We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Sunbank.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunbank House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
cumbria
1 review
“Peaceful Sunbank.”
Reviewed 11 May 2008

We recently stayed at Sunbank House Hotel for a few days. Sunbank is an extended Victorian property built in the 1850's, we enjoyed the fact that it is full of character.

We found it to be clean and very comfortable. The food, cooked by the proprietor, was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble, he took into account our likes and dislikes and suggested imaginative menus for us. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

Although situated on the main Dundee Road, the traffic noise was not intrusive. Sunbank is a short stroll into the centre of Perth. We enjoyed our stay very much and will certainly return.

  • Liked — Comfortabe. View over Perth.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bordercity46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    61
    26
    9
    0
See reviews for
42
161
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2008

This was my second visit in 18 months and amazingly they recognised me immediatly.It was as if I had been there just last week. Thier service is second to none and the food is simply the best. The Owners and Staff are attentive and helpful nothing is to much trouble definitly a hotel with 4 Star Treatment for thier guests The fact it is a five minute walk into the centre of town makes it convenient and yet peaceful.Thankyou Remo ,Georgina and thier Staff for making my stay just Great from start to finish.I will be Back.

  • Liked — The convenance to town but peaceful friendly atmosphere ,fantastic food and wine
  • Disliked — Leaving to go home.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rea_va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2007

I have stayed here on a number of occasions this year and each time it has more that net my expectations. Althought small the hotel provides all that I require.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and the food when I have eaten it has been good.

  • Liked — Location and friendly staff
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hicko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockingham, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2006

Our reservations were made through the Scotland TI on the Isle of Skye and we were very delighted with the Sunbank House Hotel. The hotel is very charming and is well located overlooking the city of Perth. The rooms are well appointed and contain modern features. The host Remo was gracious and is an outstanding chef. We decided to stay in Perth and make day trips down to St. Andrews, Edinburg and Sterling and found them all to be within easy commuting distance for day trips. The hotel is easy to locate and was a pleasure to return to each day.

One evening we arranged with Remo to prepare diner for our group and he prepared one of the best meals we experienced while in Scotland. Everything was wonderful and made us regret not having chosen this alternative more than our last evening.

I highly recommend the Sunbank House Hotel for others visiting in the area and we would definately stay here again on our next trip to Scotland. The price was competitive with others (coming from the US we found all hotels to be expensive) and would rate it as one of the best during our trip.

  • Liked — Well located, comfortable accomodations, great staff.
  • Tips/Secrets — Arrange for a diner meal prepared by the owner/chef Remo
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ColonelJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyll, Scotland
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2006

WE booked for a stay in September. It was stated as 4 star but I really feel that this should not be the case. I thought the hosts were terrific but it is really not a 4 star hotel rather more like a very good B+B.
They were very accomodating but the price of staying far outweighed the what I truly feel it was worth. Sorry!

  • Liked — Very Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Much too expensive
  • Tips/Secrets — There are much cheaper equilavents around
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Picnictime4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Borders
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2006

We stayed here in march 06, we were stunned to find the quality of the room we were given (No.1). The hotel itself looks lovely from the outside and in the hallways etc, but our room was extremely small and of very poor quality and finish. the bathroom was so small that there was no room for a sink! so instead it was inside the bedroom, a few inched from our bed!. Overall we won't stay here again, we have stayed in much better hotels for a lot less money, very poor value for money.


  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimmyScottishBorders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
3.6 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#1 of 18 in Perth
931 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
1,088 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#10 of 18 in Perth
239 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
0.8 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbank House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbank House Hotel

Property: Sunbank House Hotel
Address: 50 Dundee Road, Perth PH2 7BA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#4 Business Hotel in Perth
#4 Family Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunbank House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Sunbank House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbank Hotel Perth
Sunbank House Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing