We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay good location”
Review of New County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New County Hotel
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself is a bit dated as is the rooms but I have been in far worse hotels.

Only complaint I would have was the fact we were in a twin room but we were given the choice and we chose the twin room as it was far more spacious than the double. So I can't really complain as we were given the choice which was good service on the hotels part.

Breakfast was lovely and we were given the option to have it in our room which makes a change to the usual hotels we have been in.

The restaurant in the hotel didn't have a good atmosphere was pretty quiet and the specials we ordered were pretty ordinary I would have rather stuck to something else in the menu.

The rooms were dated but clean and comfy enough bed and pretty quiet at night.

I would not be in a rush to come back but good for a cheaper place to stay if you were going to be spending more time out in Perth as the location is brilliant right next to the high street and main bars and pubs.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations M, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a complimentary review, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed breakfast so much will pass on your positive thoughts to the staff. I really appreciate your remarks, and hope it is not too long before your next visit.

simon
operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (770)
There are newer reviews for New County Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 770 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Have just returned from a one night Itison break at the New Station Hotel, the deal was supposed to be dinner in the Opus restaurant and bed and breakfast, on arrival at check in we were informed that we had been moved to the "Bistro" for evening meal, when questioning the reason for this change were informed the hotel restaurant was busy with pre booked tables, we informed the receptionist that we had made this dinner reservation 6 weeks prior to arrival and were expecting to be dining in the main dining room,she thereafter informed us that we could have a table later than the time we had booked but may have to wait for some time to be served.Not wishing to create a drama we accepted the change and took delivery of our room key. On reaching our room we were met by the maid who was in fact still cleaning the room (this was at 4pm ) we therefore waited outside for several minutes until she finished. The room allocated (201) was very small and gave the impression of being a single room with a double bed put inside, the decor and general appearance was extremely average with no view other than an adjoining flat roof. We duly presented ourselves for dinner at 7.30 pm and ordered a starter and main from the Bistro Menu. As stated by other reviewers we then waited for 45 minutes for the starters to be served which when they arrived were very nice, however after waiting a further 55 minutes the main courses duly arrived,and rather than the fine dining experience we were expecting my wife received a cremated burger on a plate with some chips and garnish, I had some fish and chips which I must say was very nice. The waitress was apologetic for the delay in service and also for the condition of the burger which was returned, she did however offer a complimentary desert and drink. To summarise the evening meal was extremely average pub grub and better fare can be found elsewhere. When we did finally leave the Bistro we passed the main dining room to find it empty and in darkness !!
We did however have breakfast in the Opus dining room and must say it was very nice. All of the staff we met were extremely nice the receptionist who also doubled as our waitress was very pleasant and keen to help. My general impression gained of this particular deal is that Itison guests are treated as second tier guests which considering what was paid may be to some extent understandable, however if paying the full tariff, I would be extremely unhappy with what was on offer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Longforganlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations M, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to give us this feedback. I was concerned and disappointed to read your comments, which are certainly not reflective of the usual high standard of service on which we have built our reputation. Please accept my sincere apologies that we did not meet your expectations, and be assured that we take such matters very seriously as like treat all our guests in the same special way no matter how they have booked.
I am keen to discuss this further with you, so that we can ensure that your experience is not repeated in the future and I would be grateful if you could please contact me directly next time you visiting the Perth area.

Simon
Operations Manager
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Thank you to Simon and the team for a pleasant stay during Rewind Festival weekend. Staff couldnt have been more helpful. Rooms were clean and tidy. Breakfast had a good array of food and choices. Hotel is well located for Perth train station and City Centre ( 5 mins walk) .
All in all, a very pleasant stay with no complaints .
See you next year

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTravellingLoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations M, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank You very much for giving the hotel such a positive review. I am thrilled to learn that our team has taken very good care of you as they do take pride in their food produced and guest orientated service to make sure guest have a very memorable experience so the guests keep on returning to the hotel.


Simon
Operations Manager
p.s Look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Well where to start. From when we first arrived we knew this wasn't going to be the break we were hoping for. Check in was advertised as being from 2pm but when we arrived at 2.45 our room wasn't ready. We were advised it would be another half hour so went for a walk and a cup of tea then headed back to be told it still wasn't ready and would be at least another half hour, despite 2 other couples checking in while we stood there and getting their keys. But we were told it was worth the wait so went away again and gave it an hour so we'd be sure to get in this time. It was a bit of an adventure to find the room, down corridors and up stairs and it was pretty disappointing when we did get there. The room was quite dated and basic, the bed was really uncomfortable and noisy and the noise from the street was pretty loud - not as loud as the seagulls at 4am. The bathroom was nice and big and the room was very clean so a few positives. We dined in Gavin's Bistro both nights and felt it was pretty poor. The service was slow, although they were very nice, but both nights we waited an hour for our food. The place was half empty and the excuse we got for the time delay was that everyone had ordered at the same time - apparently the chef can't cope well with that scenario so heaven help them when they are fully booked. The second night we decided to splash out and ordered a steak and salmon from the grill menu, the steak was so overcooked it was like leather and it was tiny! You got about 12 chips, some of which weren't cooked, one tomato, one mushroom and some salad and they were charging £18.50 for the steak! Scandalous. We were so disappointed we didn't bother with pudding and left, even had to get a take away later as we were still hungry! Mentioned this on checking out but just got an apology and told it was very busy. Don't really think that should be an excuse for a hotel of any sort anywhere. We won't be back.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank FgeeBMcG16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations M, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

I am truly sorry for the unacceptable meal you encountered with us back On the basis of the meals being so slow all our food is freshly cooked to order in Gavin Bistro however the kitchen team are undergoing training which is on going to address any issues that arise on a day to day, week to week basis. On the basis of the room all our rooms they been recently independently checked by the visit Scotland and been confirmed to be of a very clean high standard 3 star. In this instance it is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your visit. But I do hope you will maybe consider us in the future

Simon
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in hotel Sunday 20th July. Our visit was very nice food service was ok. Few points that would like to point out Wine wasn't in room on arrival and had to ask for,no safety deposit boxes which is very handy to have.staff were all very friendly. We will visit this hotel again.
Margaret Dunfermline

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank M16RRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations M, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on your recent visit. Feedback from our guests is important as we are continually trying to improve our customer service.We were delighted to hear you enjoyed you stay and fond the level of service very good from all the staff. We look forward to seeing you back at The New County in the near future.

Simon
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I paid £75 for a stay in a small outdated single room. The toilet radiator was filthy from sink splashes and rusting. I had to close the windy due to the traffic noise making the room very hot and stuffy. The window area of the Bistro had flies and and old food particles. Breakfast the next morning took 25 minutes from order to serving making my tea and toast cold.

I travel all over Scotland on business and this unfortunately is one of the poorest for the amount charged. This hotel needs a total overhaul and a good clean.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Bob968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The hotel is very dated. Had a voucher for our stay which was reasonable. Don't think I would have been happy to pay the full price. The room was clean and comfortable apart from the shower head that had a mind of it's own and soaked the whole bathroom every time you turned it on. The stair carpets leading up to the rooms was filthy, don't think they've been hoovered in a long time and very creaky floorboards. The Opus lounge looked lovely. We had a couple of meals in there and the food was excellent but again, a dirty floor. I picked my handbag up off the floor and put it on my lap and when I put it back down again, my lap was covered in dirt, crumbs and hair (yuck). The bottom of the ice bucket stands need a good clean too. The staff were very nice, couldn't fault them and we had a very nice breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divadolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations M, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for review the hotel. i world urge anyone staying with us to bring any matters of concern to the Management Team during their stay as this can only improve your stay and also help us improve our performance.. We are also pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast and the food in general as well as finding all staff so very pleasant and professional. If you do decide to venture to Perth again we hope that you decide to use us once more as your place to stay.

Simon
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.3 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 18 in Perth
1,108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
957 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
0.2 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grampian Hotel
Grampian Hotel
#14 of 18 in Perth
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New County Hotel

Address: 22/30 County Place, Perth PH2 8EE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Perth
Price Range: £47 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New County Hotel:Right in the heart of Perth's city centre, within easy walking distance of all that the city of Perth has to offer. Perth Theatre, Perth Concert hall, Perth Museum and Perth Leisure Pool are all within easy reach. The city's bus and train stations are just a short walk away. This fine hotel offers fresh and comfortable en suite rooms. Guests have access to free Wi-Fi throughout, limited free parking, and superb award-winning fine dining in the Opus One Restaurant.Rooms are individually decorated, with a flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi access. Each room also comes with a hospitality tray. It offers modern cuisine in attractive contemporary surroundings.The hotel has Gavin's Bistro Bar, serving a varied menu and sporting an authentic pub atmosphere.Light and airy, the stylish Café 22 is a great place to relax with friends and enjoy tea or coffee, scones or a light meal.An Excellent Conference, Meeting, Special Event And Celebration Venue In Perth City Centre. Whether you are planning an event or celebration, business or pleasure or a mixture of both, we meet all your needs professionally and expertly.The hotel function room can comfortably accommodate up to 100 people theatre style and 80 in dinner dance format, weddings for up to 80 guests.The hotel has free Wifi access throughout the hotel.Function Suite and Opus One Restaurant are available for private hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your New County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New County Perth
Hotel New County
New County Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing