We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Edinburgh tattoo stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Salutation Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Salutation Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stourport-on-Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Edinburgh tattoo stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I enjoyed very much the stay at the hotel and attending the tattoo at the castle. The hotel was clean, the staff very friendly and food excellent. Thanks for a great stay. Breakfast and evening meals and service were hot, quick and very nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keenal1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thanks for taking a few minutes to note down a few lines from your recent stay. I am so pleased you found the hotel clean, staff friendly and food excellent - that's great.
I do hope you will return soon and hopefully before the next years tattoo.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    398
    133
    39
    26
See reviews for
138
386
84
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carnoustie
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here for the Southern Fried Festival. An older hotel but with large, very clean bedroom and bathroom. Great facilities - good WIFI , ample breakfast , a bar and a really pleasant staff and manager who we found helpful and accommodating ( even at 2 in the morning !! ) . I would happily recommend this hotel as a base for Perth. We had a room on the 2nd floor above the function suite and, apart from the noise of the air-con , we didn’t hear a thing from the late night bands . If this hotel is going to continue to be a venue for Southern Fried, we will definitely be booking a room for next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary_El
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to drop a few lines about your recent stay, I am so pleased you enjoyed your break at the Salutation Hotel during the Southern Fried Festival. I am delighted to read that you found the rooms to be very clean, staff pleasant and the manager helpful at 2am ! We really do hope to be involved next year as the whole event was such fun and enjoyment for all of Perth and the acts were superb.
Hope to see you again next year.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here 26th-28th July while attending " The Southern Fried " Americana Festival. We chose it mainly due to it's excellent location and that there were a good number of gigs on at the Hotel.
The Hotel itself , as we knew , is a very old Building and does suffer from quirks that come from age but any problems we had were soon amended by the warm and friendly staff, particularly at reception. We did write down a few names but unfortunately we have mislaid them , I do remember Shona & Cheryl (probably both misspelled) were particularly good, I apologise to those I've missed out.
I found all the staff , most of whom were young , were all well trained , smiling and friendly which is a compliment to the manager (who's name we also lost, sorry) .
I would normally consider this type of Hotel a 3 on the Tripadvisor scale but due to the people who work there it has to be a 4.
The only minus would have to be the grumpy Barman who struggles to smile and seems to think standing with his back to the clientele and shouting "NEXT" is a nice way to serve , sorry to turn negative but it had to be said.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackwadham18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Many thanks for taking a few minutes of your time to note a few lines about your recent stay. I do appreciate the feedback and I am pleased you found the staff to be warm and friendly especially the reception team - yes the spellings are spot on. The Southern Fried Festival was a great weekend and we have many positive responses for this and we do hope to be involved next year. I am not sure who the bar person was that appeared to shout, I do know there were 6 members of staff behind the bar at some points to relieve the initial rush when all the ticket holders arrived. I shall look into !
Once again many thanks and I do appreciate the time you have taken to post a review and hope to see you back at the hotel next year. (thanks for the personal compliment too !)
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Not a great front appearance and fairly tired inside. Staff very helpful, but unfortunately they didnt make up for the room. Was given 313 on the top floor and it took 10 mins to find, due to poor signage and a maze of corridors. Once there, it was very clean, but just poor decor and furniture. Bathroom very basic.

Breakfast was great and had a public car park within 100 yards, but am afraid l will look a little harder next time l need to stay in Perth.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank PaulW42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thanks a lot for taking a few minutes to post a few lines about your recent stay. After spending a considerable sum of money on the interior of the building we are now looking at painting the front of the hotel - hopefully early next spring. Room 313 is on the third floor and is classed as one of our traditional rooms with traditional furniture - I am pleased you found the room clean and the breakfast great and the car parking handy. Its a shame you will be looking elsewhere next time as we have a range of newly refurbished rooms that you may like to have a look at.
Once again many thanks and we do hope you will return.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south shields
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Very good room on the back of the hotel in one of the lodges with a balcony and outdoor furniture
A bit gloomy as the sun didn't shine in but very peaceful
Got a good space to park the car undercover right next to the room!
Staff brilliant and an excellent vending area next to the bar opened by the room key that gave access to glasses, ice, jugs and wine etc from the machine; have never seen the like. Most impressive
Breakfast good for my husband but my scrambled eggs were not. I don't know what they were but not good. I noticed other people leaving their eggs as well. Seemed to be a custardy mixture!
Used the buses with our bus passes. Excellent way of seeing the lake district

Room Tip: Ground floor room in Wansfell lodge good if a bit gloomy had a balcony and outdoor furniture
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 303liz303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I had a great welcome from the receptionist who really helped me out when I was trying to get to the Football Stadium in Perh she kindly helped me to put my bag in the store room. When I came back to check in the reeceptionist was really helpful and welcoming and showed me to the lift. My third floor bedroom was really clean with a great en suite. When I went for tea the staff kindly helped me to find somewhere for tra I decided to eat in the bar. The menu had a very good choice which I had the fish and chips followed by the sticky toffeee pudding for pudding which were very well cooked. The staff are very friendly. My bed was very clean. Rooms are stocked up with tea and coffee making facilities which are on a tray in the cupboard under the TV. Also the en suite is very well stocked up. The next morning I had the breakfast which was very good the breakfast is self service with a full English Brakfast, Scottish Breakfast cereal and porridge. The Hotel is easy to find as it is right in the City Centre on South Street. The Salutation Hotel is well worth staying at for a holiday to Scotland. I was very impressed with the Hotel during my stay. I will defenatly be back when I have a holiday in Scotland.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have views of the Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you so much for such a pleasant, detailed and warming review. I am so pleased the reception team were so helpful and welcoming. I am glad you found the room and bed clean. I also note you enjoyed your bar meal of Fish and Chips and Sticky Toffee Pudding. I am also pleased to read that you enjoyed your breakfast, yes the hotel is ideally placed in the centre of Perth in the heart of all the festivities.
Once again I do appreciate the time you have taken to send in the review and look forward to welcoming you back ion the future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have just returned from a weekend in Perth for the REWIND Festival 2014. All hotels in Perth hike up their prices during this festival time, but the Salutation was still extremely reasonable. We booked a standard room for 3 people with 3 single beds and including breakfast.
Our en suite room was spacious, clean and pleasantly decorated. The room was extremely hot although there was no heating on. The breakfast buffet was extensive and had lots to choose from, from both the hot and cold areas. The staff are warm, friendly and cannot do enough to help!
We have already booked again for next year and will hopefully have a cooler room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not too hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A10EWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to send in such a pleasant review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay over Rewind and you found the staff friendly, value good and the breakfast extensive and the room clean - all very important. I am so glad you have booked for next year, once we have confirmation of dates and rates we will be back in touch with everyone.
Once again look forward to having you back at Rewind which is such a great weekend.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
3.2 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#2 of 18 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#11 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salutation Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salutation Hotel

Property: Salutation Hotel
Address: 34 South Street, Perth PH2 8PH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Perth
#6 Business Hotel in Perth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#6 Family Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Salutation Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the oldest hotels in Scotland, the deceptively large Salutation Hotel has been operating since 1699, with its decorative front windows and grand entry. There are 84 rooms at the hotel from which guests can select a variety of sizes and configurations from Classic Rooms, Superior Rooms and Four Poster Rooms. All rooms come with an en-suite bathroom, TV, hairdryer, phone and tea and coffee making facilities. There is Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, and in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The hotel’s conference centre is available for booking functions such as banquets, weddings and meetings with the team to service requests. The hotel’s Adam Restaurant serves a hot Scottish breakfast in a buffet style. In the evenings the hotel serves a carvery-style menu as well as an a la carte menu. Reid’s Bar is a cosy lounge serving drinks of various types including local Scottish malt. The hotel is 10 minutes’ walk from the bus and train station. One of Perth’s key tourist sites is Scone Palace with other castles and attractions nearby. Public parking is only a one minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salutation Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salutation Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing