We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely one for a return visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunbank House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
hertford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Definitely one for a return visit”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

What a find.Comfortable & welcoming.Staff were very pleasant & John`s cooking & advice was the icing on the cake.The location was just right with a 10 minute walk into town.Perth itself is a very pleasant town to spend a few days in & the surrounding countryside is beautiful particularly in the autumn.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steamhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    59
    26
    9
    0
See reviews for
41
155
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I chose this accommodation based on reviews from others and as usual I was not disappointed. The location to Perth city was excellent and my room at the front of the hotel gave me concern for road noise but that fear evaporated as I sank into a dep sleep after an active day in Perth (in between rain storms). The carparking was off the main road at the rear of the hotel and was of a size to accommodate the guests. The down stairs guests lounge adjacent to the dining room was bright and chery. The night meal as far as I was able to ascertain from other guests was quite good. I had the french onion soup with crusty bread and I enjoyed every drop. The next morning's breakfast was also excellent, good size and eggs cooked to order. What more can you want????

Room Tip: I arrived ealy and although the room was not read John allowed me to store my bags and then placed t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Backhome1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriental, NC, USA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

After one-night stays in Edinburgh and St. Andrews, we were ready for a little relaxation, and Sunbank House proved to be the perfect choice for a two-night stay. Although the room was compact, it was very comfortable with a large bath. We were also thrilled to have a room on the ground floor (thanks, John!), avoiding the need to lug our luggage up stairs. Private car park, truly deluxe accommodations, excellent dinner (thanks again, John) and delightful full breakfast. We found Sunbank House (and Perth) to be the perfect spot to explore the area from. This was the most elegant hotel we encountered in our six-night visit to Scotland. If and when we return, we will welcome the opportunity to stay at Sunbank House again. Thanks, again, John and your entire staff.

Room Tip: Our room 11 on the ground floor was perfect for a couple and easy in/out
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carluke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

This small Hotel is difficult to rate given the varying levels of service during our two day stay.

Reception
We were greeted if thats the correct word by a very brusque lady on our arrival who challenge4d us on entering via the front door of the Hotel.
I have to say that everyone else we encoutered and in particular the foreign chap in charge of breakfast were excellent but first impressions count.

Rooms
Large clean room however there were several negatives:- beds were badly in need of replacement, they provided two tiny bars of soap during our stay one of which was used previously (very unhygenic), the sink and bath fittings are cheap and old fashioned and the mixer tap has two separate jets of water Hot/cold.
There is no complimentary water provided in the rooms.

Food
Only ate breakfast which was first class.The evening menu looked nice although a bit expensive.

Overall I was very surprised at the negative points which I have raised given previous reviews and the £100 a room per night tariff

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WallyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed just one night. Wished it could be longer. The room was spacious , clean and beautifully decorated. The staff were wonderful. Very helpful and provided service and assistance well beyond the call of duty. Helpful with directions and suggestions. Breakfast was the best we have had so far in Scotland. Onsite parking is a bonus and the short walk into town is very pleasant along the river.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front of the house. Lovely views over the garden and the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
229 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed at the Sunbank House this summer. The hotel is nice at 10mn walking distance from downtown. The room was spacious and overseeing the river but the bathroom is small. The hotel is very quiete. For breakfast, we got a nice traditionnal scottish meal.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricMToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2012

The hotel sits North of the river Tay, raised looking over the city. The building is lovely standing in its own grounds. The staff are friendly and very helpful(moved a car helped with my trailer, couldn't have asked for more). Very nice large, very clean room, with a large bathroom and a good large bed. Great veiw of the city. Only had breakfast which was excellent.

We will go again next time we are south towards Perth. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone heading to Perth or around the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laverda998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
3.6 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#2 of 18 in Perth
904 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#10 of 18 in Perth
230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
628 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
0.8 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbank House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbank House Hotel

Property: Sunbank House Hotel
Address: 50 Dundee Road, Perth PH2 7BA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#4 Family Hotel in Perth
#4 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunbank House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sunbank House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbank Hotel Perth
Sunbank House Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing