We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here for golfing weekends for the past 10 years, so yes we will be back”
Review of New County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New County Hotel
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Stayed here for golfing weekends for the past 10 years, so yes we will be back”
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Always get treated very well by Alan and his staff.
Rooms are always tidy and clean on arrival.
Breakfast -always had a good choice and the food is well presented
Location is spot on for golf and for night life
Close to lots of restaurants if you you need to go out for a change

Room Tip: noisy sometimes in rooms facing street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jad13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ralphsymon, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Thank you very much for your kind words. It is good to hear that your continued custom is a result of our dedication to produce a good service consistently. We look forward to your return next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    258
    138
    45
    47
See reviews for
63
421
27
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
peterhead
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2011

staff especially Alan superb.
Travel every year and excellent value for money.
Most helpful and accomodating

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterheadBlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ralphsymon, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2011
May I take this opportunity to thank you for your kind comments. It's welcome to hear we can provide an excellent service year after year. We look forward to your future booking with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
134 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Located near the library and within a short walk from the shops. The Opus One restaurant and bar food was very good quality - all cooked to order and much nicer than the traditional Scottish fayre usually on offer.

We did switch rooms after the first night as we found the first floor very warm and as it was overlooking the main road, it was quite noisy. The staff handled this well and our second choice of room was much cooler and less noisy.

Room Tip: Avoid 1st floor rooms overlooking main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leopards_cheetahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ralphsymon, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Can I take this opportunity to thank you for your comments. We were only too happy to accommodate your request to move during your stay, and glad to help in making your stay as comfortable as possible. We look forward to your next visit to Perth and look forward to having you again as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2011

I stayed here again on my trip north, you get such a nice welcome.
On this trip I dined in their newly reburfished Bistro and as in Opus One where I dined on my last trip the food is fantastic and the service equally so. After a good nights sleep and a nice breakfast im off to Inverness.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clar55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ralphsymon, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Can I take this opportunity to thank you for your comments. We are proud of our newly refurbished Bistro and it's refreshed menu and the welcome it has received. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Very nice stay in Perth with a great sized room. Very centrally located boutique style hotel Excellent breakfast in the Opus One Restaurant!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ralphsymon, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2011
May I take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words. We look forward to the next time you visit Perth, and decide to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

The New County Hotel is located near the town centre with only a 2 minute walk to the main centre. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. No complaints whatsoever. Note, there is no lift in this hotel but that is not a problem.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DorothyH_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ralphsymon, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2011
Thank you very much for your recent comments. We look forward to accommodating you once again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

My husband and ,I along with our two friends stayed for two nights over the Easter weekend and enjoyed our stay very much. The staff are very friendly and helpfull. Our rooms were lovely although the stairs were a bit of a struggle by the time we reached our 2nd floor rooms. We booked bed and breakfast and the breakfast was very good. Lots to choose from and cooked fresh. The restaurant is beautiful and although we didn't actually eat dinner there ourselves, the menu looked great. City centre location means the hotel is 5 minutes from everywhere, including the bus and train stations. Hope to go back to Perth soon and will definately stay at the New Vounty Hotel

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ralphsymon, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2011
Thank you very much for your recent comments. We are delighted that you found your stay relaxing and enjoyable, and hope that the next time you visit you'll have the opportunity to have dinner in Opus One. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.3 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#11 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New County Hotel

Property: New County Hotel
Address: 22/30 County Place, Perth PH2 8EE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — New County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New County Hotel:Right in the heart of Perth's city centre, within easy walking distance of all that the city of Perth has to offer. Perth Theatre, Perth Concert hall, Perth Museum and Perth Leisure Pool are all within easy reach. The city's bus and train stations are just a short walk away. This fine hotel offers fresh and comfortable en suite rooms. Guests have access to free Wi-Fi throughout, limited free parking, and superb award-winning fine dining in the Opus One Restaurant.Rooms are individually decorated, with a flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi access. Each room also comes with a hospitality tray. It offers modern cuisine in attractive contemporary surroundings.The hotel has Gavin's Bistro Bar, serving a varied menu and sporting an authentic pub atmosphere.Light and airy, the stylish Café 22 is a great place to relax with friends and enjoy tea or coffee, scones or a light meal.An Excellent Conference, Meeting, Special Event And Celebration Venue In Perth City Centre. Whether you are planning an event or celebration, business or pleasure or a mixture of both, we meet all your needs professionally and expertly.The hotel function room can comfortably accommodate up to 100 people theatre style and 80 in dinner dance format, weddings for up to 80 guests.The hotel has free Wifi access throughout the hotel.Function Suite and Opus One Restaurant are available for private hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your New County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New County Perth
Hotel New County
New County Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing