We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely little find!”
Review of The Courtyard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Courtyard
Ranked #14 of 49 Perth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Such a great place to stay. A stunning location, very clean bedrooms.
Omy made us very welcome and cooks a fantastic breakfast! We were made to feel like one of the family.
I would highly recommend staying here. Thankyou!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chocmintchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed at the Courtyard for a couple of nights mid July. What can I say...loved it. The room was fantastic, my wee boy thought it was great to have a bed in his 'own' room. Location perfect & so peaceful. Top marks for our hostess & her hospitality & breakfast. A wee gem of a find & definitely somewhere we will return to!:-)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woody1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

The courtyard was a welcome sight after our long drive from down South. Great room and lots of space for our two dog crates. While there are fields right by the courtyard I took the dogs a couple of miles down to Errol where they are nice quiet signposted walks, there seemed to be quite a few dog walkers on these walks too.
The breakfast was great and served in a lovely room.
Had easy drive the next day up further Niorth and popped into Arbroath to get some smokies and salmon.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norehearsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

A beautifull place to stay at.All four adults stayed for two nights the 12th and 13th July 2013 as we were at my sons wedding at Errol park.This place is a must if you like good hospitality and clean/good accommodation.
Cannot complain about anything.A big thankyou to the host.Will call again next time we visit Scotland.

Room Tip: cottage two was good but our friends cottage 4 was equally as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We only spent one night at The Courtyard but I cannot rate this place highly enough. Perfectly placed for exploring this part of the world. The accommodation is by way of little self catering units but you can get a great breakfast as well. We had three adults and three dogs so there is plenty of space. It is fantastic to find a place that is truly dog friendly rather than somewhere that just tolerates them. The owner was absolutely lovely even when all her guests arrived at the same time. The whole setup is excellent and I am looking for a reason to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spearchucker_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

For the love of Jesus, l keep finding all these wee gems everywhere l go and just when l think l've found the best l am going to get, along comes one that is better.......no bad thing l suppose. This week we find ourselves up in the lovely Scotland, a place were l always feel at home, l love the people, l love the fishing, l love the scenery, l love the racing and most important for me, l love the Scottish potatoes.

The Courtyard came highly recommended on TA and so we booked, its easily found situated 2 mins of the A90 between Perth and Dundee. The location is perfect for exploring the local area and you can pop to either Dundee or Perth in approx. 15 mins, in terms of exploring the local area, we went to Dundee once for the Cinema which was easily found and the rest of our time was spent in Perth which was full of many different things to visit. I highly recommend Scone Palace for a visit and if you are up for the fishing season get out on the River Tay for a days fishing (£25 - £50), worth every penny as it is one of the best Salmon rivers in the world.

The accommodation at The Courtyard was excellent, spotless from top to bottom, comfy beds, great en-suite bathroom, nice settee, it had everything that is required for a short self catering break. We had a good sized fridge, a microwave and everything else that we needed to make ourselves right at home. One little thing that l have to mention as it was so unique to anywhere else l have stayed was the under floor heating in the bathroom, it was brilliant.

As l visit more and more of these types of holiday lettings l believe that the host/s are at least 40% of the deal, without a good host the package is not going to be complete, in some cases that means more to me than the quality of accommodation. In the case of The Courtyard you have two of the best l have met, you have hard working farmer Jim and his trusty springer "Donald" and then the Commander in Chief of the operation, Jim's lovely wife Omy. These two make a great team and you are made to feel comfortable from the minute your booking is made till the time your driving out of the yard. I have to admit with these two as my hosts l would have paid fifty quid to sleep in the shed with the oul springer and two of the chickens.

For all you Pet owners out there who are thinking of bringing a dog, it will be more than welcome and the walks around here for exercise are superb.

Finally l would like to encourage you to pick The Courtyard if you are in the area, it was an excellent choice for us and one l would recommend highly to anyone , l will most certainly return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BillyDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

It's taken me a while to find time to write this review as we stopped overnight at the end of August on our way to John O'Groats for a trip to Orkney. It was great to have the space to relax and small kitchen area to be self sufficient then we opted for the B&B option so we had a hearty, tasty breakfast served up in the kitchen of the main house. I would definitely return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scoobyWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
5.1 mi away
McDonald Arms Hotel
McDonald Arms Hotel
#17 of 49 in Perth
68 reviews
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
10.4 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#1 of 18 in Perth
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#9 of 18 in Perth
247 reviews
7.7 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 18 in Perth
1,138 reviews
8 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtyard

Address: The Courtyard The COURTYARD | By Errol, Perth PH2 7RS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Perth
Price Range: £75 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Courtyard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a few minutes from the A90 Perth-Dundee road, we offer 4 star luxury accommodation at B&B prices. Choose from B&B or Self Catering in your own private suite, in our Courtyard. We are located halfway between Perth and Dundee just a 1 minute drive from the A90 dual carriageway ideal for business or pleasure. The Courtyard also is an ideal touring base, Glasgow, Edinburgh, Aberdeen and Pitlochry are all an hour away. Links Golf is also close by, St Andrews and Carnoustie are only 30 minutes away. We can't wait to welcome you, here at The Courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Courtyard Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing