We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food & Service”
Review of Grand Italia

Grand Italia
Ranked #5 of 201 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$25
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
New York City
Level Contributor
431 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 566 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Recommended highly by our hotel, we called in a reservation and were glad we did. While Perthshire seemed quiet, this restaurant was booked solid and for good reason. Very pleasant waitstaff, all spoke Italian (and English) with classic Italian menu. Began with bruschetta, crostini misti, and foccacia aglio & rosmarino (so fresh, just a delight), then minestrone and salads- caesar, insalata mista, and rucola & parmigiano. Then we settled on pastas for second courses to leave room for dessert. Classic spaghetti bolognese, penne piccanti, spaghetti marinara all were done perfectly, succinctly, served al dente with the freshest ingredients, plain, simple, delicious. The Tortellini gigante filled with asparagus and ricotta was a real unusual treat and superb.
We tried a myriad of desserts, all were good but their version of the tiramisu was most like the one I love and adore from venice, and their torta di mele was a huge crowd-pleaser. Mario (the owner) was a prince, insuring we were happy at every moment, and I was pleasantly surprised at the wide variety of wines available for all price ranges and preferences, from light prosecco and sparkling rosés to barbaresco, amarones and barolos. We were so happy we went, a perfect meal!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank YaleDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    146
    31
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tasteless”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We've been to this restaurant many times and always had a good meal. Today was different.

My starter, deep fried breaded mozzarella was tasteless and had the appearance of supermarket prepared. Main was the same. Textureless over-processed meat in the cannelloni and I had the feeling there was a bit too much breadcrumb in the mixture. Couldn't see much evidence of bechamel sauce either.

My wife found her soup tasteless too. Her risotto didn't look as if it had been prepared with risotto rice and was quite dry, not the creamy texture you expect from this dish. When she reported this to the waitress at the end of the meal, the girl smiled - not the response we expected.

It might have been a bad day at Grand Italia, but you're only as good as your last meal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Zog F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“his lordship”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

went out with my grandson and we decided as we are having a boys night i would let him pick the venue for dinner and am i glad i did he selected the Grand Italia and with him being a bit of a fuss pot when it comes to food i thought this may be a bit rich for him.
he however asked for his food to be done in a certain way and they obliged
and as we had not booked they where quite happy to fit us in
and this was the best Italian food i have had in years
the staff and location were great we will be going back again
loved the service well done a few places could learn from them

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We often dine here, the last time being a week ago. We have always found the food to be of a good standard and the service fine, if sometimes lacking in making the diner feel special. As locals we will continue to dine here as long as the standard of food and service is maintained.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flona2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Simply delicous !!!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Been to Grand Italia many times i always enjoy italian food and to me Marios pasta dishes are delicious and the deserts are so yummy the staff are very polite and theres a great atmosphere and u get a lovely welcome everytime u arrive from Mario and his wife to would highly recommend it
Elaine and Kev
(Perth)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand Italia also viewed

 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Grand Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing