if you have mobility issues - many rooms are situated away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you very much for talking the time to note down a few lines about your recent stay. I am so pleased that although we made an error with your room the staff and duty manager did their best to rectify the situation right away, as you say its the way these situations are handled that make all the difference.
I really do appreciate this feedback and I am glad the staff are acting on "unusual" situations in the right manner.
We hope you will be back with us in the near future or at your next conference.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    406
    136
    40
    28
See reviews for
144
392
90
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Had a very pleasant stay in the hotel, everything was clean and tidy but a little dated, I realise that when you are as busy as you are scheduling upgrades can be a problem. The breakfast was tasty and ample. Being very picky though I would upgrade the cold food serving dishes maybe. Just my opinion though.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmlauder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Many thanks for sharing a few lines about your recent stay, I am delighted that you found the hotel to be clean and tidy. We are indeed looking at the breakfast menu and at the next reprint we are going to include a another healthy dish and perhaps another cold dish. I do appreciate the comments and hope next time when you return we will have included a few more dishes.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Both my wife were booked to stay here for two nights in April, but due to illness we had to leave and attend hospital as my wife was very unwell during the first night. The hotel staff were very understanding and could not do enought for us. They even telephoned me later that day to ask how my wife was and to offer to book us another stay at no cost to us, which is over and above their cancelation guarantee.

On our first stay we had the family room, which was excellent, very clean and plenty of room. On our second stay we asked for just a double room, which although was a little small, it was very clean and comfortable.

Both rooms had showers, which were clean and both had easy access.

The food was excellent as was the choice and service.

The only thing I would raise is that the bar prices are a little high for me. A pint of Lager was over £3.50 and a glass of house wine was £5.50.

The hotel is well placed right in the centre of Perth with the shops right on the door step.

Room Tip: They have a triple room which is great for three adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrina106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to pop down a few words about your recent stay, I am delighted to read that the staff went out of their way to ensure that you and your wife were checked up on during your stay. I am also delighted to read that you found all the rooms to be clean and comfortable and the food excellent. I am also happy to read you found the choice and service to be spot on. The prices in the bar are actually competitively priced compared to some of the other hotels, we do try and keep them to a realistic level.
I do hope we will see you both back and hope your wife is ok.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My husband and I stayed one night B&B and was the best value we have had. Original quote B&B, twin room £99, but offered at £69. Would have been excellent at the original price, and of course better at the new price. Exterior very much in need for repainting, but interior updated. Our room was well appointed, spacious and clean. The breakfast room was amazing - spacious, very modern, and the breakfast buffet hot and cold completely self-service was excellent value and top quality food. Well planned servery. Would definitely go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a quiet room, at the back, South side, on first floor. First floor easy stair access leadin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a few words about your recent trip. I am delighted to read that you were happy with the rate quoted and you found the room to be clean and spacious. I am also glad you liked our new look restaurant and the selection offered top quality food. I do appreciate the remarks and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when perhaps we "may" have looked at the front of the building.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

If you are in Perth to shop this is an ideal place to stay. Location is excellent. McEwen's of Perth is just across the road. The High street is a short walk from the hotel.The room 331 was adequate although the view is not so good. Breakfast was excellent and the staff friendly ,welcoming and efficient. The porridge was very good and the cooked food was excellent.
A selection of fresh fruit could be added (sugar free)
The river Tay is a short walk from the hotel and one can take a pleasant walk along the river bank.
The first impression when you enter the foyer is it is a little dark but you get used to the low lighting.
The hotel is a very old historic building with many confusing passages but that is to be expected.
Overall I would stay at the Salutation again

Room Tip: Third floor is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Many, many thanks for taking a few minutes to write such a detailed yet pleasant review. I am delighted that you found the location, breakfast and staff to be spot on. We do change our breakfast menu every so often and we will certainly look at some new and different fresh fruits for the buffet at the next review - its great to get the feedback and much appreciated.
Once again I do hope you will return soon and by then we may have some more fresh fruit on the buffet.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

if you want to relax then this is the place to stay in Perth, while looking very tired on the outside it was a pleasant clean and very friendly hotel to stay in.
Worth the money, but the menu in the bar was more inviting than the one in the restaurant.

Room Tip: avoid room 314 if you require a view, looking at a wall, rooms on the front are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Just a short note to say thanks for sending in a few lines about your recent stay, I am really pleased that you found the hotel clean and staff friendly. I am pleased you found your stay worth the money. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Took a group booking bank holiday weekend. We had a fantastic time. Nothing was too much trouble. Check in was very quick booking in the group . The ballroom great for about 70/80 dancers. Food was lovely. Service with a smile from Caitlin and her friend. Even catered for glutton free filet. No problem . We will be returning again in 2 years

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you so much for such nice words about your recent line dance weekend, I am so pleased that you found all aspects of your stay to be spot on. I am delighted that the staff were friendly and had a smile - very important for memorable stay, We all look forward to seeing you in two years time. Once again many thanks.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
626 reviews
3.2 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#2 of 18 in Perth
903 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#11 of 18 in Perth
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
901 reviews
0.3 mi away
New County Hotel
New County Hotel
#13 of 18 in Perth
743 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salutation Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salutation Hotel

Property: Salutation Hotel
Address: 34 South Street, Perth PH2 8PH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Perth
#6 Family Hotel in Perth
#6 Business Hotel in Perth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Salutation Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the oldest hotels in Scotland, the deceptively large Salutation Hotel has been operating since 1699, with its decorative front windows and grand entry. There are 84 rooms at the hotel from which guests can select a variety of sizes and configurations from Classic Rooms, Superior Rooms and Four Poster Rooms. All rooms come with an en-suite bathroom, TV, hairdryer, phone and tea and coffee making facilities. There is Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, and in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The hotel’s conference centre is available for booking functions such as banquets, weddings and meetings with the team to service requests. The hotel’s Adam Restaurant serves a hot Scottish breakfast in a buffet style. In the evenings the hotel serves a carvery-style menu as well as an a la carte menu. Reid’s Bar is a cosy lounge serving drinks of various types including local Scottish malt. The hotel is 10 minutes’ walk from the bus and train station. One of Perth’s key tourist sites is Scone Palace with other castles and attractions nearby. Public parking is only a one minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Salutation Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salutation Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing