We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sofas and fire”
Review of Royal George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal George Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Lovely comfy sofas, a fire, and sitting in the best part of Perth overlooking the Tay with the quiet central streets nearby dotted with local brasseries.
The floors and rooms are suitably creaky and different and the building is old and complex yet all room fittings are up to date.
Staff all friendly from the night porter to the breakfast ladies, and the owners will always look to accommodate you.
The only thing missing for a Scottish hotel is the sound of curlews up a remote glen.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river can be noisy from the rushing water! Recommend second or third floor roo...
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank charles c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (676)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

425 - 431 of 676 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had a pleasant stay at the hotel and the location is idea as it is on the riverbank with a good view and also just off the centre of the town and handy for the shops.
We had a nice room but it was on the second floor with no lift. This did not bother us but we felt it should have been mentioned beforehand as some guests would have found it a problem, especially as we had to carry the luggage up ourselves.
The breakfast was very nice but on our first morning there were no tables for us when we went down and we had to wait due to a wedding and the volume of guests. We felt this should also have been mentioned to us before booking as they were noisy till the early morning.
We did not eat in the hotel as I felt the dishes we would like were expensive for what they were but others liked the food.
The daily rom clean was a bit lacking in quality and while it was clean there was a lot of dust in places not removed. We had spilled coffee on the coffee tray and after the second morning it had not been removed and cleaned we stripped it and it was then attended to.
The hotel car park was small and due to the wedding was full on the first night but we got in after that for the rest of our stay. Perth was a good city for a short break as it has a nice shopping centre and plenty of walks in the area and the good weather helped.

Room Tip: Room at the river and far from function suite on weddings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The hotel is very welcoming, particularly given its old-fashioned attribute. The staff were extremely helpful, and checking in early was not a problem. Although the car park was relatively small, as noted by some other reviewers, one can't help but think such a view is naive. It is a city-centre hotel, and the car park is more than sufficient given the location.

The room was elegant and had wonderful views over the river. Food was excellent, and the location for dining was superb. Night staff were the best of our stay, but none of the customer service was poor.

There is no lift, but this is not issue for most people - unless of course they are being pedantic and lazy.

Room Tip: River-view rooms are excellent, worth attempting to secure one of these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FCScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The location of the hotel is very central and near the Perth concert hall. The front of the hotel overlooks the Tay. We were fortunate enough to have a room overlooking the river, which was very nice, I'm not sure what the other rooms would overlook. The room we had was very comfortable and had nice furnishings. We only ate breakfast in the hotel. This was served in a conservatory, again overlooking the Tay. The breakfast was excellent. My only criticism of the hotel would be the car park; the access was via a very narrow lane and to park in one of the few spaces requires significant manoeuvring skills! There is on street parking within walking distance, but vehicles have to be moved fairly early in the morning

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the River Tay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlisleIrvings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Eddie and Lorna have a right to be proud of their establishment nestling by the Tay. I was a guest at one wedding there in August and father for my own daughter’s wedding 10th August 2013. It is aptly named Royal. If it was good enough for Queen Victoria it is just as good for you but at an affordable cost!! Instead of three feathers being the logo it ought to have five. The complaints about parking are made by those who wish to have tarmac outside their bedroom and who should simply book into the lodges on the periphery of town. This was a Coaching Inn and there are charming Dickensian hang overs throughout the hotel. Relax and accept that this is an old establishment with a modern service.

The staff could not be more amenable and the young receptionist, the bar man and the waiters we encountered could not be more caring about their guests. Every need was paid attention to. The service at two weddings we attended within a month was slick and chic. Both weddings saw the guests replete with food and in a relaxed atmosphere which added to the day. The bedrooms were very comfortable, well decorated and furnished. Many have lovely views over the River Tay. Breakfast is traditional Scottish with a large choice of food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrRMundill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We spent three nights in this hotel, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was one of the mini suites, up in the roof. It was very spacious, with a huge en suite bathroom, the bed was super king size and very comfortable, and spotlessly clean. We only stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, so can't comment on the standard of food for lunch or dinner. However breakfast was exceptional, at least eight choices of cooked breakfast, cereal, fruit juice, fruit, and copious amounts of tea and toast. To top it all the homemade shortbread was delicious.The only negative point were the bath towels, which were on the small side.
We would definitely stay in this hotel again

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

stayed here on business and it was certainly better than your average 3 star hotel.the room was quite small but the bathroom looked brand new .The hotel is a bit of a warren but the staff were friendly and it was good value for the rate paid.The car park is very small and is through a pend you can park on the street after 6pm till 8 am for free.
Breakfast was supposed to open at 7.30am but they were very obliging a little while before that time and the two staff serving were friendly and on the go all the time.The cooked breakfast is served not buffet and was pretty decent.
there was a little street noise from the road from about 6 am but it wasn't overly intrusive

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dookers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.2 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
1,153 reviews
3.1 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#1 of 18 in Perth
996 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#9 of 18 in Perth
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sunbank House Hotel
Sunbank House Hotel
#6 of 18 in Perth
304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
997 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal George Hotel

Address: The Royal George Hotel Tay Street, Perth PH1 5LD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Perth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#7 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range: £63 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located on the banks of the River Tay in the heart of The City of Perth, The Royal George Hotel has been attracting guests to Scotland from around the world for over 230 years. Situated next to Perth Museum and Horsecross Arts and Conference Centre, the hotel is a popular destination for business and pleasure travellers. All bedrooms are ensuite, many with views over the river, fully licensed bar and restuarant serving locally sourced traditional Scottish fare. Limited free parking available on site, Free BT Fibre Optic Broadband available throughout. Coming April 2016 - Complimentary residents gym / fitness suite and residents games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal George Perth
Royal George Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing