We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't go back”
Review of Salutation Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Salutation Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. Bar food poor. Restaurant was closed on one of the nights so can't say what that was like. Breakfast how ever was good. Room just okay. No parking at this hotel. Heating was not on and when I asked for it to be put on they said yes, 2 hrs later still no heat. Went to reception to be told it was not on and they gave me an electric heater. All in all a very average hotel. I travel to Perth on a weekly basis and there are far better hotels than this one.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Oh I am sorry to read that you did not really enjoy your stay and found the bar food to be poor. We do try and offer a wide range to suit all tastes. I am pleased you like the breakfast. The nearest car park is only one minutes walk from the hotel which the majority of our customers use. We did investigate the heating issue and it appears that one of the zones in the hotel had a faulty valve, this is being fixed in time, especially with Autumn looming.
I am sorry to read that you will not be back, I do hope you change your mind and give us another chance. Thanks for your feedback.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

697 - 703 of 1,119 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

Me, my husband, my two young children and my gran stayed here for two nights when on an organized coach trip to the Edinburgh tattoo.
The hotel itself looks very tatty from the outside and decoration does need upgrading, however the staff were fantastic and the rooms very clean.
We had breakfast and an evening meal. The dining room staff and the chef couldn't have done enough for my children. It was a set meal but they gave my children extra choices and made sure they had something to eat that they liked for each course. The food was really lovely with a lovely selection for breakfast.
The beds were comfortable. One of the problems I had is that we appeared to be above the function room and both nights there was a party going on. It was very noisy but did stop at 1am, as promised by staff. On the second night I also had a large fan or something running right outside my room it was very noisy. I believe guests in other rooms in the hotel didn't hear any of these noises so I guess I was just unlucky with my room allocation. Don't think the hotel has family rooms as me, my husband and kids were split over two rooms, however these were directly opposite each other so it wasn't terrible.
Overall we had a wonderful stay and would use the hotel again.

Room Tip: Don't get a room over the function room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pigginpoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Many thanks for posting in such a detailed and pleasant review. I am so pleased that you found the hotel to be spot on. We have just had the building surveyed with a view to painting the building early 2015. I am pleased you found the staff pleasant and the rooms very clean. I am so pleased the Chef looked after all the wee ones needs and you found the food to be lovely especially the breakfasts. We do indeed have three family rooms, which although very popular, can be booked in advance and off course a family room away from the function area.
I am so pleased you had a great time and look forward to seeing you all back again soon.
Kind regards
Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I had occasion to use this hotel as a guest. Found the reception staff rude and unhelpful. Bar prices for alcohol okay but at £1.90 for a can of cola etc thought that was daylight robbery. No excuse for this type of profit.

Room Tip: rooms need updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Dee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to send in a few lines, I am most concerned that you found the reception staff rude and unhelpful - this is an area where we receive positive comments....I wish you had mentioned to me which staff were rude; why were they unhelpful; who was unhelpful on what grounds were they rude. Not much for me to investigate with such a vague review ?
Cans of Coke are less than £1.90
Once again many thanks for your review.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel is a must for a wonderful stay! Like the Tardis, larger than it looks from outside.
Staff, very friendly and helpful, take bags to and from your rooms. Lift and stairs. Room very clean and tidy, bathroom, wow!! Tea/coffee facilities, TV in all rooms.
Food was fantastic, plenty of it, breakfast was a full and a help yourself bar if wanted cereals etc.
Evening meals were piping hot, plenty of it again, too.
Late night back from Tattoo(1.00am), staff were helpful with all our keys and asking if teas or coffees were wanted.
Overall, a wonderful stay, would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family.x

Room Tip: We didn`t have a choice of room as such, but I`m sure that all rooms are of the same clean standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thanks do much for such a lovely review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I do appreciate the time you have taken to highlight the friendly staff, clean rooms, great food and excellent breakfast, I am pleased you appreciated all the extras after the tattoo, we do our best to look after our customers with a few extras when we can.
We hope we will see you all back next year for 2015 Tattoo , perhaps even before.
Once again many thanks.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I enjoyed very much the stay at the hotel and attending the tattoo at the castle. The hotel was clean, the staff very friendly and food excellent. Thanks for a great stay. Breakfast and evening meals and service were hot, quick and very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Keenal1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thanks for taking a few minutes to note down a few lines from your recent stay. I am so pleased you found the hotel clean, staff friendly and food excellent - that's great.
I do hope you will return soon and hopefully before the next years tattoo.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here for the Southern Fried Festival. An older hotel but with large, very clean bedroom and bathroom. Great facilities - good WIFI , ample breakfast , a bar and a really pleasant staff and manager who we found helpful and accommodating ( even at 2 in the morning !! ) . I would happily recommend this hotel as a base for Perth. We had a room on the 2nd floor above the function suite and, apart from the noise of the air-con , we didn’t hear a thing from the late night bands . If this hotel is going to continue to be a venue for Southern Fried, we will definitely be booking a room for next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gary_El
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to drop a few lines about your recent stay, I am so pleased you enjoyed your break at the Salutation Hotel during the Southern Fried Festival. I am delighted to read that you found the rooms to be very clean, staff pleasant and the manager helpful at 2am ! We really do hope to be involved next year as the whole event was such fun and enjoyment for all of Perth and the acts were superb.
Hope to see you again next year.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here 26th-28th July while attending " The Southern Fried " Americana Festival. We chose it mainly due to it's excellent location and that there were a good number of gigs on at the Hotel.
The Hotel itself , as we knew , is a very old Building and does suffer from quirks that come from age but any problems we had were soon amended by the warm and friendly staff, particularly at reception. We did write down a few names but unfortunately we have mislaid them , I do remember Shona & Cheryl (probably both misspelled) were particularly good, I apologise to those I've missed out.
I found all the staff , most of whom were young , were all well trained , smiling and friendly which is a compliment to the manager (who's name we also lost, sorry) .
I would normally consider this type of Hotel a 3 on the Tripadvisor scale but due to the people who work there it has to be a 4.
The only minus would have to be the grumpy Barman who struggles to smile and seems to think standing with his back to the clientele and shouting "NEXT" is a nice way to serve , sorry to turn negative but it had to be said.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jackwadham18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Many thanks for taking a few minutes of your time to note a few lines about your recent stay. I do appreciate the feedback and I am pleased you found the staff to be warm and friendly especially the reception team - yes the spellings are spot on. The Southern Fried Festival was a great weekend and we have many positive responses for this and we do hope to be involved next year. I am not sure who the bar person was that appeared to shout, I do know there were 6 members of staff behind the bar at some points to relieve the initial rush when all the ticket holders arrived. I shall look into !
Once again many thanks and I do appreciate the time you have taken to post a review and hope to see you back at the hotel next year. (thanks for the personal compliment too !)
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#7 of 18 in Perth
655 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
965 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#9 of 18 in Perth
245 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
696 reviews
0.3 mi away
New County Hotel
New County Hotel
#16 of 18 in Perth
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salutation Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salutation Hotel

Address: 34 South Street, Perth PH2 8PH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Perth
#6 Business Hotel in Perth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#6 Family Hotel in Perth
Price Range: £56 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salutation Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the oldest hotels in Scotland, the deceptively large Salutation Hotel has been operating since 1699, with its decorative front windows and grand entry. There are 84 rooms at the hotel from which guests can select a variety of sizes and configurations from Classic Rooms, Superior Rooms and Four Poster Rooms. All rooms come with an en-suite bathroom, TV, hairdryer, phone and tea and coffee making facilities. There is Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, and in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The hotel’s conference centre is available for booking functions such as banquets, weddings and meetings with the team to service requests. The hotel’s Adam Restaurant serves a hot Scottish breakfast in a buffet style. In the evenings the hotel serves a carvery-style menu as well as an a la carte menu. Reid’s Bar is a cosy lounge serving drinks of various types including local Scottish malt. The hotel is 10 minutes’ walk from the bus and train station. One of Perth’s key tourist sites is Scone Palace with other castles and attractions nearby. Public parking is only a one minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Salutation Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salutation Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing