We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City break”
Review of New County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New County Hotel
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Hamilton UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“City break”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Booked this hotel on a 5 pm deal based on restaurant reviews. When we arrived, Simon the manager explained we had choice of restaurants- Opus One where we had planned to dine or Bistro where steak was included in the deal. I was tempted by the steaks, but we had planned to dine in Opus One so confirmed our reservation there. I had reservations about the rooms as this is an old city centre hotel but was pleasantly surprised. Room was fairly spacious, well decorated and spotless. Only criticism would be the noise from adjacent Saniflo systems but as this would be the only way hotel could add en-suite facilities it is understandable. Opus One looked welcoming in the evening and Erin our waitress was pleasant and knowledgeable about the menu. Food was excellent as was house wine. The same restaurant looked completely different and equally inviting at breakfast with additional lighting.

Hotel has a small car park. Public car park is directly opposite hotel - buy a ticket after 6 pm for a more relaxing start to your day as charges apply from 8.00 am.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel will be quieter. No lift and stairs are quite steep, so if you have m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firewire204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations M, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your comments in particular regarding Opus One restaurant. We appreciate customers taking the time to review us and can only thank you for your business and look forward to seeing you on your return in the future

Simon
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    259
    140
    47
    47
See reviews for
65
424
28
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a convenient hotel for a visit to Perth if travelling by public transport. Available parking is minimal and we were unable to get in. Public paying car parks nearby have a 3 hour max time limit though free overnight until 8am. We wanted to stay in Perth during the Arts Festival so this was inconvenient. Though the reception and public areas downstairs were well laid out and pleasant the hotel building is old and approaches to rooms unattractive. The room given to us on the second floor was claustrophobic though just adequate but the climb to it up the winding stairs was too much to cope with. We decided to forfeit our money and return home, just over an hour's drive away, but accepted a proffered room on the first floor. Meals were on the whole good but during a busy holiday weekend the staffing was quite inadequate causing excessively long waiting periods. Staff were helpful and accommodating but we would not choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid the second floor
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations M, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, and your comments about food and staff during your stay hear at the hotel.I am very glad the staff were able to accommodate your request for a room on the first floor as the staff always try to make the guest their Priority. I can confirm that our Car park does accommodate up to 11 cars at any one time and as a City Centre Hotel this is Good as a lot of City Centre Hotels do not normally have any parking.
Sorry to hear you are not coming back due to the difficulty of the stairs and many thanks again for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I recently had a two night stay here booked through a hotel discounter on a DB&B package. One attraction was the 2 star rosetted restaurant but this was closed for the two nights of our stay, not the hotel's fault but the booking agent made no mention of this. We did eat in the Bistro and the menu and the food was perfectly acceptable but it was really pub grub, very good waiting staff. Our room was on the second floor which involves an alpine style ascent up a steep staircase. The room was clean with the usual amenities but very small. The complimentary bottle of wine was British made from imported grapes and we did not have the courage to open it so have perhaps missed out. The Wifi said to be available throughout the hotel only worked occasionally and kept dropping out. Breakfast is cooked to order but was greasy and not cooked from what I would call quality ingredients. The hotel has 20+ rooms but only 6 carpark spaces and you will have problems if you have a large car with some of the spaces. There is plenty of pay & display public parking close by.
This was a disappointing experience and we will not be returning.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PhantomScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations M, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I am very happy that you found the staff very good .I would like to Point out The Pub grub as you put it is actually a Bistro Menu with a wide Range of Selection of local Scottish foods all cooked freshly to order as well as a daily special Board which has won awards.Parking at first impression does appear to be a problem, but if you talk to the management team at reception we do have a solution to this. You may be requested to leave your car keys with us during your stay and we will arrange cars in such a way that allows more cars to park with no additional cost to yourself and if you would have preferred a room on the first floor if you had spoken to the Manager on Duty we would have tried our Best to deal with your request.

Simon
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed here using amazon local deal. Welcome and check in was friendly. Bottle of wine in room and reasonable quality too. Room was bright and spacious and very clean. We ate in the restaurant and staff were very efficient and polite. The food was really tasty with thoughtful presentation. Couldn't fault it. Breakfast was freshly cooked and plenty choice!
Would return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations M, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
May we take this opportunity to thank you for your recent review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we look forward to accommodating you the next time you visit Perth.

Simon
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The outstanding thing about this hotel is the standard of the food. We ate in the Bistro the first evening, as we were going to the Concert Hall and had to eat early. We were surprised by the very high quality of the food, much better than I expected from a bistro/pub. The following evening we ate in the main restaurant Opus One, which certainly deserves the high ratings it's received from food critics in the press. Breakfasts too were excellent, cooked to order, not self service from a greasy selection that has been sitting too long, as happens in so many hotels.
The staff generally were very helpful. I had injured my knee some time before our stay, but had neglected to let the hotel know I had a mobility problem. Despite that they managed to reorganise their original room plans, and found me a room on the first floor. Although the bathroom was a bit tired, the room was bright and clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel as excellent value for money,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations M, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
I thank you for taking time to write such a positive review on the hotel. I am very happy that you enjoyed the food so much and also that your needs were fully accommodated as all the staff always strive to go the extra mile to meet all our guest requirements. I along with the rest of the staff were all bowled over by your fantastic comments We hope to see you back at the New County Soon.

Simon
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Purchased this through Groupon and for what we paid it was an excellent deal. We had a bottle of wine and 2 glasses waiting in our room on arrival which was very pleasant, the room we had was basic but very clean as was the bathroom and suited our needs just fine.
As there is no lift the stairs could be a problem for anyone who is elderly or has any disabilities, but there was no issue as far as were concerned.
We had a fantastic meal with a great food choice from the menu, and the breakfast was first class a beautifully presented.
All staff were very pleasant and Simon Redmond the General Manager took time to chat with guests to ensure they were happy with their meal and stay. I would have no hesitation booking this deal again and would certainly recommend it to others.

David & Beth

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations M, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
On behalf of all of us here at New County Hotel, I thank you for taking the time to share your praise for our hotel. I are truly delighted to hear you hold the hotel in such high regard and I will share with all the staff you will be truly encouraged by your positive comments.I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Simon
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paisley-scotland
Level Contributor
210 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The lovely up to date entrance, restaurant and cafe areas are not a reflection of the sleeping accommodation. The room was very clean but in desperate need of a make over as was the bathroom. The breakfast each morning was of the highest quality as was the food we ate in the bistro on the first evening. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. If you have mobility or breathing problems then avoid this hotel as the stairs are narrow twisting and steep.

Room Tip: Request a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enjoyinglife49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations M, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post your positive comments on your recent visit. Feedback from our guests is important as we are continually trying to improve our customer service.I can confirm our rooms pass a independent and strict AA and Visit Scotland criteria for a 3 star hotel for both design and size. We do not have a lift at the hotel but as your tip suggests if guests ever require a room on the first floor we do our very best to accommodate the request.
I am delighted to hear you enjoyed you stay and your experience of the food was up to a very high standard from breakfast to dinner. I will pass on your comments to The Head chef and the rest of the team.

Simon
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.3 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
1,028 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#9 of 18 in Perth
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
901 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Lovat Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New County Hotel

Property: New County Hotel
Address: 22/30 County Place, Perth PH2 8EE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — New County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New County Hotel:Right in the heart of Perth's city centre, within easy walking distance of all that the city of Perth has to offer. Perth Theatre, Perth Concert hall, Perth Museum and Perth Leisure Pool are all within easy reach. The city's bus and train stations are just a short walk away. This fine hotel offers fresh and comfortable en suite rooms. Guests have access to free Wi-Fi throughout, limited free parking, and superb award-winning fine dining in the Opus One Restaurant.Rooms are individually decorated, with a flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi access. Each room also comes with a hospitality tray. It offers modern cuisine in attractive contemporary surroundings.The hotel has Gavin's Bistro Bar, serving a varied menu and sporting an authentic pub atmosphere.Light and airy, the stylish Café 22 is a great place to relax with friends and enjoy tea or coffee, scones or a light meal.An Excellent Conference, Meeting, Special Event And Celebration Venue In Perth City Centre. Whether you are planning an event or celebration, business or pleasure or a mixture of both, we meet all your needs professionally and expertly.The hotel function room can comfortably accommodate up to 100 people theatre style and 80 in dinner dance format, weddings for up to 80 guests.The hotel has free Wifi access throughout the hotel.Function Suite and Opus One Restaurant are available for private hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your New County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New County Perth
Hotel New County
New County Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing