We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff a credit to the hotel....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Perth Hotel
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed here on coach trip over new year period. Staff are lovely, helpful and very friendly, restaurant well run and food and service excellent. Rooms were adequate and clean although the room we stayed in (4) received a lot of noise from the room above to the point we could hear what people were saying, may just have been this room didn't hear anyone else mention it. Lounge areas very welcoming and comfortable although bar prices were unreasonable with a large glass of wine being around £10. Hotel central and close to shops. Only complaint was the bar prices, our group went elsewhere for drinks which was a shame as we would have stayed in hotel had the prices been more reasonable.

Room Tip: Not room 4 due to noise from other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamelaorourke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure P, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Perth hotel.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much, found the staff to be lovely and helpful and the food service excellent!

Please accept my apologies if you were disturbed in your room in anyway, I have asked maintenance to look into some soundproofing options to alleviate this issue. I am also sorry you found the bar prices too expensive. Again, I shall take this feedback on board when next reviewing our pricing policies.

I shall pass all of your comments on to my team and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Karen A. Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (984)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

650 - 656 of 984 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed as part of twixmas break. Hotel was clean - all areas, great large bed, free wifi etc. Room had all usual stuff - rooms could do with a wee bit of an update - but were clean.

Nice lounge area with old well etc visible through glass etc.

Staff were friendly and helpful.
Don't book bed & breakfast as there is often an offer on breakfast when you get to the hotel making it much cheaper.

The breakfast was buffet style - full range of hot foods - all very good, with fruit, cereals, yoghurts, croissants etc all also available. Worth a shout if you want to be right in the heart of perth.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bettyfithey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure P, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Perth hotel.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I shall pass all of your lovely comments on to my team.

I am also very pleased to let you know that we have commenced a general decorating and upgrading program around the whole hotel so this should give it the update you feel it needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Karen A. Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, staff welcoming, bar cosy & comfortable, great food selection at breakfast time & the evening meal was lovely. Close to shops, cinema & pubs. Had a great weekend I'd recommend this hotel to anyone fancying a break away in Perth.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zubesscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure P, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Perth hotel.

I am delighted you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us and shall pass all of your lovely comments on to my team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Karen A. Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This character-filled hotel is based in a beautiful historic 15th century watermill - you can still see the water running underground in various areas, including the bar and reception, on the ground floor. The rooms are clean, tidy and a good size, with a very comfortable bed, but they do need some sound-proofing, especially with the Christmas parties that were happening. The hotel does have a strict no-noise policy enforced from 11pm so sleep wasn't compromised. Buffet breakfast was good, not much of a variety, but what was there was tasty. Dinner was a problem though - the restaurant was reserved for Christmas parties every night of our stay so we were unable to eat onsite (including room service) until 9pm at night. However, when we were able to get room service, the food was good. Location was nice and central. What made the hotel very good was the service. On the second day of our stay, I became really sick so my boyfriend approached the reception staff to get advice on where to see a doctor - the staff were very helpful. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: As there isn't a lift/elevator try and get a room on the ground or first floor, as it may be awk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jodie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure P, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Perth hotel.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the beautiful character of the building so much. We really do have some wonderful, unique features don't we!

Please accept my apologies that it was slightly later than anticipated for you to dine with us, but I am glad you found the meal enjoyable and tasty.

I shall pass all of your lovely comments on to my team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Karen A. Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

One night stay to visit friends who live in Perth. Couldn't have found a better location, for shopping, eating and drinking.
Good sized room with huge bed.
Lots of lovely historic features within the hotel and mill laid running right through under floor with viewing panels.
Staff very helpful. No negatives to report.
Booked direct with hotel as cheaper than agents.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marydollGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure P, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Perth hotel.

I was delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of the services and facilities that we offer in the hotel and that you found the location to be just perfect!

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Karen A. Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

A group of us were at the Christmas Party night on Sat 21st Dec which was very enjoyable. Liked the location of the hotel, staff and service was very good as was our meal and party night.
Our only real issue was the cost of the drinks which means that we would not return to a party night there again. £20 for an average bottle of wine was over the top and definitely not value for money. Nearly £11 for one small white wine and a jack daniels and coke. This is why I have marked Value as Poor
Would recommend if you are going on a party night to check what the bar prices will be to see if you are happy paying that amount on the night, before confirming a booking.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GilJackieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure P, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Perth hotel.

I was delighted that you enjoyed such a great Christmas Party night and meal with us and so I am really disappointed that you found the bar prices to be too expensive and this would stop you from returning!

We did have various special offers running on the night, as well as another offer at booking stage giving you a discount on pre-booked and pre-paid bottles of wine, beer, etc... I am unsure if you were possibly unaware of these?

I really hope you will re-consider as I would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel again next year.

Yours sincerely,

Karen A. Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The location is lovely & our room was good (albeit the shower/bathroom was grubby, so not a bath to climb in to). Was very disappointed when I enquired about eating in the restaurant on the Sat evening, the bartender mumbled about closing off the restaurant because of what was happening upstairs. Gave up trying to get served at an over priced bar. My advice, do one or other - if you can only cater for parties, don't take small bookings. We were there to celebrate the end of our silver wedding anniversary year, since this was the hotel my husband proposed to me in all these years ago. I think I will treasure the memories from then instead of this trip.

Receptionist was really polite & efficient & breakfast staff were good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hevf_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure P, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Perth hotel.

I was pleased to see that you enjoyed various aspects of your stay with us, but please accept my apologies if you were unable to secure a table in the restaurant. There were other events on in the hotel but there were still dining times available, albeit just a bit more limited. This was crucial to ensure that all of our guests enjoyed the same great service.

I hope you did manage to enjoy all of your Silver Wedding Anniversary celebrations, and as the hotel played such a special part in that, please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you choose to return in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Karen A. Johnston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.4 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 18 in Perth
1,138 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
0.4 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#9 of 18 in Perth
248 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Lovat Hotel
0.4 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#7 of 18 in Perth
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Perth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Perth Hotel

Address: West Mill Street, Perth PH1 5QP, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Perth Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Price Range: £43 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Perth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a 15th century watermill, the Mercure Perth City Mills hotel provides the ideal place to take a business trip, a short leisure break or somewhere unique to hold a meeting or special event. Whatever the reason for your visit to the newest CITY in Scotland, the Mercure Perth will look after you! The charm and character of the hotel offers a perfect backdrop, along with 76 bedrooms, our beautiful Kinnoull Suite which is the largest of our event suites accommodating up to 150 guests, two other event rooms which can accommodate smaller, more intimate parties and a lovely, relaxing lounge bar area. Whatever your requirements, we would be delighted to welcome you to the hotel and help make your stay or event one to remember. Karen A. Johnston, General Manager. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Perth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Perth
Mercure Perth Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing