We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we had a fab time”
Review of Royal George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal George Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Hotel was lovely service excellent would definately go back

Room Tip: ask for room at front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingrid_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theroyalgeorge, Owner at Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on your stay at The Royal George, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and intend on returning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (676)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

567 - 573 of 676 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2011

Stayed here for business - can't fault cleanliness (spotless modern bathrooms), breakfast was good, location is excellent in middle of town.

From a business perspective, the only let down is lack if internet access in rooms - this was known before booking so is not a gripe!

Overall a good value option for the area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NornIronOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theroyalgeorge, Owner at Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Thank you for your very positive comments on your stay at The Royal George, especially your comments on the cleanliness, your breakfast and the location of the hotel. Thank you also for your constructive comments on wifi internet access. Whilst it is currently free to guests throughout all public areas of the building, we are looking into extending access throughout the entire building, but as you can imagine, a listed building of this age can pose some problems with cabling, without disruping existing walls and ceilings, but we are on the case!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

The Royal George hotel is the perfect wedding venue. We looked at other hotels in the area; nothing comes close to this hotel. From the moment we arrived with our guest after our wedding service we were met by the friendly staff and hotel owner Mr Anderson. The Wedding meal was fantastic and there wasn’t a detail missed. The hotel its self is an older style with lots of charter it is so beautiful with big chandeliers hanging from the lovely coved roofs. The bedrooms are lovely and large in size perfect for a combatable night sleep. Breakfast at the hotel is amazing with every choice off food you could ask for. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a nice comfortable holiday or a wedding with no detail missed. Thank you to Mr Anderson and his lovely staff. Going back for our Christmas dinner! from mr and mrs Creelman

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank q c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theroyalgeorge, Owner at Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Dear Mr and Mrs Creelman, thank you so much for these thoughts on your wedding day at The Royal George. It is great to get such positive comments on the meal, location, our staff and the hotel as a wedding venue. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at Christmas, if not before!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Awful hotel, book this at your peril, digusting bedding stained and holed, the room and corridor stank, mouldy smell. There spiders webs on the ceiling and the whole room was unclean. Check in was like "Faulty Towers", we were not shown to our room, just pointed in the direction. The room looked out onto a jungle of weeds through the ripped net curtains. The legs on the bed were wedged in position and fell off when moved. The bedding was badly soiled with who knows what, and ripped. Bathroom was a joke. And to top things off we were woken up at 4.30 am with the cleaners doing the hoovering ! At breakfast the food was luke warm at best, but the plate was hot ! Check out was just as bad, the monosyllabic guy who was on the desk was anything but curtious. All this for only £100 a night, rip off.

Room Tip: Do not stay here -- worst hotel in Scotland !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theroyalgeorge, Owner at Royal George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Following your comments regarding your stay, I have looked into all the points you raise. Whilst I conceed there was a ripped net curtain (it appears someone had attempted to open it whilst it was caught in the closed window) and there was a broken leg on the the double bed, both of which have now been replaced, your claims of spiders, mouldy smells and an unclean room, were I'm afraid complete fantasy. I also explained to you that the land outside the bedroom does not belong to the hotel, meaning there is little we can do by way of maintenance.
Your claims the hotel is the worst in Scotland, whilst defamatory are somewhat laughable. It is a pity that whilst making a genuine complaint regarding the bed and the net curtain people reading your review will find serious doubt in the validity of your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Came as a Group Trip with Cardiff Arms Choir. Had read previous reviews and was concerned in a few areas, but what ever happened in the past, is no longer. Breakfast whatever you want, if you want extra anything you only have to ask. Local staff who bent over backwards to please and provide good service, not just to our group but also to families and individual travellers. Top marks to Scott The deputy manager who manned the bar for some thirsty Welsh singers well into the wee small hours on more than one Occasion!. without disturbance to other guests. Rooms were newly decorated with beautiful co-ordinated furnishing. Traditional Comfortable and a million miles away from the Modern multinational plastic hotels. Only down sides were No lift (2 floors) due to listed building status. Hot water took a while to come through but this was due to the room previously being out of use during re-decoration.

Room Tip: Rooms 43 to 49 looked all good with views over river. a few rooms apparently had no
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sulliman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Its an OK old hotel, old fashioned, it could do with a modernisation whilst keeping the traditional elements. Lovely setting in restaurant / breakfast.

Parking is an issue but the hotel was built when Henry Ford was a boy! But it is a pain.

Room had seen better days, tiles in bathroom looked like they were about to fall off.

All in all - it is central and pleasant but nothing special.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Great service, food excellent quality well presented ,staff all very friendly ,All wedding guests delighted with a great day and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a fantastic wedding or any other family celebration.
Top tip try the high tea fantastic value.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank over50bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.2 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
1,153 reviews
3.1 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#1 of 18 in Perth
996 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#9 of 18 in Perth
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sunbank House Hotel
Sunbank House Hotel
#6 of 18 in Perth
304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
997 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal George Hotel

Address: The Royal George Hotel Tay Street, Perth PH1 5LD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Perth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#7 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range: £63 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located on the banks of the River Tay in the heart of The City of Perth, The Royal George Hotel has been attracting guests to Scotland from around the world for over 230 years. Situated next to Perth Museum and Horsecross Arts and Conference Centre, the hotel is a popular destination for business and pleasure travellers. All bedrooms are ensuite, many with views over the river, fully licensed bar and restuarant serving locally sourced traditional Scottish fare. Limited free parking available on site, Free BT Fibre Optic Broadband available throughout. Coming April 2016 - Complimentary residents gym / fitness suite and residents games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal George Perth
Royal George Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing