We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decidely average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Perth Hotel
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Decidely average”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The good bits were the friendly check in, breakfast choice, free wifi and it's central location. Neutral points were the old fashioned room (although I understand a refurbishment program is underway) and the premium priced bar, however the bad points for me were the dirty shower in the disabled wet room and the check out process which took an amazing 10 plus minutes to print an invoice.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure P, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Perth hotel.

I was pleased that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us and yes, we have commenced a general upgrading program around the whole hotel. I hope you will return to see all of the improvements that we are making.

I'm sorry that you were affected on check-out with a printer issue we had. We do like to offer the very best in customer service and would not like to have kept you waiting. I have also passed your comments regarding the shower to Housekeeping.

Thank you again and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Karen A. Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    291
    258
    126
    73
See reviews for
89
470
25
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I arrived in Perth atfer a very long day, keen to get a good nights sleep. I have stayed in the Mercure before and know it is in need of an update, but was shocked by the state of my room. On walking in i was presented with a small black object on the floor (on closer inspection i think it was a current, but my first impression was maybe mouse droppings). Looking closer there was a large stain by the radiator, a size indicator from a hanger. Generally this gave the impression that the room had not been vaccumed after the last guest. When i went into the bathroom i found large cracks in the wall, and the bath had brown marks all over it (which came off so were not staining). Being too tired to compain, i got into bed only to find that the room next door was a conference room and there was a meeting going on, accompanied by sporadic applause and cheering. Perth is in need of a good clean hotel in the centre, but my advice and experiance is that this is not it. Avoid

Room Tip: Pick another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure P, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Perth hotel.

I was extremely disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us and I have passed all of your feedback on to our Head Housekeeper to ensure that we are offering the very best in cleanliness and maintenance standards at all times.

We have commenced a general upgrading and painting and decorating program around the hotel and I would really like for you to return, where we would have the opportunity to restore your faith in the services and facilities we offer. Please contact me directly at the hotel, should you wish to discuss this further.

Yours sincerely,

Karen A. Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

Anstruther, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Now incorporated into the Accor group, we had expected to see some changes in this hotel but they were difficult to spot. It is looking rather tired and in need of refurbishment. The hotel is built on the site of an old mill and cleverly incorporates the rather attractive old buildings. The bar area, with the old mill race cleverly viewable, is welcoming enough but the other public rooms and the bedrooms certainly could do with refreshment. Perth is not blessed with good average hotels in spite of its being a county town with a rich hinterland. The Mercure, with its very central location and relatively easy parking, could be well placed to assume that role. The bedroom was comfortable enough with the usual tea - making facilities and shower room. Unfortunately, our room was at the end of the corridor directly underneath an ongoing and noisy wedding reception. Breakfast is served in a gloomy upper room with very little natural light and rather outdated electrical lighting. The staff are all very pleasant and welcoming. With just a little cosmetic effort and attention to detail, this could be a much better place.

Room Tip: avoid any room near to entertainment areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMSAlba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure P, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Perth hotel.

I am delighted to let you know that we have commenced a general upgrading and painting and decorating program throughout the whole hotel. I really hope you will have the opportunity to return to visit us, and to see the great improvements we are making to the cosmetic presentation and feel of the hotel. We really are in a great location and have a real opportunity to be Perth's premium city centre hotel.

Thank you again for all your feedback and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Karen A. Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

my wife and i have stayed at the Mercure formely Ramada jarvis for many years and its had its fair share of ups and downs mainly downs....However we had a 2 night stay on the 12th Oct and what an improvement. Front of house are very friendly and helpful and nice to see Pamela still there but its the bar area that shines especially with Simone who provides excellent service above and beyond so well done to all the lovely staff.
Rooms are still a bit under par with regards to cleanliness and a bit dated but overall a really
good stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brendan50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure P, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Perth hotel.

I was delighted that you can see some positive improvements from your previous visit.

I have shared your feedback with the team who were delighted you found them to be so friendly and welcoming. I have also made special note of this to Pam & Simon who obviously stood out for you.

I really hope to welcome you back to the hotel again, when you will see the improvements we are continuing to make in general upgrading and painting/decorating throughout the whole hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Karen A. Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Since our last visit, there is now free wifi throughout - well done Mercure! Otherwise, little seems to have changed in the last 12 months. Still pretty good value, and staff as friendly as ever.
If you want to park immediately outside, arrive by mid afternoon or it will be full - though the adjacent car park isn't far away.
Room was clean and tidy, only let down by the windows which now clearly need upgrading. With no aircon, the window is held open by a helpfully provided small wooden block (!). Our room was on the first floor overlooking the car park, which is a problem a) for street noise, and b) cigarette smoke wafting up from groups of European tourists gathered below. It was also next to the floor's office/maintenance room, which was busy from about 6am with much banging of doors. Didn't use the restaurant this time, so can't comment. Bar prices are what you expect in a hotel!

Room Tip: Try to get one that doesn't overlook the front car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitbyladYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure P, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Perth hotel.

I was pleased to see that you liked the addition of our FREE Wifi offering now available throughout the hotel. It certainly is a great benefit!

I would also like to let you know that we have commenced a general upgrading and painting/decorating program throughout the hotel and I hope to welcome you back again in the future, so that you can continue to see the improvements that we are making.

Yours sincerely,

Karen A. Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

A one night stay was booked online via a booking partner 12 WEEKS in advance. Acknowledged, paid for, voucher issued. Yet in a magic trick Paul Daniels would have been proud of, the one night booking (mid way through a busy 4 day conference) mysteriously vanished when I arrived at check in. "Oh, there's a problem with the computer, I'll need to get the manager..." ten minutes later Duty Manager says " the system" released rooms that should have been blocked out and, guess what? My previous booking didn't get priority and off I was sent to another hotel in another TOWN nearly 20 miles away.

No phone call, no email in those 12 weeks, even via the booking agent. Not good.

Sadly for Mercure, a few other guests were also bumped including a senior Member of the Scottish Parliament so I suspect this 'glitch' will hurt future conference bookings.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tartanpenguin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure P, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Perth hotel.

We did have a major computer issue on the day prior to the start of the conference you refer to. This left us with a very difficult decision to make and I am sorry that you were one of our very valued guests affected by this. If you wish to discuss this matter further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel so that I can assist you properly.

Yours sincerely,

Karen A. Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed for a weekend, first visit, easy to find, great (free) parking adjacent to hotel. No problem checking in. The hotel is a little dated in areas but for £62 per night B & B it's a great deal. Decent sized room, pretty warm but that was due to the unseasonal weather. The only criticism I had about the room was the creaky bed. Breakfast was very good, plentiful, hot and very impressed with the extended service times at the weekend. The breakfast waiter (Ben?) deserves a mention and is a credit to the hotel. Really liked the central location but still out of the way a bit so there was no night time noise. Didn't drink in the bar as prices were high, especially when there are plenty of cheaper bars close by. Will definitely return to the Mercure when next in Perth.

Room Tip: Room at the back may be quieter as it doesn't overlook hotel entrance and car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure P, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Perth hotel.

I was so delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us and I have shared your feedback with the team at our recent staff meeting. You may also be pleased to hear that Ben, the waiter you mentioned, just won our 'Employee of the Month' award for September! I agree, he really is a credit to the hotel.

Thank you again for all your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Karen A. Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.4 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
1,088 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
0.4 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#10 of 18 in Perth
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Lovat Hotel
0.2 mi away
New County Hotel
New County Hotel
#16 of 18 in Perth
763 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Perth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Perth Hotel

Property: Mercure Perth Hotel
Address: West Mill Street, Perth PH1 5QP, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Perth Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Perth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a 15th century watermill, the Mercure Perth City Mills hotel provides the ideal place to take a business trip, a short leisure break or somewhere unique to hold a meeting or special event. Whatever the reason for your visit to the newest CITY in Scotland, the Mercure Perth will look after you! The charm and character of the hotel offers a perfect backdrop, along with 76 bedrooms, our beautiful Kinnoull Suite which is the largest of our event suites accommodating up to 150 guests, two other event rooms which can accommodate smaller, more intimate parties and a lovely, relaxing lounge bar area. Whatever your requirements, we would be delighted to welcome you to the hotel and help make your stay or event one to remember. Karen A. Johnston, General Manager. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Odigeo, Lastminute, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Perth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Perth
Mercure Perth Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing