We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!!!”
Review of New County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New County Hotel
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!!!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the New County hotel this weekend using a living social voucher my parents had purchased to celebrate our engagement.

Normally with these types of vouchers, the service you receive isn't great as you are not paying full price. However, this was definitely not the case at the New County.

The staff were very attentive and could not have been more helpful, friendly and lovely during our stay. We were made to feel very welcome and were looked after in every aspect.

Our voucher included a 5(!) course meal. There are 2 gorgeous restaurants in the hotel, we chose to eat in the more casual bistro where we had full choice of the menu. The food was absolutely fantastic, cooked to perfection and was creative and delicious.

We will definitely be returning to the New County and have already recommended it to several friends and family. We cannot thank the staff enough for making our weekend so special. Keep up the good work!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GemmaG85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
We were all bowled over by your fantastic review! All the staff here at the New County and all staff go the extra mille to make every guest feel special and will find your lovely comments so encouraging –
From all staff again,congratulation on your engagement, and look forward to your next visit.

Jalal Al Ibrahimi & New County Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    259
    141
    47
    50
See reviews for
65
425
30
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight through a Goupon deal, and considering we were budget holidayers we never at any point felt undervalued (as some places do when you're a voucher holder). Jalal greeted us on arrival and couldn't be any more helpful. Simon and Jimmy were our hosts at dinner, and recommended some places to visit in Perth. Room was slightly too warm through the night but the decor was lovely. Had 3 courses at dinner and we were both stuffed. Breakfast was lovely. Carpark is tight but when someone looked to be parked in front of us the woman in the morning (didn't catch her name sorry) went to ask them to move so no problem. The town centre is a 5minute walk and theres a swimming pool/ice rink next door if u liked. Great hotel would definately stay there again if in the area. Thanks :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eilidh-pailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at New County.
I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and I look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back.

Jalal Al Ibrahimi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Just enjoyed a lovely break at the New County Hotel in Perth. Attentive, well-trained staff; tasteful, modern decor; good-sized room, convenient location with parking; and - most importantly - absolutely excellent food from both Gavin's Bistro and the Opus restaurant. Can't believe the chef is only 23. A culinary star of the future, no doubt. Highly recommended - hope we will be back! It's also worth knowing that you can use your Gourmet club card in either restaurant.

Room Tip: Can be quite a long walk up stairs then through winding corridors, which may be a problem for some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Echovoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
On behalf of all of us here at New County Hotel, we thank you for taking the time to share your praise for our hotel. We are truly delighted to be held in such high regard and we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Jalal Al Ibrahimi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This hotel was clean and well furbished. Public areas are very nicely appointed. The staff members were pleasant and helpful. They seemed happy in their work. The manager was justifiably proud of his hotel and staff.
The location is central with all the amenities of Perth within easy walking distance. As others have noted , the car park is tight, but we got parked OK and it is quite good for a town centre location.
Our room was spacious and well equipped. the beds were clean and comfortable. Our bathroom was too hot but opening the window fixed that. (I'd recommend a thermostatic valve on the radiator as in the bedroom.)
There is a restaurant and a Bistro on site; both are excellent too.
We were very happy and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian_arthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
On behalf of all of us here at New County Hotel, we thank you for taking the time to share your praise for our hotel. We are truly delighted younenjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Jalal Al Ibrahimi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

stayed here for 1 night with a groupon deal which was excellent value for money the service from the staff namely Simon and Jimmy was second to none the 3 course meal was outstanding (steaks included) for no additional cost as well:) only downside is size of car park trying to get your car out a bit of a nightmare but would definitely return ideal location for pubs and shops

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review, I really appreciate the remarks about the location, food and service received from Simin and Jimmy.
We all look forward to your next visit.

Jalal Al Ibrahimi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We purchased the Groupon deal for 1 night stay with breakfast and a 3 course meal and bottle of wine. Bargain! Hotel and staff were nice and friendly, no complaints. We ate in the Bistro which had a relaxed atmosphere and good quality food. Only thing was I was charged £4 for a small glass of fresh orange and lemonade which is pretty steep! Good central location, would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodimacg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your stay.
It was lovely to hear that you had enjoyed yourself, and look forward to your next visit.

Jalal & New County Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This was a last minute booking as I had not intended to stay over. I had booked into another hotel in town "The Grampian" until I w as told on checking in the did not accept Amex !!!!! I phoned and checked with new county and they were happy to accept it. Manager could not be more helpful. Parking is a little restricted but additional free parking next door. Excellent room decor fresh and new. Heating was off but manager brought up a radiator to my room. Shower was a little weak in the morning but the best is yet to come.....the breakfast is the best I have ever tasted and I stay away a lot, all ingredients were amazing. For a full breakfast I have never tasted anything like this.
Met the owners in the morning and a lovely couple really made you feel welcome. I will definately stay again when in town

Room Tip: If you are not full able ask for 1st floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddyc173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at New County Hotel . I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and I look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Jalal Al Ibrahimi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.3 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
1,050 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
914 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#10 of 18 in Perth
233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Lovat Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New County Hotel

Property: New County Hotel
Address: 22/30 County Place, Perth PH2 8EE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — New County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New County Hotel:Right in the heart of Perth's city centre, within easy walking distance of all that the city of Perth has to offer. Perth Theatre, Perth Concert hall, Perth Museum and Perth Leisure Pool are all within easy reach. The city's bus and train stations are just a short walk away. This fine hotel offers fresh and comfortable en suite rooms. Guests have access to free Wi-Fi throughout, limited free parking, and superb award-winning fine dining in the Opus One Restaurant.Rooms are individually decorated, with a flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi access. Each room also comes with a hospitality tray. It offers modern cuisine in attractive contemporary surroundings.The hotel has Gavin's Bistro Bar, serving a varied menu and sporting an authentic pub atmosphere.Light and airy, the stylish Café 22 is a great place to relax with friends and enjoy tea or coffee, scones or a light meal.An Excellent Conference, Meeting, Special Event And Celebration Venue In Perth City Centre. Whether you are planning an event or celebration, business or pleasure or a mixture of both, we meet all your needs professionally and expertly.The hotel function room can comfortably accommodate up to 100 people theatre style and 80 in dinner dance format, weddings for up to 80 guests.The hotel has free Wifi access throughout the hotel.Function Suite and Opus One Restaurant are available for private hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your New County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New County Perth
Hotel New County
New County Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing