We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Sunbank”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunbank House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2008

My husband and I stayed at Sunbank House Hotel for 2 nights.
It is a charming old hotel with a lovely dining/breakfast room. The room was very comfortable and clean with a modern bathroom.
The breakfasts were delicious and included a cold buffet plus a choice of cooked breakfast . The staff were very friendly and helpful. We thought the tariff which inlcuded breakfast was very reasonable.
The hotel is in very pretty position near the river and it was lovely to walk along the riverbank and park nearby. It was a short walk over the bridge to the town. Even though it is on a main road, it is set back on large grounds and is very quiet. There is ample parking if you have a car.
We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 2gnomesinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
There are newer reviews for Sunbank House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2008

27 June 2008

Just returned from a two night stay. First class small hotel. Proprietor does the cooking. Very enjoyable. Staff very friendly and efficient. Rooms are very comfortable. The showers work which is not always the case with some other hotels. Will stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the-blackisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2008

We recently stayed at Sunbank House Hotel for a few days. Sunbank is an extended Victorian property built in the 1850's, we enjoyed the fact that it is full of character.

We found it to be clean and very comfortable. The food, cooked by the proprietor, was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble, he took into account our likes and dislikes and suggested imaginative menus for us. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

Although situated on the main Dundee Road, the traffic noise was not intrusive. Sunbank is a short stroll into the centre of Perth. We enjoyed our stay very much and will certainly return.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bordercity46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2008

This was my second visit in 18 months and amazingly they recognised me immediatly.It was as if I had been there just last week. Thier service is second to none and the food is simply the best. The Owners and Staff are attentive and helpful nothing is to much trouble definitly a hotel with 4 Star Treatment for thier guests The fact it is a five minute walk into the centre of town makes it convenient and yet peaceful.Thankyou Remo ,Georgina and thier Staff for making my stay just Great from start to finish.I will be Back.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rea_va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2007

I have stayed here on a number of occasions this year and each time it has more that net my expectations. Althought small the hotel provides all that I require.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and the food when I have eaten it has been good.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hicko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2006

Our reservations were made through the Scotland TI on the Isle of Skye and we were very delighted with the Sunbank House Hotel. The hotel is very charming and is well located overlooking the city of Perth. The rooms are well appointed and contain modern features. The host Remo was gracious and is an outstanding chef. We decided to stay in Perth and make day trips down to St. Andrews, Edinburg and Sterling and found them all to be within easy commuting distance for day trips. The hotel is easy to locate and was a pleasure to return to each day.

One evening we arranged with Remo to prepare diner for our group and he prepared one of the best meals we experienced while in Scotland. Everything was wonderful and made us regret not having chosen this alternative more than our last evening.

I highly recommend the Sunbank House Hotel for others visiting in the area and we would definately stay here again on our next trip to Scotland. The price was competitive with others (coming from the US we found all hotels to be expensive) and would rate it as one of the best during our trip.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ColonelJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2006

WE booked for a stay in September. It was stated as 4 star but I really feel that this should not be the case. I thought the hosts were terrific but it is really not a 4 star hotel rather more like a very good B+B.
They were very accomodating but the price of staying far outweighed the what I truly feel it was worth. Sorry!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Picnictime4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
3.6 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#1 of 18 in Perth
944 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
1,108 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#6 of 18 in Perth
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#9 of 18 in Perth
244 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
0.8 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbank House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbank House Hotel

Address: 50 Dundee Road, Perth PH2 7BA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#4 Business Hotel in Perth
#4 Family Hotel in Perth
Price Range: £66 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunbank House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Sunbank House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbank Hotel Perth
Sunbank House Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing