We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Perth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Queens Hotel
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Reviewed 1 September 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MikeSheff, Owner at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Queens Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 587 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

The staff on reception were very friendly and professional on arrival. After leaving the reception area we entered the very dated lift, we walked along the dated corridor which had a straight old smell. The room was very clean and we were only staying the night so served the purpose despite being basic. The breakfast was very poor quality (tasted cheap) I really think this hotel needs to undergo an immediate update and also consider using locally sourced meat from a high quality supplier. If you just want a simple, clean room for the night then this would be fine.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EBreckill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeSheff, Owner at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dr EBreckill

Thank you for leaving a review of your stay. I must say it did make me have a wee giggle when I read that the staff were clean & friendly.

I am disappointed to read that you didn't enjoy your breakfast, it is something we pride ourselves in. We do use local, quality butchers etc for all our produce, but it is good to get feedback from our guests and all comments are taken into consideration.

Kind regards
Mike Sheffield - Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed there on Bank Holiday and really enjoyed the swimming pool/jacuzzi that we luckily had to ourselves.
However I had a terrible night sleep and at 6.52am the fire alarm rang! Then it was a succession of loud people in the corridors, lawnmowing, domestics opening the door without even knocking between 10am and 11am... the room was also very cold.

Thankfully we realised we could get our full Scottish breakfast in bed with no charge or no pre-booking - we rang reception around 8.30am and it arrived shortly after with toasts, coffee, jams etc. which was the highlight before getting back on the road, exhausted!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mezzathefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeSheff, Owner at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Mezzathefrog

Thank you for reviewing your Bank Holiday stay with us. Have to agree nothing better then breakfast in bed. I can only apologise that the fire alarm went off so early but I'm sure you can appreciate that this is outwith our control and is must be investigated to check if it is a false alarm or a genuine incident before alarms can be silenced. I'm afraid though I can't help you with the lawnmowing as we have no gardens so can't explain that one I'm afraid.

Kind regards
Mike Sheffield - Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on Saturday the weekend of the British touring cars at Knockhill, staff where excellent, food was excellent, hotel was clean and rooms warm, found this hotel faultless, I stayed in room 406

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank gerry196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeSheff, Owner at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear gerry196

Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us at the Queens Hotel.

Hopefully we will see you again.

Kind regards
Mike Sheffield - Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I have just spend a night with family at the Queens. The hotel is ideally situated only 5mins walk from the centre of Perth and has free parking which is a bonus. The Spa is free to use for guests which is good but its only small and basic. The rooms are in need of upgrading as the furniture / curtains are all very old - and it shows! The floors do creak and this could keep you awake at night but is a sign of the age of the building. Luckily we had a good sleep until the fire alarm went off at 645am! The breakfast was ok, however some of the food was under cooked. Personally if I had the choice I would book into a premier inn or similar for the same or cheaper price as they are more modern but the staff at the Queens were polite and helpful so maybe just a lick of paint is required to bring it up to the 20th century.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MattyBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeSheff, Owner at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear MattyBlackpool

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. I can only apologise for the disruption with the fire alarm but unfortunately these events are outwith our control and we must investigate if the alarm is genuine before it can be silenced. However an under cooked breakfast is unacceptable and I will be discussing this with my chef.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards
Mike Sheffield - Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My colleague and I stayed here for 1 night. When I first saw my room I was delighted. But after sitting doing my emails for 1 hour I was frozen. I did complain and was told that they would put a small heater in my room. It never arrived. The dining room was cold - the reception was cold. I did point out that I didn't expect to be coked in a £100 a nigh hotel.
The waitress had a funny attitude but the food was O.K until the desert course. He had what looked like a piece of cardboard in his crete brûlée. The head waitress apologised profusely and told us she wouldn't charge us for it, which was generous seeing as he hadn't eaten it. The sugar topping on my crime brûlée had water on it and she didn't charge us for that either. Not really compensation for a sloppy kitchen.
The trouser press didn't work either, and yes I do use them all the time.
I won't be back.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Les L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeSheff, Owner at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Les L

Thank you for your feedback on your stay. I will be discussing these point with my team to make sure these events do not happen in the future and so we can improve the experience we offer to our guests.

Kind regards
Mike Sheffield - Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Stayed for 1 night, spacious room with pleasant furnishings, agree with squeaky floorboards, this was an irritation. Enjoyed lovely bar supper, good quality and value.
Unfortunately didn't have time to use facilities due to comfort of bed. Oops. No noise to disturb sleep :-)
Great breakfast. Friendly staff made us feel welcome. Will return in future.
Like the personal touch of management comments, shows you care and appreciate feedback.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeSheff, Owner at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Bill H

Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel and our staff. Hopefully next time you will be able to make use of our leisure facilities.

Kind regards
Mike Sheffield - Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lovat Hotel
0.4 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 18 in Perth
1,109 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
957 reviews
0.2 mi away
New County Hotel
New County Hotel
#16 of 18 in Perth
770 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#9 of 18 in Perth
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Queens Hotel

Address: 105 Leonard Street, Perth PH2 8HB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Price Range: £61 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Perth
Perth Best Western
Best Western Perth
Best Western Queens Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing