We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and clean in all five rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Queens Hotel
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We had five double rooms as singles and they were, contrary to some rather worrying reviews on here, clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful, especially in the dining room for dinner and breakfast. Dinner was fine, though the fish pie had obviously been under the hot lamps too long as it was a little dried up. Crab cake was fine for starter.

I sometimes get put off by trip advisor comments and this hotel has a lot of different comments. We found it a typical Best Western, both clean and keen. It is a system that works, the individual owners get the support of a national network, but have to work for the right to be a part of it. Generally, we consumers benefit. I was worried about the smell of chlorine supposedly obvious when we walked in but not a trace of it. You would have been hard put to know there was a health club on the premises. It was a Saturday night and the hotel was quite full, but I slept like an undisturbed log!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celticlegendltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeSheff, Owner at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear celticlegendltd
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am glad to hear you came to the hotel with an open mind after reading previous mixed reviews. And even more glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and experience with us. Hopefully you will visit us again.
Kind regards
Mike Sheffield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 597 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed for four nights for an event in city, the room was provided by event organiser, otherwise we might have stayed somewhere else. It's ok but the bedrooms are relatively small and they and the hotel are in need of a makeover with brighter colours. There seems to be only one small lift and the stairs are narrow . If you stay a few nights you get used to the layout and decor, but it still feels dated in its character. The staff are good and make the stay worthwhile, plus it's a few minutes walk from the city centre, railway station etc, parking is limited but there is pay and display parking nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeSheff, Owner at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Stewart H
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I'm glad the staff made you feel welcome.
Kind regards
Mike Sheffield - Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I booked this as a last minute stop over, the car park is over the road and wasn't spotted in the dark, the whole hotel stank of chlorine, the hotel needed a major refurbishment. I didn't use the bar but had a look in and it looked very tired.

I think if I was needing to stay in Perth again I would check the alternatives before making a reservation.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank AnotherGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeSheff, Owner at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear AnotherGeordie
Thank you for the feedback on your stay.
Kind regards
Mike Sheffield - Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a work conference. First impressions - an overwhelming stench of bleach. There is a pool onsite so assumed this was the source, but not a great smell to greet you when you first open the doors. Overall, this hotel isn't too bad in many respects - it was clean, comfortable if very dated with old, tatty furniture, carpets and decor, and the food was pretty good and came in large portions. They lose a point for service, which was not great, especially from one particular waitress at dinner, for whom everything, including taking our order, was simply too much trouble. Other staff couldn't have been nicer so I'm sorry to mark them down, but this waitress was absolutely awful.

However, I've given a 'poor' rating mainly due to the noise - not traffic or street noise, despite the very central location, but the floors, which were all carpeted as far as I could see. I appreciate it is an old building, and clearly hasn't had an upgrade for many years, but to be woken several times during the night when anyone moved, whether in adjacent rooms, on the floor above, in the corridor, or in fact anywhere else in the hotel, was simply awful. I was unlucky in that the people in the room directly above mine appeared to get up for a game of basketball at 5.15am, and continued play until about 7am, by which time I had at least finished my book. The level of noise cannot be exaggerated. I am not a light sleeper and tend to drop off easily, but was constantly woken up and finally kept awake by the constant squeaking and groaning of floorboards combined with the thuds of footfalls. This was also very apparent during our conference in the otherwise nice meeting room - whenever someone in the room above moved, the entire ceiling reverberated with squeaks and groans more than loud enough to drown out the speaker.

If you are an extremely heavy sleeper, or looking for somewhere to crash after a night out rather than relax, or even just after a reasonable dinner (as long as you're luckier than we were with the waiting staff) then this might be the place for you. However I would recommend against it if you have any requirement for sleep or to be able to hear someone speak without shouting.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, get a room on the top floor if you want any sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBr0wn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeSheff, Owner at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear LBr0wn3
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay, however your feedback is gratefully received.
Kind regards
Mike Sheffield - Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

I had a very short overnight stay in the Queens. The staff are excellent, friendly, welcoming and helpful. The food was good, a quick late sandwich in the room was excellent and no fuss. The breakfast was great the next morning, again served by excellent staff. The only thing that lets the hotel down is the decor, it is very tired and badly needs updating.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Geoffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeSheff, Owner at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear geco1970
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, your feedback is appreciated.
Kind regards
Mike Sheffield - Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Had a short stay whilst attending a conference in the City. An amazing huge bed was main plus feature and was very comfortable. The location near the Railway and Bus Station's meant the bar had many passing customers. We ate in the bar the evening of our arrival and found the "Burger of the Day"and a drink at the bar very pleasant though on the expensive side. Nearby there are many take away and some restaurants. Breakfast on the Sat. was surprisingly rushed having only sat down with cereal, the cooked meal I'd ordered a few minutes earlier arrived, surprisingly ahead of the toast. This led be to believe everything was pre-cooked. It might just be too hard to train their staff to relax a little at the weekend.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Housty45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeSheff, Owner at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Housty45

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us and for your feedback on breakfast. Will certainly be looking into that for you.
Kind regards
Mike Sheffield - Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Positives:
The hotel is in a really central location, only about 5mins max. to the town centre on foot.

The afternoon reception person was very friendly and helpful.

The pool area was nice (didn't use the gym, but it looked like it had quite a few machines to choose from).


Negatives:
The room I had was just so used and dated, it was quite a dissapointment. I had read reviews on here before booking and some said the same thing, but after having had a look on the hotels website, I thought the rooms looked nice - they are definatly not all like they are on their website!
I don't know if I just got one that hadn't been done up yet, but think old youth hostel, or halls of residence, and that was what I had.
The furniture was really old with chips on the edges, and the inside of the bath was all flaking away. Shame.

If use of the pool/sauna area hadn't been included in the price, I would have been pretty annoyed, but because of that, and the closeness to town, it was ok.
If I ever stay again though, I'm going to have to ask for a better room!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank j207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeSheff, Owner at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear j207
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. It's always good to get feedback from our guests. We do hope you will return in the future.
Mike Sheffield
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
978 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lovat Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#10 of 18 in Perth
247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 18 in Perth
1,129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#7 of 18 in Perth
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Queens Hotel

Address: 105 Leonard Street, Perth PH2 8HB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Price Range: £57 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Perth
Perth Best Western
Best Western Perth
Best Western Queens Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing