We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Queens Hotel
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

As a wedding present my best man and wife got us a night in the Queens hotel to go to Perth Racing as part of our honeymoon. We arrived at 11.30 but our rooms understandably weren’t ready so the reception took our bags and we got a few drinks in the nice wee pub bar. On returning our bags, a bottle of wine and congratulations from the staff were waiting on us. This was a fantastic touch and greatly appreciated. We were in room 15 which was top floor looking out over Perth. The room was huge! We had a lounge, dressing table, double bed, mounted tv and ensuite bathroom. It was very clean though a little dated but that wasn’t an issue at all. The breakfast in the morning was lovely with the staff being very helpful and extremely pleasant. Our train wasn’t till 2 hours after our check out but the receptionist was great and kept our bags so we could go for a walk around Perth. The hotel is situated literally 2 mins walk from train station. A fantastic nights stay and we are already looking to return early next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nespa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeSheff, Owner at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear nespa1,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor.

Also thank you for your lovely review about the staff and the bedroom. It is always pleasing to hear that people have enjoyed their stay with us and received the service they expected. We like to go that extra mile to make our guests stays memorable.

I will pass your kind comments onto the staff to ensure they keep up the good work.

Kind Regards


Mike Sheffield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    208
    144
    60
    50
See reviews for
68
234
28
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

my partener and i stayed here on Monday 1st October and i have to say it was not a plesant experience, the room was very small and the "double" bed was more like a queensize, that creaked every time you moved. the furniture didn't match and as for the decor i don't think it has been decorated since the seventys, with an artex celing flowery and chintzy curtains with a pelmet that i havent seen in years! the bathroom suit was egg shell coloured and the shower had no power in it. i have to say that this was one of the worst nights sleep i have had in a long time, along with the creaky small bed the surrounding heavy doors slammed all night, breakfast finished at 9.30 so we went down for breakfast very bleary eyed, to a breakfast that i couildn't eat, the eggs, sausage and bacon were all cold and the potato scone wasn't even cooked in any way, just put on the cold plate along with half a tomato that i think had been put in a microwave for a few mins, all in all a very unpleasant stay and i will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nanno0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeSheff, Owner at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear Nanno0109,

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I have thoroughly checked our reservation system for your stay at the Best Western Queens Hotel in Perth - unfortunately I don't seem to have anyone staying who lives close to you on either Sunday 30th or Monday 1st October. I note also that you stayed at another hotel in town on the 29th September, although your review for that hotel states you were there on Saturday 30th September. It's all quite confusing with your dates being incorrect, and as I previousy stated I can't find any reservation for those dates.

However, I note your points, although I must say this is not typical of other reviews posted. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Kind regards

Mike Sheffield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012 via mobile

First time in this hotel, found a gem. Spent friday saturday on our way home. Great location, easily found and managed to get space in car park next to hotel. Had requested early check in, room ready for us on arrival. Reception staff cheerful and polite. Room bit on the small size for a double but clean and comfortable. Evening meals excellent, breakfast cooked to order, staff again wonderful, pleasant, polite and attentive. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Thanks for a great two days.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeSheff, Owner at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear GlasgowDonald,

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. I will pass on your comments to the Team - they get to see all the reviews that people leave.

I note you are a regular visitor to Inverness - Perth is the ideal location to stop off. Thanks very much for being loyal to our Best Western colleagues in Inverness. Have you tried the Best Western Lochardil Hotel - it's a top scorer within Best western.

Kind regards

Mike Sheffield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Having driven down from Scrabster after a ferry journey from Orkney we were met by a lovely helpful lady on Reception. This continued throughout our stay with all the staff.On arrival in our room there were no towels. I rang Reception and they were delivered immediately with an apology. Breakfast was 5 star. Cooked breakfast made to order.Rooms spacious bit dated but clean.Trouser press, iron,ironing board, hair dryer, kettle all in room. Will stay there again and will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene57_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeSheff, Owner at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear Irene 57_12,

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am glad that the hotel team delivered a comfortable stay when you last visited - I will pass on a copy of your review.

Don't be a stranger and come back and see us soon - why not check out our website and take advantage of our SHORT BREAK SPECIAL OFFERS - they are ideal to get away before Christmas and perhaps do some Christmas shopping in Perth City Centre.

Kind regards

Mike Sheffield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We arrived for an overnight stay, in September. There was a warm welcome at reception. Our Room was very clean, although it could have done with a makeover, but this is an old Hotel Building, and re-furbs are expensive. We did have a problem in the bathroom, with a leaking toilet cystern, which was running down the bathroom floor. We contacted reception, and the lady that had dealt with us on arrival, was at our bedroom door pronto. She was so helpful, pleasant, and efficient, in dealing with this matter. She told us the Hotel was busy, so couldn't move us, she offered to contact other hotel's to see if they had a vacancy, but we were settled for the night, so she offered a reduction, which we agreed to. A very pleasant man came to do what he could to stop the flow, and he did, and was more than apologectic. The next morning we went for breakfast, and was again greeted by our pleasant lady, who knew our room number straight away, I wish I had took her name, as she deserved a reward for all her help. There was ample choice on the buffet table, and our order was taken swiftly, the cooked breakfast was lovely, and there was ample on your plate. All the Staff were efficient, and were working hard, in a very pleasant and friendly manner. When we went to check out, our lovely lady was at reception, and presented us with our re-fund, and again gave her sincere apologies. Would certainly stay again, and would recommend other traveller's to stay. Maybe one day some one will re-furb this Hotel, so that it becomes an A*, with a budget price tag.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeSheff, Owner at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Glen066,

Thank you for your recent review on trip advisor regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Queens Hotel, Perth.

It is always good to hear that our staff have made guests feel welcome at our hotel. I am glad to hear that your problem was dealt with efficiently and you were happy with the service we provided.

Thank you for all your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotelin the near future.

Kind Regards

Mike Sheffield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Powys
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We arrived here on 17th September on returning from a tour in the Orkneys and Shetlands and after a very poor hotel experience the previous night. This was totally different a clean and comfortable hotel with a great welcome from the management. The room was obviously last fully refurbished in a previous decade but it was spotless with a comfortable bed, clean linen, tea tray with biscuits and a large flat screen TV. We could ask for no more and were very happy. We went down for dinner to a warm welcome and great food which was obviously freshly cooked. Portions were more than ample and I could not finish my cheese, biscuits and fruit. Happily satisfied we watched a bit of TV before settling down for a comfortable night. The following morning we helped ourselves from an extensive buffet table and then were asked what we would like for a cooked breakfast. This was obviously prepared to order as my scrambled eggs were just perfect. All served by friendly staff who were anxious that we were happy with everything. We left after breakfast being waved goodbye by the Manager which was a nice touch. If we are in Perth again, we shall certainly stay in this hotel and will recommend it to friends. If you need a hotel in Perth, I suggest you follow suit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeSheff, Owner at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Gwen L,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Queens Hotel.

I am glad that you found the hotel and bedrooms to be confortable and that you found the portion sizes at dinner to be adequate. We served freshly made, freshly cooked food from local produce.

I hope to welcomeyou back to the Queens Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mike Sheffield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

On arrival, the (duty?) manager was in reception with a very warm welcome, he was also there when I came down to the bar before my evening meal, pointing the way to the bar and the dining room (which is on the 1st floor). He assisted in the dining room and was there again to bid farewell.
I believe his example instilled the same warm attitude in all of the staff.
Room was excellent, spotlessly clean.
Evening meal and breakfast were very good, service excellent.
Only dissapointment was I didn't have time for the leisure facilities.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlynnOswestry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeSheff, Owner at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear GlynnOswestry,

Thank you for your recent review on trip advisor.

It is always pleasing to hear that guests notice that we are doing a good job and they enjoy their stay with us.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Mike Sheffield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lovat Hotel
0.4 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
1,089 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
934 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#10 of 18 in Perth
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
New County Hotel
New County Hotel
#16 of 18 in Perth
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Queens Hotel

Property: Best Western Queens Hotel
Address: 105 Leonard Street, Perth PH2 8HB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Perth
Perth Best Western
Best Western Perth
Best Western Queens Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing