We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new year coach tour”
Review of Royal George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal George Hotel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“new year coach tour”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

we had a great new year. the staff were great nothing was a bother.food fabulous.hotel was re ally comfortable.MICHAEL was good at keeping the fire on. hope we can go back soon.to see all the lovely staff.

Room Tip: sister had front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    212
    68
    26
    16
See reviews for
102
236
29
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Staff hotel food. And entertainment were great we was party of 10 with children and we was looked after from the minute we arrived till we left three days later. Every member of staff was so helpful Michael was extra helpful hotel really clean and homely. Hoping to go back for our anniversary in Feb thank you all

Room Tip: We had 5 different rooms all with views and were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Located right in the center of the city the Royal George is the perfect place for city visitors. The silvery river Tay flows immediately behind the hotel so make sure you ask for a river view. My wife and I were in Perth for a concert, Cappercaillie were playing at the Perth Concert Hall, approximately 200 yds from the Royal George; we had a nice surprise the next morning when the band turned-up for breakfast . . . A memorable stay at the Royal George. Great staff. Big breakfast. Good choice of whiskeys. We'd stay if overnighting in Perth . . . BIG thumbs up

Room Tip: Ask for a room with river view. Higher floor have less traffic noise from Tay Street. There's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeePee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Working at an outdoor event in Perth Sun 1 Dec my colleage and I popped into The Royal George hotel for a breakfast. Although we were past the normal serving time for breakfast we were welcomed in and given a supberb breakfast. The staff were obviously busy preparing for numerous groups arriving for lunch, but to their credit still took time to ask if we would like more tea, toast etc etc. Customer service second to none, and quality produce stood out a mile.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinto012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ticehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed twice in on week, once on a Saturday and then on the following Wednesday. On the Saturday, the place was very busy but there were plenty of excellent, well trained and helpful staff to ensure that everything ran smoothly. On the Wednesday, it was much quieter but there were sufficient staff of exactly the same quality. Many hotels could learn about staff training from the Royal George. We had excellent suppers and breakfasts. Some of the rooms are a bit "tired" but they are comfortable, warm and quiet. If passing through Perth or if visiting the City, this is a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBear54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My recent 60th Birthday was held at the Royal George. We live in Perth so we know what a great location the hotel has. But many of our guests booked in for the night, and were very impressed at the location and value for money the hotel represented ( generous discounts for guests). Refurbished rooms with views of the River Tay.

We were very well looked after from the moment we booked our function until the last guest left. Mr Eddie Anderson's (hands on owner) experience and attention to detail ensured a successful party .....he assured us not to worry about anything.....we didn't .....and he was right we didn't have too! The food was delicious .....traditional fayre well cooked and presented.

Our expectations from this privately run family hotel were exceeded. Thanks to everyone who made the night such a success.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidsvitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Riding, UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Guests have been coming to this hotel for over 200 years but how is it for the modern traveller? Still, of course, in an unrivalled position on the edge of the city, overlooking the Tay and its famous bridge but now only a cock stride from one of the UKs best medium sized concert hall as well as the other Perth attractions. Inside, modernisation has taken place, limited somewhat by listed building status - there is no lift so disabled residents must have adequate mobility. WiFi is only available on the ground floor and is of variable quality. The lounge and bar area is comfortably furnished but some of the seating has obviously been well used!
The staff are generally friendly and helpful, particularly so in the dining room. On Sunday, there is no dinner on offer, but traditional High Tea consisting of tea and toast, a cooked course with a reasonably large choice and ending with cream scones and meringues - but there is some flexibility. Dinner offers a good à la carte choice which is well cooked and attractively served. Breakfast is excellent. There is a good choice and the hot dishes are cooked to order.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.2 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
1,029 reviews
3.1 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#2 of 18 in Perth
904 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#11 of 18 in Perth
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
904 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunbank House Hotel
Sunbank House Hotel
#6 of 18 in Perth
270 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal George Hotel

Property: Royal George Hotel
Address: The Royal George Hotel Tay Street, Perth PH1 5LD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Perth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#7 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located on the banks of the River Tay in the heart of The City of Perth, The Royal George Hotel has been attracting guests to Scotland from around the world for over 230 years. Situated next to Perth Museum and Horsecross Arts and Conference Centre, the hotel is a popular destination for business and pleasure travellers. All bedrooms are ensuite, many with views over the river, fully licensed bar and restuarant serving locally sourced traditional Scottish fare. Limited free parking available on site, Free BT Fibre Optic Broadband available throughout. Coming April 2016 - Complimentary residents gym / fitness suite and residents games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal George Perth
Royal George Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing