We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and friendly. A typical old style hotel with some modernised parts.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunbank House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Welcoming and friendly. A typical old style hotel with some modernised parts.”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We were made to feel extremely welcome by all persons on duty on arrival and at every interaction thereafter. The room was clean and comfortable. The food was good and good value too.

Everything about the stay was good, cannot fault anything at all.

Another reviewer commented on the furniture in the dining room having lost its support, this is true but adds to the charm of the place. All furniture was in keeping with the age of the hotel.

The hotel is in a great location, but not far back from main road therefore road noise could be an issue for some. Just ask for a room at the back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    61
    26
    9
    0
See reviews for
42
161
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Three of us arrived en route from Edinburgh to Aberdeen. We couldn't get any accommodation in Aberdeen because of the oil and gas conference there and, booking late, the nearest we could find was Perth. I'm glad we did. Perth itself looked lovely and well worth exploring - perhaps another time. The welcome and service from Georgina and Remigio Zane were exceptional. One of our party was a light sleeper and so given a quiet room at the back of the hotel. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The dinner was excellent - one of our party said her steak was the best she had had in ages. My lamb was delicious. We had to leave very early in the morning - far earlier than the normal breakfast service - and Remigio left food for us in the kitchen so we could help ourselves. In the event, he got up early and served us anyway! I will definitely return.

Room Tip: Light sleepers would do better at the back, but the noise on the road was not excessive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Cotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Lovely massive bed lovely breakfast amazing location and grounds only down fall was very small bathroom but the rest of the hotel made up for that it was lovely :) thank you so much for a wonderful stay hopefully we will be back soon

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cjbubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed as a family, taking 3 rooms, all of which were beautiful, very comfortable, and very clean. We received a warm welcome after the 6 1/2 hour drive up from the midlands. The grounds were very pretty and the location was perfect for our needs. Breakfast was wonderful and we booked to eat one evening to find that the standard of food and service was very high and the price very reasonable. We had ordered packed lunches for all of us for 2 days of our stay and these were ample and tasty - very convenient for us. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners, management and staff and we had a wonderful stay. We will be looking to book again for next summer.

Thank you to all at the Sunbank for your professional yet personable care and attention to detail.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessicabunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkwall, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

we stayed here in the first week of july ,,with our dog balfour, the hotel was just what we were looking for clean and well run,, the wee bar / sitting room was very nice and when we were their it was so hot we had your drinks out side , just great , will be back thank you guys

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gifford L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlethen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Had a lovely time staying at this hotel the owner and his wife were fantastic the staff were very polite.the room was fantastic very large great view wish we had time to stay longer was a great place.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds England
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

If only we could be sure that every hotel was as good as this wouldn't travel be a lot easier!
Previous excellent ratings are well deserved by Remi and Georgina and not forgetting John and the other excellent staff. The welcome was friendly and helpful, the cleanliness of the rooms and appointment of the public spaces was exceptional-it's a magnificent old house-not too big but just grand enough to feel special. Breakfast was everything one would hope-including home made croissants. We had the evening meal and although the menu was a little limited -understandable it's not a chain more like a family home-it was superb. What really pleased me was crystal wine glasses and air dried sheets-who knew I could be so easily won!!! If you are in this neck of the woods they treat yourself-it's not an area we visit often unfortunately otherwise I 'd be back tomorrow!!

Room Tip: It is next to a busy road but the traffic at night is negligible and the view makes it worth it. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thompson2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
3.6 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#1 of 18 in Perth
932 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
1,089 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#10 of 18 in Perth
239 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
0.8 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbank House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbank House Hotel

Property: Sunbank House Hotel
Address: 50 Dundee Road, Perth PH2 7BA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#4 Business Hotel in Perth
#4 Family Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunbank House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Sunbank House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbank Hotel Perth
Sunbank House Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing