We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the way to do it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunbank House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds England
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“This is the way to do it!”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

If only we could be sure that every hotel was as good as this wouldn't travel be a lot easier!
Previous excellent ratings are well deserved by Remi and Georgina and not forgetting John and the other excellent staff. The welcome was friendly and helpful, the cleanliness of the rooms and appointment of the public spaces was exceptional-it's a magnificent old house-not too big but just grand enough to feel special. Breakfast was everything one would hope-including home made croissants. We had the evening meal and although the menu was a little limited -understandable it's not a chain more like a family home-it was superb. What really pleased me was crystal wine glasses and air dried sheets-who knew I could be so easily won!!! If you are in this neck of the woods they treat yourself-it's not an area we visit often unfortunately otherwise I 'd be back tomorrow!!

Room Tip: It is next to a busy road but the traffic at night is negligible and the view makes it worth it. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thompson2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    61
    26
    9
    0
See reviews for
42
159
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Sunbank House for 2 nights during our trip to Scotland and were looking forward to our stay here after reading reviews on TripAdvisor. Were we ever disappointed. All the furniture is dated and worn (seat cushions were completely without support in the dining room). It was very warm during our stay and there was no air moving in our tiny, cramped room, even with the window open. When in the room, we would leave our door ajar for air movement. Bathrooms were outdated as well. I could not wait to leave when our stay was up.

On a positive note, Zane was very helpful, offering recommendations for things not to miss in the area and helping us plan our day. Breakfasts were good and filling. We ate dinner there one night and it was satisfying as well. We loved the grounds and enjoyed sitting outside with a cocktail in the evening an coffee in the mornings.

With some major redecorating and renovation, it could be a very lovely place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PASeamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Overall a lovely quiet little hotel. We were made very welcome and staff were very attentive and friendly! Close to town centre and easy to find, Room and bathroom were spotless, and we got a great nights sleep! The breakfast was perfect with a varied menu. Would gladly recommend and would have no hesitation in returning!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsR6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Overall a great stay! Accommodations, management, staff, food and value all outstanding! Perth was a great "hub" for visiting various locations during our 7 night stay. No hesitation in recommending the Sunbank House Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Situated on the main road 5-10 mins walk from the town centre a really nice quiet hotel with helpful staff and management who gave us a warm welcome, We stayed a couple of nights, rooms nice & clean but could have done with a proper shower surround rather than a curtain around a bath.

I had the cooked breakfast both mornings and this was adequate. My wife had poached eggs and bacon on day 1 (2 of each) and ordered poached eggs on toast the second morning which was A poached egg on A slice of toast...the 2 staff in the breakfast room on day 2 perhaps didn't seem as on the ball as the young lady on day 1.

We didn't try the evening food but the aroma was really pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluesinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed here with extended family. Rooms are spacious and clean. The grounds are pretty and the gardens well maintained. In easy location of Perth town centre. A pleasant 5 minute walk over the bridge.
The breakfasts were superb as was the evening meal. Good quality food, cooked to perfection and well presented.

The lounge/ bar was a nice added bonus. We read papers in it in the mornings, met up for tea in the afternoon and enjoyed an aperitif before our evening meal.
The aspect which stood out in the place was the friendliness and helpfulness of the proprietor and staff. My family can be referred as high maintenance and yet nothing was too much to ask for. They could not have made us feel more welcome.
I cannot comment about the cost of the stay as a generous father was paying for the treat. However this is the second time he has taken us here and he is a man who generally looks to get good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blistergoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxby Downs, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

The owner was very helpful even though they were nearly full did their utmost to get my disabled family member a room close to us. She got a fourposter bed all to herself that made her feel very special. Restaurant meals were enjoyed by all. Breakfast was lovely, beds comfortable beautiful
views from our room at the front The staff even took photos of us together no regrets .Nice hot showers. If what you want is a character property with all the trimmings this is it. Parking on site.
Very clean rooms. The room we had was a good size I think they vary. I would recommend this lovely hotel

Room Tip: If you need a larger room it would be best to ask, as this is a period property room sizes vary
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
3.6 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#2 of 18 in Perth
920 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#10 of 18 in Perth
234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
637 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
0.8 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbank House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbank House Hotel

Property: Sunbank House Hotel
Address: 50 Dundee Road, Perth PH2 7BA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#4 Family Hotel in Perth
#4 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunbank House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sunbank House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbank Hotel Perth
Sunbank House Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing