We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't freeze here!”
Review of New County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New County Hotel
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We booked 2 rooms on a KGB deal which included meal on 1st night. We arrived after 3pm and the check in was swift our rooms were allocated and transpired our own room (107) was facing the main road which was quite noisy, we had a quick look in 108 which hadn’t been made up, it was facing a courtyard and would clearly be quieter. I returned to reception and asked if a quieter room was available I was offered 108 and aware that it was not ready to be occupied I said we would sit with our friends in their room until it was ready. I was offered coffee whilst I waited by the very polite lady on the desk, but declined as I didn’t need it.
The room was ready within 30 minutes. It was large with a separate seating area, it faced a sort of courtyard with no view. The room is clean and has a large comfortable bed and it is absolutely roasting! There is a mobile aircon unit which was fine but we had to sleep all night with a window open to keep cool, never done that in Scotland before in January! The next day we discovered that the large unit on the wall was not a heater, but a powerful aircon unit which did the trick!

We decided to have our meal in Gavin’s Bistro where Jalal, the manager, was most helpful (he must work 24 hour shifts as he was always around!)
The Flatiron steak he recommended was excellent and perfectly cooked. The Just Laugh Comedy Store had a show in the hotel and this was excellent value at £10. There were 3 comedians and Vladamir McTavish was hilarious (had never heard of him before, but he is a seasoned comedian)

Breakfast on both mornings was in the lovely Opus restaurant and very good they were indeed.

Car parking is available at rear of hotel, however it is really small and a tight fit, I wouldn’t leave my car there even if there was spaces.

There is a short stay Council operated car park next to the hotel, fees are payable 8am-6pm Monday to Saturday (Max 3 hr stay) if you arrive say 3.30 pay for 3 hours it will mean you are covered until 8.30am next day then move your car to the car park located a few yards down the street opposite the front of the hotel. It’s £4.50 for 10 hours but as you have to pay 24hrs a day move it back to council car park after 6pm and you will have overnight free parking and if you are Sunday departure its free all day anyway.

Overall a very good weekend and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from main road.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeandSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (770)
There are newer reviews for New County Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

582 - 588 of 770 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2013

Just had a lovely weekend stay at the New County Hotel in Perth. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was very clean, although the bathroom was a bit dated. We had dinner in the Bistro where the food was of a very high standard. The breakfast menu was also very good with a great variety of cooked and cold breakfast options. The service was exceptional and we would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

The staff and General Manager Jalal were all very friendly and welcoming. The bedrooms are small and the one we had was cold as the heating kept going off. The food on New Year's Eve was not acceptable the main course rib of beef was so tough I could not eat it, and my husband's fish was overcooked and tasteless also we sat down to eat at 8 o'clock and we finished at 10.35 whereas on New Year"s day the food was good and it did not take so long. The manager and staff were exceptional,hotel was clean but no lift and a lot of stairs.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pedro54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, but the room was rather small and the traffic noise was too loud. We were on the second floor and I found the stairs rather narrow and twisting. The breakfast was good and plentiful, although the service was a bit on the slow side. We were on a special deal so the value was quite good, but I wouldn't wish to pay any more.

Room Tip: No lift so ask for room on lower floor.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evansnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

This was one of the best short breaks we have ever been on.
The general manager Jalal was impecally dressed throughout and his service was the best we have ever experienced, he was very professional throughout, even helping out at breakfast, his staff deserve credit as well for exceptional service.
Last time we experienced this sort of service was at Gleneagles, so well done every one.
The hotel was spotless through out, our room was a good size, and although at front no great noise experienced from street.
The food was really good as well, with a wide choice available, so no complaints here whatsoever.
However there is no lift, so may not be convenient if stairs are a problem, just ask for a low floor.
Anyone that complains about this place are just being mean, a 5 star service from arrival to departure, will definately be back.
Also great location and parking available at hotel or car park across street.
Enjoy your holiday Jamal, you deserve it.

Room Tip: As i said if stairs are a problem ask for lower floor, our room 214 was great, can not comment on ot...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hazzykaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

We were all bowled over by your fantastic review! All the staff here at the New County Hotel go the extra mille to make every guest feel extra special and will find your lovely comments so encouraging –
It has been a pleasure looking after you, we hope it is not too long before your next visit and we all wish you the best for 2013.

Jalal Al Ibrahimi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Just had a lovely 2 night break at the New County Hotel in Perth. A very warm welcome from Jamal, and all staff throughout our stay went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Yes, the bedroom was a little small and old fashioned but very clean and comfortable. We faced the back so had no trouble with noise from the street. Our included meal on the first night was in Opus One award winning restaurant in the hotel and was delicious. The wine list was good and affordable. The car park is small but Jamal offered to park our car and we did not have any worries about it during our stay. Overall a very pleasant stay and we would definitely return to the New County.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel to avoid potential traffic noise from busy main road.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at New County Hotel.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Jalal al Ibrahimi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Nice hotel but bedroom was small also no lift but very pleasant staff and good location worth a short break good food .ps fire alarm went off every night that we stayed manager explained wt on eng fault with system.
Early morning call ....

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BordersThecaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write the review, We really appreciate the remarks and our apology for the incovinience the fire alarm caused, it has now been fixed.
We hope it is not too long before your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.3 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 18 in Perth
1,108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
955 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
688 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grampian Hotel
Grampian Hotel
#14 of 18 in Perth
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New County Hotel

Address: 22/30 County Place, Perth PH2 8EE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Perth
Price Range: £46 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New County Hotel:Right in the heart of Perth's city centre, within easy walking distance of all that the city of Perth has to offer. Perth Theatre, Perth Concert hall, Perth Museum and Perth Leisure Pool are all within easy reach. The city's bus and train stations are just a short walk away. This fine hotel offers fresh and comfortable en suite rooms. Guests have access to free Wi-Fi throughout, limited free parking, and superb award-winning fine dining in the Opus One Restaurant.Rooms are individually decorated, with a flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi access. Each room also comes with a hospitality tray. It offers modern cuisine in attractive contemporary surroundings.The hotel has Gavin's Bistro Bar, serving a varied menu and sporting an authentic pub atmosphere.Light and airy, the stylish Café 22 is a great place to relax with friends and enjoy tea or coffee, scones or a light meal.An Excellent Conference, Meeting, Special Event And Celebration Venue In Perth City Centre. Whether you are planning an event or celebration, business or pleasure or a mixture of both, we meet all your needs professionally and expertly.The hotel function room can comfortably accommodate up to 100 people theatre style and 80 in dinner dance format, weddings for up to 80 guests.The hotel has free Wifi access throughout the hotel.Function Suite and Opus One Restaurant are available for private hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your New County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New County Perth
Hotel New County
New County Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing