We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely! Lovely! Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Courtyard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Courtyard
Ranked #15 of 51 Perth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kings Lynn
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely! Lovely! Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We have just been staying in a hotel in Dundee for 2 nights and this place beats it by miles. You do have to research on the Internet about the location as there is a little problem with the postcode; but if you open your eyes & not rely on your sat nav you will find it, no problem. The location is beautiful with picturesque views. Parking is easy on your door step; secure. The greeting is very friendly and you get the feeling ' just ask if you need something' straight away. The accommodation was far better than the hotel. The rooms are spacious, spotless and have a fridge, microwave & kettle. There are the usual tea/coffee plus wine/juice glasses; all very clean.
I found the blanket in the living area a lovely special touch as I am always cold; the rooms are kept at a perfect temp. Bathroom is spotless too. Even shower gel is provided. Beds are comfortable and extra pillows can be found in the wardrobe.
We set a time for breakfast at our convenience. Oh what a treat for breakfast. We opted for cooked and it was prepared there & then. It was perfectly cooked and the surroundings are cosy, homely and inviting.
We were looking for a quite, peaceful place to recuperate after settling our daughter into Uni and with this little gem we found just that. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monika Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    9
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
33
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

I was just looking for some where near a post code as I had a visit to make the next day and wanted to be near my destination. I didn't really look at what I was booking and thought I was going to a hotel! Well what a find!!! A beautiful bed and breakfast conversion of rooms around a farm yard and breakfast in a huge farm house kitchen. Surrounded by countryside, the rooms themselves were spacious and well furnished and under floor heating in the bathroom - a place to remember when winter comes! I will CERTAINLY be back!!

Room Tip: you are surrounded by fields and I think there may have also been rooms in the main farmhouse though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

When you book accommodation from overseas you rely almost entirely on the website and in this case there needs to be some updating – firstly directions- its very hard to find to the point of irritation – this was raised with the owner and in addition the signage when you might be getting close – very poor, you could drive past the driveway numerous times before you get lucky
It’s a great location when you settle in and with beautiful views makes it an easy place to be and reaffirms your choice, however the owners have not left any charm from the original stables which is a real shame – this would have added much needed character
The accommodation is newish- it is not clean/ spotless by definition and this is unforgivable, it is tidy only and has funny/weird ornaments strewn around???? That does not fit in.
Accommodation is spacious, great for luggage and general moving around space there is underfloor heating in the bathroom which is a treat and comes on at the owners doing not yours
The parking is great safe and secure
From the reviews the locals seem to like this kind of thing and we thought we would too, but there is an air of only the minimum is done to make your stay comfortable
We had to chase toilet paper, and towels which is not hospitality our bins were not emptied daily, no attention to detail, dusty, sticky surfaces, old drink circle marks from previous guests
Owners are happy to take your money but do not follow through
Breakfast was a strange affair – you have to eat within a very small window of time as nominated by the owner- and not too early because that might disturb the routine?
For example you have to advise the day before what you eat- that’s ok, but on the day a very small selection of items is available, you sit in the kitchen at the owners table while she fries it all up- hope you like lots of oil, and then you get cold hard toast, no offer for more fresh and hot, not a generous situation, better off having breakfast in your room at least you will have what you like at whatever time you like
The bed is a twin zipped bed with a hollow/ dip in the middle- bad
There are no face cloths or bathrobes, only 1 water glass when you are booking for 2 people, the clock did not work, very plain décor – no attempt to go that little bit further and make it comfortable and attractive- not a real B&B, no sugar, no tea/coffee provided and the communal situation was uncomfortable, the owner I thought seemed uncomfortable herself like she was going through the motions and could not wait for it all to be over

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank boski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Such a great place to stay. A stunning location, very clean bedrooms.
Omy made us very welcome and cooks a fantastic breakfast! We were made to feel like one of the family.
I would highly recommend staying here. Thankyou!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chocmintchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed at the Courtyard for a couple of nights mid July. What can I say...loved it. The room was fantastic, my wee boy thought it was great to have a bed in his 'own' room. Location perfect & so peaceful. Top marks for our hostess & her hospitality & breakfast. A wee gem of a find & definitely somewhere we will return to!:-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woody1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

The courtyard was a welcome sight after our long drive from down South. Great room and lots of space for our two dog crates. While there are fields right by the courtyard I took the dogs a couple of miles down to Errol where they are nice quiet signposted walks, there seemed to be quite a few dog walkers on these walks too.
The breakfast was great and served in a lovely room.
Had easy drive the next day up further Niorth and popped into Arbroath to get some smokies and salmon.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norehearsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

A beautifull place to stay at.All four adults stayed for two nights the 12th and 13th July 2013 as we were at my sons wedding at Errol park.This place is a must if you like good hospitality and clean/good accommodation.
Cannot complain about anything.A big thankyou to the host.Will call again next time we visit Scotland.

Room Tip: cottage two was good but our friends cottage 4 was equally as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
10.4 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#2 of 18 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
7.7 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
7.7 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
7.4 mi away
Pitcullen Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtyard

Property: The Courtyard
Address: The Courtyard The COURTYARD | By Errol, Perth PH2 7RS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a few minutes from the A90 Perth-Dundee road, we offer 4 star luxury accommodation at B&B prices. Choose from B&B or Self Catering in your own private suite, in our Courtyard. We are located halfway between Perth and Dundee just a 1 minute drive from the A90 dual carriageway ideal for business or pleasure. The Courtyard also is an ideal touring base, Glasgow, Edinburgh, Aberdeen and Pitlochry are all an hour away. Links Golf is also close by, St Andrews and Carnoustie are only 30 minutes away. We can't wait to welcome you, here at The Courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Courtyard Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing